Blount Memorial Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Blount Memorial Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Blount Memorial Hospital CEO Don Heinemann
Don Heinemann
30 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and lots of friendly faces."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The other staff are friendly and the environment is welcoming. The salaries are not quite as high as some of the neighboring places of business unless you are coming in from the outside.

    Cons

    Lower salaries than similar work in the Knoxville area.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2013-10-11
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PC Support Analyst in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    Everyone I've worked with and encountered at this hospital has been very nice and informative. I would recommend employment here, at least for the IS side as I haven't worked in other departments of the hospital. This is also my first job in a healthcare field.

    Cons

    I believe that people are hired based on their social status (who they are related to and who they know). I don't fully agree with that. It's nice that someone who knows someone should get their application looked at a little more closely, but to hire someone, let alone promote, based on who they are, in my eyes, is wrong. Survival of the fittest: the person who does the best job should move up.

    Continue reading
    Blount Memorial Hospital2008-08-23
  3. "Not Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, shifts are 12 hours so that gives you more days off through the week

    Cons

    Low pay. UNDERSTAFFED. Night shift management is horrible.

    Continue reading
    Blount Memorial Hospital2019-08-28
  4. "Anonymous Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge convenience benefit to the community.

    Cons

    Many staffing issues due to environment and management styles.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2019-04-03
  5. "Rewarding but a little lost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access in Maryville, TN
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are amazing; interactions with patients are rewarding

    Cons

    management can be lost for direction at times

    Continue reading
    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-10-30
  6. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The hospital is close to home.

    Cons

    Staffing issues. Incompetent management unable to perform in specialty areas.

    Continue reading
    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-10-05
  7. "food and nutrition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits and management cares for you

    Cons

    low pay and lots of time on your feet

    Blount Memorial Hospital2018-05-01
  8. "Transitional Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    Fun Office parties for the holidays. Tight knit group that cares.

    Cons

    Equipment breaks down regularly. Cant get appropriate competative pay. Nursing staff Lazy at best overworked and Lazy at worst.

    Continue reading
    Blount Memorial Hospital2017-05-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    The community and patients are wonderful. Your Co- Workers are great and teamwork is very real in this setting.

    Cons

    Management will not work with your schedule. Management will not help when understaffed.

    Continue reading
    Blount Memorial Hospital2017-03-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Most all of the employees are friendly and easy to work with. The pay is comparable to other hospitals in the area. Benefits are good. Free parking, I know that's not a big deal at Blount but I also know there are some hospitals that actually charge employees to park. No union. Most of the department managers are good and easy to work for.

    Cons

    The high price of food, even with the employee discount. Some emloyees regularly park in the vistor parking area and security does nothing about it. Most of administration (not all) sits in their ivory tower and know very little of their employees without which administration would not exist.

    Continue reading
    Blount Memorial Hospital2016-05-09
Found 60 reviews