Blue Coat Systems Reviews

Updated May 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Blue Coat Systems CEO Greg Clark
Greg Clark
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great corporate culture and values; good work-life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great products and great people(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management is taking the most of the pie with their inner circle and own people(in 8 reviews)

  • "Very few women in engineering and upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      great company to work for

      Sep 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best environment and chemistry between coworkers. Not a stressful job.

      Cons

      nothing that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic company, fantastic benefits!

      Apr 11, 2016 - Engineering Manager in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Great culture Management is experienced, skilled, and kind Solid direction

      Cons

      Working in the security business means you have to make sure your product is rock solid, which can be a challenge

      113 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent company to work for

      Oct 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their technology is very interesting

      Cons

      Didn’t really care too much about employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Thin resource for team

      Jan 15, 2020 - Senior Engineering Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team are cohesive, knowledgible

      Cons

      Management is very greedy, and non-responsive to customer. Company management first approach

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Company had great potential

      Aug 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company with great technology

      Cons

      New management never understood the products & technology

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company with great teams

      Jul 2, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cohesive, cooperative teams, good culture.

      Cons

      There is no real direction at the corporate level.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Solving challenging problems in Internet security

      Aug 10, 2012 - Software Architect in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The great thing about working at Blue Coat is the unique combination of problems / skills we get to work on. Blue Coat is working in application level network security, which means gaining a deep understanding of web-based protocols and even individual web sites and applications. There is also a long history of performance and acceleration work at Blue Coat which layers on another completely different set of technologies and skills. Finally, we use a custom-built OS which has its own unique learning opportunities.

      Cons

      Without a doubt we have come through some challenges in recent months. Since February there has been a nearly complete "change of guard" at the highest levels in the company, and while the new management has laid out their vision and strategy for the company, there is still a little bit of a feeling that we are adrift. There has been a lot of turnover at all levels and that has left some areas pretty short-staffed. We have a lot of open positions right now and we need to fill those so we don't feel like we are trying to do too much.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place I've ever worked!

      Jan 23, 2015 - Senior Systems Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Blue Coat has been going through a lot of changes over the last several years. While some of them haven't been great, the company remains an amazing place to work. Blue Coat's leadership fosters a great environment for furthering yourself, your abilities and skills, and your career. We are growing very quickly, and while that can be challenging to keep up with, I see this as an overall pro...

      Cons

      You have to reach out to get what you want. Nothing comes on a silver platter, so you do need to be proactive about getting the training and other needs for your career. Things are changing very quickly at Blue Coat, right now. These changes aren't always smooth, but management is doing a good job at minimizing the impact on employees. If you're proactive about maintaining your skills, training, and career, this won't be a con, but if you're the kind of person who just sits around, waiting for someone to tell you what to do, you won't thrive in this environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Too Much Process

      Jan 28, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Blue Coat is an engineering driven company. There are some very smart and talented engineers here. The CEO is very technical, and he understands the market. The work is challenging. Good, friendly work environment. If you work hard, you will gain the respect of your peers. The company has a bright future.

      Cons

      Way too much process, much of which has been added in the past 1-2 years. It is hurting productivity, but upper management has turned a blind eye. Some managers have figured out how to game the system to make it look like their teams are working harder than they really are. No real incentive for performance. High-performers may get a small amount added to their annual bonus, but it's insignificant. Since Blue Coat is a private company, there is no stock. No room to move up. Individuals in senior roles have been here for a long time, and are not going anywhere. The company isn't growing (except through aquisition), so there is no new creation of senior roles. Unless you're part of the good 'ol boy's network, your ideas won't get any traction. Some teams have a fair amount of dead weight - engineers that don't seem to do anything but collect a paycheck.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Still Loving It!!!

      Aug 19, 2015 - Executive Assistant in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I posted the below in 2012 AND I still feel the same and Love it here! Blue Coat is one of the best companies I have worked for! Good times ahead!!! “I enjoy coming to work! ” Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Sunnyvale, CA Recommends Positive Outlook Approves of CEO I have been working at Blue Coat Systems full-time (More than 5 years) Pros I love it here not only because I love what I do, but I enjoy the people I work with. Blue Coat has great employees, a laid back environment, flexibility in schedules, an understanding of family, an excellent product and an Executive team that is not the usual OMG the CEO is coming in lets be on our best behavior and roll out the red carpet. Cons Nothing comes to mind at this time. Helpful

      Cons

      I can't think of any before and now. I believe if you are not happy you should change it, accept it, ot move on.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 242 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Blue Coat Systems Job Seekers

    Network Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Blue Coat Systems? Share Your Experiences

    Blue Coat Systems logo
    or