KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Blue Buffalo

Engaged Employer

Blue Buffalo

Add a Review

Blue Buffalo Employee Reviews about "pet detective"

Updated Jan 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 293 reviews

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blue Buffalo CEO  Billy Bishop
Billy Bishop
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "I’ve been with Blue, part time and full time, for almost 9 years(in 35 reviews)

  • "General Mills retirement, Free pet food every month (up to(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The position is designed to be a weekend part time job(in 13 reviews)

  • "The pet detective is the face of the company and has to deal with the backlash of upset customers when the company doesn't live up to it's promises(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of Blue Buffalo

    See all divisions

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Blue Buffalo and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "pet detective"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      You really feel like part of a herd. We inform and educate pet parents on our products.

      Jan 4, 2019 - Pet Detective/Brand Ambassador in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you love animals, taking about your pets, and talking to others about their pets this is the job for you. It’s not made to be a main job by no means but if your looking for a little extra income your almost guaranteed 20 hr a week working on the weekends. The management team is like family they have worked with me on hours because I work a full-time job that occasionally works me on weekends too. They are very understanding when life happens.

      Cons

      None really. You will will see many pet detectives that would want this to be a full-time job but after you start working you should be able to see why that is not realistic. A weekend gig is all of this is because some times it is just standing for long periods of time waiting for a pet parent to come across.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pet Detective

      Jan 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work for a company that was built around improving the nutrition for our pets, and continues on this laser focused mission. A family atmosphere, which starts with the Bishop family. Weekly pay, food/treat rebates, pet adoption rebate, 401K, and more. Opportunities for advancement.

      Cons

      Pet Detectives are limited to 24 hours/week max.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      3.0
      Former Employee

      Started off as a great job

      Sep 18, 2017 - Pet Detective 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great pay, reimbursement for food

      Cons

      no time off as a pet detective, no schedule changes, little/no communication with rdm, very little training

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Pet Detective

      Apr 2, 2017 - Pet Detective 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working environment- working at different stores. Working with animals and animal enthusiasts.

      Cons

      No annual raises are given. No room for advancement. We are the feeder fish of the company. Other brand amvassadors have starting wages of $15. Blue needs to get with the program since Blue expects PDs to work EVERY weekend. Compensation needs to increase! Also, company culture has changed since it went from a privately owned company to a public company. The pet detective is the face of the company and has to deal with the backlash of upset customers when the company doesn't live up to it's promises. Dealing with customers who felt cheated and betrayed when they learned the expensive food they were purchasing for their pets had by-products, when they advertise that it is by-product free, made the PD job uncomfortable. As we were not trained on how to respond to the customers and at the same time we were expected to sell enough product to reach our daily quota. It is frustrating to be constantly reminded of what our "numbers" should be when sometimes store traffic is slow, or on Saturday adoption days, the store is busy but only because people are looking at the animals, they aren't there to shop. Store managers will comment on this scenario frequently. Yet, PDs are expected to work every Saturday and Sunday. So a big con, is no weekends off, which is hard for those of us who already have a M-F job. Again the company culture has changed...it is becoming comnercialized. There have already been 3 product recalls within a two month period this year. Even though they were voluntary recalls it is worrisome. Blue wants to be the "premier" pet food in the specialty stores. Blue was closer to being "premier" before going public. Now Blue seems like it's into capital gains vs. caring about pets.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      pet detective

      Oct 3, 2016 - Pet Detective in Williamsburg, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work independently out in the public soft sales/indirect sales for pet retail stores. Free shirts! Great pay, benefits for pets and some for self including teledoc.

      Cons

      Customers in stores think you're a regular store employee and get frustrated you can't always help them because store employees are ignoring them. No full time for Pet Detective position.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      1.0
      Former Employee

      Pet Detective

      May 1, 2016 - Pet Detective in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Depends on manager some are really good others are awful.

      Cons

      Only part time on the weekends only allowed a few days off a year if you get sick or family emergency it is held against you. I had surgery that resulted in complications and had to be out for several months plus they would not let me return because I needed medical equipment to return. They gave me a deadline to return knowing I couldn't with out my medical equipment so they fired me. The managers have full control over you and the company doesn't care how they treat you, you have no one to contact for they don't give you HR phone number and if you are lucky to get a phone number like I was because of my illness, HR called me because the manager complained that I was going to be out for longer then allowed. But no matter what proof you give about how terrible the manager is they don't care. You are expendable with BB. If you run over your 4 hour shift waiting on a customer you don't get paid they tell you to excuse yourself even if in the middle of explaining or answering questions and just leave. Poor customer service. Very poor training I learned most in my own plus I have been a pet owner for many years. They have once a year a employee meeting its the normal hooray we are great company propaganda with no real training or substance. They tell you are so important but your not they will fire you in a heart beat. I would not recommend this company as a pet detective I don't know how they treat other employees for you never meet any. Even the product manager who visits the stores to check up on product and talk with store managers you have no idea what is going on in the store you work and never told what new is coming out. I usually found out from the store manager not from BB. If you need a PT job don't look at BB for it you will be disappointed.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall, I have liked working for Blue. Wonderful food!

