Bloomingdale's Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Bloomingdale's CEO Tony Spring
Tony Spring
757 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and employee discount(in 262 reviews)

  • "Great discount, flexibility in schedule(in 149 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Even if you make your goals, it's not enough if you don't push credit cards on clients(in 83 reviews)

  • "There were returns unaccounted for(in 79 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Bloomingdale's and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company Great Training

      May 11, 2021 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Training Discounts Part time available Commission Flexible Hours Clean Fun

      Cons

      Some of the sales associates are very competitive which can make for an interesting work environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Please don't fall for this

      Apr 27, 2021 - Store Management Executive Development Program in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discounts were good. $3,000 sign on bonus.

      Cons

      As an EDP, you expect to learn alot and you expect to have a lot thrown at you. It's like being in college again. You're literally walking around with a book bag half the day to meetings you're expected to fully understand. The 1st phase of the program is selling...so you're a glorified sales rep while they pretty much feel you out whether they want to keep you around or not. Supposedly you're meeting with your mentor daily and doing a lot of homework, I honestly wouldn't know because my so called "mentor" was vacation the majority of my 1st 30 days. My first day was the first time seeing her, the next time I saw her was when she sat me down with the HR manager to implement a PIP, and giving me a negative review of my 1st 30 days despite a lack of total involvement due to be on vacation. I was pushed along to the 2nd phase so I "wouldn't fall behind" (too late, thanks invisible mentor!) where I was taught the policies of store management. It is engrained in your head as a manager to not accept returns for worn items...except when they're $800 shoes...then you make an exception (wasn't aware that certain brands were exempt from said rule) and when you don't make exceptions, you're chastised by other BM's and told to have compassion (they're assuming you have little to none). You're conned into believing you're gaining real work experience while you're literally just following someone around like a lost puppy acting as if you're entirely included in management.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent working environment

      May 17, 2021 - Fulfillment Associate in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with! Very easy job

      Cons

      You have to work for the company at least a year to receive holiday pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job

      May 17, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Cal-Ida, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the culture and miss my co workers

      Cons

      Management was always trying to save money

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not a supportive workplace

      Apr 8, 2021 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount on clothes but not much else

      Cons

      I worked in the flagship store in nyc and the managers were extremely unsupportive and looked for any excuse to not do their job. All they cared about was how many credit cards you could open. Keep in mind the managers will not even teach the basics or how to even open your first credit card if you’re new / just starting. I think the biggest thing that bothered me was the managers had this mentality that they were better than everyone else and they weren’t afraid to express that. My whole time working their I think only 1/4 knew my name and none of them trained. Our morning meetings would also just be about credit cards and how we as a team aren’t working hard enough - extremely toxic. Overall lack of community, not a lot of opportunity to grow and very bad energy due to the competitiveness of employees and lack of support by managers. It’s no wonder the company gets so many complaints from customers.... unhappy employees creates a toxic business that customers ultimately end up feeling uncomfortable in too. I hope this company makes an effort to do better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good to start off

      May 9, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Staff and great people working

      Cons

      Getting your book and calling customers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent place to work

      May 3, 2021 - Men's Suits and Shoes Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You got to dress nicely everyday and express yourself through accessories, shoes and hats etc. although we’re limited to colors of black, blue and grey for dress code.

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Chicago location is mismanaged

      May 5, 2021 - Sales in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some nice employees

      Cons

      The commission rate at the Chicago location is impossible with their foot traffic

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      May 7, 2021 - Receiver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good hours, perks, friendly coworkers

      Cons

      I really did not experience any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      It's Okay...

      May 13, 2021 - Sales Associate in Phila, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The ability to make a lot with commission

      Cons

      Targets customers. Racist, lost many clients because other associates wouldn't simply say Hello to people of races they didn't like or think would make big purchases.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,507 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bloomingdale's Job Seekers

    Executive Development Program
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Vice President, General Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Bloomingdale's? Share Your Experiences

    or