Bloomin' Brands Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Bloomin' Brands Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bloomin' Brands CEO David Deno
David Deno
3 Ratings
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands

    Pros

    Leadership, CEO, location, people and structure

    Cons

    Benefits, insurance, environment and clients

    Bloomin' Brands2019-09-18
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Continuing to learn and grow my skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Onsite wellness center, casual dress, really cool and talented people I work with. Benefits are great and we get a bonus in March.

    Cons

    We live on a roller coaster depending on how quarterly sales go.

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2019-05-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Business ebbs and flows; flexibility is one key success factor to work here

    Cons

    Difficult to plan and avoid a jump/react approach to decisions; 401k match could be better

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2019-05-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Manager in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is lots of real life experience to be gained in a management position. Lots of hands on application of processes.

    Cons

    There is little support given to the operations staff. They are often sent training videos and materials, with unrealistic time frames. It is often hard to reach the company goals. All to often it felt like a pyramid scheme, you have several bosses all drawing large salaries and bonuses who come bark that you need to save more money, yet they don't offer help or support in any of the process. It leads to lots of management staff getting burnt out and moving on to companies that offer support and keep up with current trends in the market place. All in all, Blooming brands at one time was a great employer, but it has lost focus on quality and customer satisfaction. The employees are not highly valued, and the structure of the company is continually changing to try to find a way to save a buck. Also beware that there is a very strong promote from within culture, which is usually great, but there are very few systems in place to teach people actual critical management skills.

    Bloomin' Brands2018-10-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Getting better all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment, non hierarchical. Leaders are accessible

    Cons

    Sometimes work overload and shifting priorities

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2018-08-31
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture - people are very passionate about the brands People are treated fairly Great benefits People want to help each other

    Cons

    Challenging industry conditions puts strain on some people

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2018-04-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "BBI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Partner in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture and family environment

    Cons

    Bad hours and low pay

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2018-04-30
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company is getting back to the basics and making the right investments in both the customer and the employee. They just doubled the 401k match and PTO is competitive (starts at 3 weeks and goes up from there). They've recently had a lot of training in agility and leadership development. 100% food comp in the restaurants is one of the best benefits in my opinion. The quarterly off site meetings are also great, we get to hear directly from the CEO and ELT.

    Cons

    Maternity leave could be more competitive

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2018-03-28
  10. "Great place to work and grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bloomin' Brands provides a lot of opportunity for professional growth. Many employees at Bloomin' Brands worked in the hospitality industry so they are very knowledgeable about our restaurants and what it takes to provide support. I've been with BBI for 10+ years and throughout my career there have been amazing people who have provided advice and have been invested in my professional growth plan and development. I've worked across multiple departments and the passion for our Principles and Beliefs are consistent throughout. Leadership is willing to make investments in their people (i.e. trade shows, learning opportunities/classes) to improve their skills and commit to their professional growth plan. Management (depending on departments) encourage work-life balance by allowing flexible hours, and the ability to work remotely if needed. The corporate office listens to their employees and they are often hosting events to try and stay true to our beliefs by providing a fun place to work (ie, hosting breakfasts/coffee/sweet treats, field days, community service days). They have recently implemented an "ELT stand up" as a way to allow all employees to ask the Executive Leadership Team any questions they may have regarding our company, the vision, and ways to improve the company for everyone in a casual environment (there's food, beer, and wine). They've just opened a wellness center on site that's available for employees and their families. There's also a gym on site at the corporate office that was recently updated. There's ample vacation time provided to employees and you accumulate more days the longer you're with BBI. The comp privileges are very generous and the food is good so you'll eat at the restaurants pretty frequently. Compensation is competitive and the holiday parties are usually really awesome.

    Cons

    *The insurance is nothing spectacular. *401K Match is not competitive; although they have improved the contributions over the last year, it could be better. *Not all jobs offer great "work-life balance". Since we support restaurants that are open 363 days a year, some jobs require a lot of after hours work to keep up. *No college reimbursement program available to corporate office employees. *Taking on additional work is not always indicative of additional compensation. No clear indicator on how to improve salary or move to the next "level" or "zone".

    Bloomin' Brands2018-04-05
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Want to say good things but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People at Bloomin Brands are smart and caring people. Frequent leadership training. Company going through Agile Transformation, or at least wants to.

    Cons

    Old school cubical office space. Teams are broken up and reallocated to different teams/projects frequently loosing the ideal "high performing team". Who u know is more important than how well you do your job. Culture in IT.....what culture?

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2018-02-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews