Bloomin' Brands "comp card" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bloomin' Brands Employee Reviews about "comp card"

Updated Aug 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Bloomin' Brands CEO David Deno
David Deno
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Dynamic company with great people to work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "Corporate comp card for meals at the brands(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "comp card"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great outlook!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the people I work with! 3 weeks PTO, 100% meal comp at restaurants with comp card. They are moving towards being more agile so new and fresh ideas are being listened to. In my experience, senior leaders really care about your personal career development. I have a mentor that I meet with regularly to discuss my career growth and I get some great advice! I've even had the chance to have one on one lunches with senior leaders to discuss how best to grow within the company.

    Cons

    Would love to see 100% matching on 401k, and more flexible work hours.

    Bloomin' Brands2018-03-28
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Annual Layoffs at Corporate HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers Corporate comp card for meals at the brands

    Cons

    Annual layoffs. 50 - 60 people laid off each year in November, just in time for the holidays 8-( After the layoffs those of us who remain have that much more work to do. Until we quit too. Or until contractors are hired to replace those who were laid off. Not a place for a career.

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2018-08-18
  3. "Bloomin Brands Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time

    Pros

    Bloomin Brands has great employees to work with. They also have some great perks like a comp card for the restaurant, flexible work schedule, competitive pay, and casual work attire.

    Cons

    The industry as a whole is shaky. I think it is a great place to gain experience but not a long-term career just due to the industry it is in. There is also little structure in place.

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2018-04-06
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Lost Sight of The Most Important Part of Business: The People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with (Director level and below) where co-workers/friends become your second family. Great comp card privileges and awesome holiday party (since it is typically coordinated by the beverage vendors and they sure know how to party!)

    Cons

    Layoffs happen at least once a year (during Q4) and it doesn't matter if you are a rockstar team member of 20+ years. This year, we got the heads up a week before so everyone was on edge. The restaurant industry is unstable and I would advise looking for a job in a more solid industry.

    Bloomin' Brands2017-11-30
  5. Helpful (7)

    "NOT one of the "Best Places to Work" any longer..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Volunteer Day, Comp Card

    Cons

    More & more is being required to keep your current salary/position continuously, benefits less and less each year, no work/home life balance, lay offs, loss of core values- formerly known as principles & beliefs. Once the last of original proprietors left the company, just became another corporation only looking at the bottom line and no longer taking care of its people- which lead to several negative practices from disgruntled or just overworked employees as was not the norm in the past. Really wish that E.L.T. would be required to sit & review what is currently being required for each role to be sure work is distributed more evenly and see hands on what home/work balance is actually like, not just read inaccurate survey results.

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2016-06-29
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Too Many VPs & Revolving Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands full-time

    Pros

    Comp card percentage at company restaurants.

    Cons

    Revolving Door Hiring, Laying Off, Firing. You are a bottom line number. New VPs announced weekly. Bell Curve Rating - so if you are new...it does not matter whether you are given work to participate in, whether you did what was expected, or beyond what was expected - you are low man and rated below average. Very cutthroat, hire more contractors than employees. Benefits are below average.

    Bloomin' Brands2016-03-13
  7. Helpful (4)

    "runs lean, needs to evaluate compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Involved in the community, pretty flexible with schedule, good people work there, comp card benefit is awesome.

    Cons

    Expect a lot without compensating appropriately, not enough resources to meet their unrealistic expectations, experience and work ethnic are not correlated with compensation, some good old boy attitudes still lingering, females under represented in upper level positions, compensations vary greatly between same positions across departments

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2015-10-03
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not the same company it use to. They do not follow and practice their principals and beliefs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands full-time

    Pros

    Comp card for restaurant use, free coffee and soft drinks in break room . Covered parking. Some very good peers working their.

    Cons

    Employees afraid of loosing their jobs, managers take credit for others work. Some VP's in positions they are not qualified for, they don't have the educational background or experience necessary for their positions. Pay doesn't meet industry standard.

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2014-11-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Peers were very nice people. Great brands - I miss my Comp Card! The work-life balance was very good. The company was very flexible with schedules. I have great memories of my early years with the company.

    Cons

    Has become very corporate. Not much opportunity, they seem to prefer to hire outside instead of promoting within. Lack of trust. You may not like the technology choices that are made.

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2013-08-22
  10. "It's not WHAT you know, but WHO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Service Desk in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomin' Brands

    Pros

    Comp card/Discounted meals Free turkey at thanksgiving

    Cons

    At first, seems very laid back. Then the hammer comes down. Female employees are allowed to sleep, while Males are scrutinized for even the smallest incident. Micro-Managing in full force. And as the headline says, its not what you know, but who. One of the senior level managers told me this before they left. It is every bit 100% true with OSI. When you get in, be sure to "buddy-up" with one the of more popular or senior techs. The popular ones always keep their jobs

    Continue reading
    Bloomin' Brands2011-08-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews