Blount Memorial Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Blount Memorial Hospital Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Blount Memorial Hospital CEO Don Heinemann
Don Heinemann
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Ups and Downs over the years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Hermitage, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Blount Memorial Hospital has a very friendly staff.

    Cons

    Declining quality of Employee Benefits Increasing cost of Benefits Wages are not competitive

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-12-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Small town feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Maryville, TN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working here because it's a small town feel. You know everyone and everyone knows you. You always notice a new face! I love my hours and benefits! The health insurance is awesome! About $100 a month or so for just me. The PTO is great too!

    Cons

    I get sick often working here. The place is pretty clean but germs are everywhere!

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-11-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Patient care tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome supplies. Always had the stuff you needed and it was from quality brands.

    Cons

    Really god-awful staffing. On a typical night, I had 30 patients to myself. Half of them would be total care and due to their neuro conditions, we're usually up all night. Blount staffing makes it an AWFUL place to work. The money is good because they have to bribe you to stay.

    Advice to Management

    Hire staff, respect the staff, and care more about patient safety.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-12-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Some days it's hard to stay at work, some days it's great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    Good pay, diverse population to work with, fast paced

    Cons

    Supervisor gossips and don't stand behind her staff when they need her to.

    Advice to Management

    Don't penalize employees when they try to tell you about problems. Sometimes a supervisor really does need to take a class in conflict resolution or get a therapist to work through their issues.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-09-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Scary place to work or be a patient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    For job seekers: Always openings and will hire even questionable candidates to fill slots. If you do not want to be in trouble for providing mediocre care, this is an ideal career venue.

    Cons

    Out-dated medical equipment in poor repair Dealing with small-town doctors who often do not return calls which compromises patient care. Dangerous patient to staff ratios are frequent due to inability to retain staff and fill positions timely. Often working with staff that could not stay employed elsewhere and temporary staff that do know the hospital equipment & software. Very little incentive to excell. No overtime...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is absolutely clueless about what constitutes quality care. I did not fully understand this before moving on to a hospital that takes quality care seriously. Scrap your entire management philosophy and start over with effective quality care being the primary goal instead of forcing nurses to cut corners and update the out-dated, broking-down equipment.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-09-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best...Not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is decent...not the best tho, close to home. Nurses on Same level usually work as a team. Great CNA'S.

    Cons

    Management is terrible. They will throw u under the bus at every chance. Got to cover your own butt.ALWAYS

    Advice to Management

    Get new management

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-08-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    A paycheck; some of the patients actually appreciate your efforts.

    Cons

    MICRO MICRO managed by every manager regarding EVERY thing and EVERY decision you make; absolutely NO autonomy. Thinking for yourself or expressing opinions or asking questions will get you fired.

    Advice to Management

    Step back and trust your employees to do an awesome job for the patients NOT because they are intimidated through fear of losing their job, but because of their love for their patients. Spend more time administering to and managing the hospital, not its employees. Maybe then you could retain nurses longer than 6 months.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-07-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "be afraid be very sfraid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blount Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    Some very caring people good nursing staff

    Cons

    Management has no idea what they are doing. As a result of this the care being provided is extremely sub par and dangerous

    Advice to Management

    Some one needs to buy this place and fire the whole lot of you

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-05-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    Good shifts on 12 hr schedules,

    Cons

    A lot of turnover in workforce. Not as much support from administration.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees concerns and try to retain seasoned staff.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-02-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Office Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blount Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In recent years, not many pros. If you live in Maryville, it is close to home, that's about it.

    Cons

    The hospital has really changed over the years. Not a good environment to work in. Leadership at the hospital doesn't really care about employees and it shows. I have never seen the turnover so high or employee satisfaction so low. The hospital spends money on new programs but nothing changes. Why? Because the leadership do not really have their heart in it. They only want to improve patient satisfaction so they don't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace all leadership and bring in people who really have a heart and care about people. It isn't rocket science, but some leadership do not adequately support or appreciate their staff. They are only out for themselves and to be sure they look good.

    Blount Memorial Hospital2015-01-09
Found 61 reviews