Blount Memorial Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Blount Memorial Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Blount Memorial Hospital CEO Don Heinemann
Don Heinemann
10 Ratings
  1. "Emergency room Staff Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Only hospital in the system so you don't deal with competing hospitals. Family centered.

    Cons

    Everyone knows everyone. Not a trauma center.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-07-03
  2. "Bedside RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    community Hospital, employee parking, pharmacy on site, cleanliness!

    Cons

    PAY!, the whole package plus management.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your devoted employees, lead, and inspire. Progress is a process, but management here is stagnant! Learn from UT, Look at what their leaders did to take that facility from condemnable to a beacon in health care for the community!

    Blount Memorial Hospital2019-06-06
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team work between the nurses, good yearly raise

    Cons

    Bad communication from management to staff

    Blount Memorial Hospital2019-05-06
  4. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The hospital is close to home.

    Cons

    Staffing issues. Incompetent management unable to perform in specialty areas.

    Advice to Management

    Learn the job and try to do it with minimal staff provided.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-10-05
  5. "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some areas have good and caring management

    Cons

    Most areas of the hospital are poorly managed

    Advice to Management

    Improve your nurse patient ratio

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-09-22
  6. "Think before you accept!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    helpful nursing and CNA staff

    Cons

    bad management, mandatory overtime, high patient ratio

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-07-05
  7. "Per Diem Out patient areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital for more than a year

    Pros

    close-knit community, cares about their employees

    Cons

    close-knit community...Might feel like an outsider if you aren't from there

    Blount Memorial Hospital2017-03-18
  8. "Patient Care Transition Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed the people I worked with and the patients I cared for.

    Cons

    Administration very political and not very supportive of nursing staff.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2017-03-11
  9. "Great learning experience as a new nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hospital is close to home in a small community. Fairly personable staff. You get to know people and work as a team.

    Cons

    Some days are stressful when staffing issues arise. It's difficult to take extra patients in your team unexpectedly. Team leaders (depending on work ethic) may not be helpful.

    Advice to Management

    Be more hands on instead of sending emails to relay messages

    Blount Memorial Hospital2016-11-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful employees, amazing nursing staff, approachable physicians. There are some incredibly knowledgeable nurses and a recent change has appointed team lead positions which is so helpful to registered nurses. I think this is a great, great hospital for new graduates!

    Cons

    Patient load runs between 5-8 at times. However, this is better than some surrounding hospitals. They have a stringent policy regarding being late, but really that is understandable.

    Advice to Management

    Management is actually pretty good. As in most atmospheres, I do feel that the upper level management has a real disconnect from the reality of what life on the floor is like. In the most respectful manner I could say this in, I think all members of management should have to spend one week a year following nursing staff. Anyone who is involved in making policy and rules regarding patient care needs to see what the staff...

    Show More
    Blount Memorial Hospital2016-03-31
Found 17 reviews