Blount Memorial Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Blount Memorial Hospital Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Blount Memorial Hospital CEO Don Heinemann
Don Heinemann
31 Ratings
  1. "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some areas have good and caring management

    Cons

    Most areas of the hospital are poorly managed

    Advice to Management

    Improve your nurse patient ratio

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-09-22
  2. "Great family-like workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital part-time

    Pros

    The hospital is a great place where everyone is like family. They offer great bonuses for picking up hours. Self-scheduling

    Cons

    There is a back-and-forth pull of staffing. They rapidly go from overstaffed to understaffed. You'll end up sitting with suicide/fall risk patients occasionally

    Advice to Management

    Try to ask your employees how they feel about things. Hire sitters so that you don't have to continue to pull CNA's and everyone else so the floors can be staffed.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-07-23
  3. "Cherokee Rehabilitation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Matching 401K, Health Insurance Monopoly, hours worked.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other companies. Lackadaisical management. Sexual Harassment by employers. Insurance negligence with Medicare treatment. Inappropriate care given to patients in physical therapy department.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up management of therapist and unethical treatment of employees and patients at Cherokee Rehabilitation.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-08-13
  4. "Good Company, but not family friendly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Alright people. Works with days off.

    Cons

    NOT ENOUGH PAY AT ALL CANT LIVE OFF OF PAY CANT PAY BILLS OFF OF PAY

    Advice to Management

    GIVE MORE PAY PAY MORE PAY WHAT WE ARE ACTUALLY WORTH

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-07-18
  5. "Think before you accept!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    helpful nursing and CNA staff

    Cons

    bad management, mandatory overtime, high patient ratio

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-07-05
  6. "food and nutrition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits and management cares for you

    Cons

    low pay and lots of time on your feet

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-05-01
  7. "Think before you accept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are fun and make the day go by easier. Close to home. Love working with my patients. Flexible work hours depending on which department you are assigned

    Cons

    Middle and upper management attitude toward employees is similar to “parents” to misbehaving children. Took some “management training” classes through HR. Was shocked at the attitude of those I met. It’s all about writing employees up and documenting on your “problem” employees.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your employees are adults and educated professionals. We would not be here if we did not care for those people we come in contact with everyday. MOST of us have solid values and good work ethic. If you have someone that doesn’t, educate them not the rest of us!

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-03-22
  8. "Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Aide in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    caring giving atmosphere due to poor overall morale.

    Cons

    all for themselves, no team work.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-02-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "NEEDS IMPROVEMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workes, benefits are excellent (if you use their facilities). If you are lucky to be outside of patient access the teamwork seems to be great!

    Cons

    There is a lot of "do as I say not as I do" from management. Others with same job title/responsibilities seem to be favored and allowed more freedom with different rules. BMH is always changing policies/rules/job description. They will "temporarily" vacat a position but never re-fill the position so there is always an extra load to cary.

    Advice to Management

    Very stressfull on employees. Do what you say you will do. Fill all the positions that were vacated by employees that quit. The extra work is causing people to leave. Stop Playing Favorites in Patient Access! Stop changing the rules all the time! If one member of a team is allowed to do something - then all should be allowed. So much childish management.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2017-11-30
  10. "Poor mgmt....low morale and micromanagement add to high turnover. Bring religion into the workplace which is wrong."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were the best part, but they left out if there as fast as they could.

    Cons

    Everything.....worst job I have ever had. I stayed as long as I did for the benefits.

    Advice to Management

    STOP micromanaging, and stop preaching to people. THIS IS NOT Church.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2017-11-28
Found 61 reviews