      Jul 17, 2013 - Pet Detective in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For a part time job, decent pay. Started at $12.25 and got a $1.00 raise after 9 months. This is a much better salary than working a lower paying wage in retail. This is a second job for me to supplement my income. You get paid once a week. Blue provides training at quarterly SMART SESSIONS. I always enjoy the sessions and Blue is generous in giving the pet detectives small gifts at the meetings. This is also a paid meeting. You get a $20.00 rebate each month to use to purchase food. Working with pet parents and dogs and cats. Meet interesting people. Don't have anyone looking over your shoulder every time you work...so you have some independence even though you need to be motivated to approach people to sell food. Selling an outstanding product and hearing positive feedback from customers who feed Blue to their pets. My manager has been good about placing me in stores nearby where I live. Overall I like working for Blue.

      Cons

      Even though you have to work every weekend, you can schedule your own hours as to when you work. But this has drawbacks because you have to schedule 5 - 6 weeks in advance so if something comes up in your schedule at the last minute, you are locked into working. You work usually two 4 hour shifts with no breaks. Time goes by fast if you are in a PetSmart, but if you work at a Petco, it is very slow and boring. Blue sends secret shoppers to make sure you are using their "honoring the bond" philosophy to sell their products. The manager visits every other month for about an hour and will follow you around the store scripting and later coaching you to make sure you are using their philosophy of selling. The coaching is usually negative and you rarely hear positive things. This is stressful and I usually don't work as well with someone following me around the store. This is a common complaint with several pet detectives in my region. My manager is difficult to communicate with....rarely returns phone calls or emails when you have questions. My manager is also random, unorganized, and forgetful. Her coaching frequently contradicts what she said on previous visits. So I just don't take it seriously since this is just a part time job. It is what it is.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      "Great ideas sometimes go awry"

      Mar 4, 2013 - Pet Detective in Harrisburg, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The time required on shift is easy to do. You meet wonderful animal-loving people much of the time. Premium quality pet food. Great starting pay and incentives over time.

      Cons

      Issue with company/regional reps who fail to understand that sometimes people 'want' to feed this food but must choose where to 'cut costs' in an out of control economy. So, 'breathing down' the employees neck to 'make new sales' is not cool. Thought the 'pet detective' concept got to be a bit brain-washy at times....like it's own 'lingo speak', and I felt like a cult member using key phrases....

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. Blue Buffalo - Sales & Demo | Division of Blue Buffalo
      2.0
      Former Employee

      High pressure, nothing but criticism.

      Apr 24, 2012 - Pet Detective in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid every week Good pay - $11/hr Set your own schedule $20 rebate on pet food each month Excellent product

      Cons

      You will be expected to approach the sale of pet food with the same intensity and precision that would only be reserved for a job in the military or law enforcement (no kidding). You will need to devote the same amount of time and energy for this 8-12 hrs/week part-time job as you would a full-time job. The regional manager here lives and breathes Blue pet food 24/7, 365 days a year, and you will be expected to do the same. You will be required to engage every pet parent on a fairly intense emotional level in your sales presentation. Blue's "premiere performance" sales presentation is their method of selling pet parents expensive dog/cat food by subtly exploiting their feelings about their pets. However, it is carefully phrased as "honoring the bond" between the pet parent and their pet. Every minute aspect of your personality and sales presentation will be scrutinized to the nth degree - each word, facial expression, gesture - on a regular basis. You will be required to achieve 100% perfection in their "premiere performance" sales approach within a couple of months. You will be told frequently that "this job isn't for everyone", "this job is outside of the comfort zone for a lot of people", which I took to be an thinly veiled threat into pressuring me to either perfect their sales approach immediately or to quit. You will be given a laundry list of the things that are wrong with your sales presentation on a regular basis with no constructive criticism or positive feedback whatsoever. The response to asking if I had done anything right was laughter. When I received a compliment from a customer in a store, the regional manager (who was in the store that day) shot back with "Ok, what is your relationship with her?" Did you guys set this up?". The assumption was that I couldn't have possibly received a compliment based soley on the merits of my sales presentation but that I had staged this "compliment" with a complete stranger in order to impress my boss. From what I can tell, most pet detectives don't stick around for long. Whatever enjoyment you might receive from interacting with customers is quickly sucked out of you. I think most people get burned out fairly quickly by the incessant analysis of all aspects of their personality and sales presentation - i.e. having to continually justify their employment. As a result, there seems to always be a large number of openings for pet detectives. Also, store managers at Petsmart or Petco may or may not like your sales approach or presence so you may also have to deal with criticism from them as well. (Petco is the worst in this regard). Only take this job if you are extremely outgoing, like to engage total strangers on an deep emotional level, are comfortable with exploiting peoples' emotions to sell them dog/cat food, and are at ease with extreme examination of your personality and sales approach on a regular basis - with little or no positive feedback. You will have to justify your suitability for this job during every discussion of your job performance with your regional manager. Detailed knowledge of dog breeds and the behaviors inherent to each is also a necessity in order to determine the "specific needs" of each dog parent. In summary, this is NOT a casual part-time job and is better suited for those with an extensive sales background. No constructive criticism or positive feedback. Regional manager sends a lot of communication via email and there is a fair amount of information to review in order to keep your product knowledge current. You are not compensated for this.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Blue Buffalo Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Blue Buffalo? Share Your Experiences

    or