Blue Corona Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Blue Corona President & CEO Ben Landers
Ben Landers
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "I really enjoy my work at Blue Corona(in 31 reviews)

  • "The people I work with are fun, and it's nice to have things like free lunch on Friday and company swag(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Blue Corona is a place that challenges you to do your best--some people cannot handle that pressure(in 19 reviews)

  • "Blue Corona says it hires and develops the best people but there is no professional development or work-life balance(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Make an impact - on clients and the company

      Apr 9, 2021 - Director in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I came from another agency, and hands down Blue Corona treats clients better than anything I've seen. Incredibly attentive across the board, and if in the case we do have an oversight or mistake, we own up to it and reimburse. Very proud to be so transparent with our clients. The executive team did incredibly well by employees through the pandemic. Initial tough decisions were made and when we were able to get back on the growth track, bonuses were distributed out to reward the employees who made that growth possible. They are continuing to work shared growth incentives into our compensation plans (everyone, not just my title). The company is small and with that you have a real chance to make an impact. There is no playbook from day 1, which is not suited for everyone, but for strategic-minded folks like myself, it's a great environment for testing and improving processes every day because we are able to be that much more nimble. I not only know my coworkers, I know their pets, their spouses, their kids...We are a tight-knit group, which makes working together that much better.

      Cons

      Number of clients means there's always at least one fire drill going on. Structure with analysts being more behind the scenes leads to playing games of telephone at times.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      STAY AWAY!! Work here as a last resort

      Mar 29, 2021 - Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - a handful of fun and cool coworkers

      Cons

      Before you decide to accept the job, please listen to all the negative reviews on GlassDoor because they reflect exactly what I experienced at Blue Corona. For a lot of the positive reviews, what they do is pressure you into giving them good feedback when you're 1 month in on the job when you're in the honeymoon phase. If they don't see a new review, your manager will constantly ask if you've written them a review. This is plain bullying tactics to try to get a better rating on GlassDoor. Here are some of the cons: - underpaid for what you're doing - forced overtime (working 50-60hrs a week is the norm) - nepotism - hardcore micromanaging - outdated tech - blackhat SEO - they outsource the majority of their web work to India - high churn, every week there's an employee leaving - CEO is super manipulative to make you work more - CEO is super stingy and will try to cut as much cost as possible. This includes in business deals - Schemy business dealings, will lie to customers to get more money - Their headquarters is in an industrial blue collar town, sharing the building with a bottled water factory. - 2 bathrooms for each gender for the entire office. Sometimes there's a line and you know exactly who put too many beans in their burrito from Jasmines. It's equally embarrassing for both people. 10% of the time, the bathrooms are clogged and the perpetrator just leaves their log floating. - 0 diversity - If you're semi-attractive, they will use you to get more clients.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It ruins our schedule and programs

      Apr 26, 2021 - Content Strategist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working remotely is what makes this job ok

      Cons

      Working with the other teams especially remotely can be a real challenge. They're not very cooperative and schedule should be done when it's most convenient for each of them. They don't easily try to compromise and it ruins our content schedule and programs.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Apr 24, 2021 - Marketing in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food on Fridays is nice

      Cons

      Long work days long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great bunch of people

      Jan 22, 2021 - SEO Specialist in Silver Spring, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love all the people I work with, bosses and colleagues alike for this job. Everyone is super helpful and sociable. Despite being remote, the regular virtual meetings makes me feel more a part of the team than I could ever expect. The work is completely manageable, and unlike others reviewers, I haven’t had to work crazy hours like they mention. This company is best suited for people looking for work that you can do on your own while having the resources of a team available.

      Cons

      Because the company is smaller and younger, there are a few hiccups. No real issues of this nature have impacted me, though.

      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Abysmally bad. This place is a joke.

      Mar 12, 2021 - SEO Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good coworkers. Decent benefits. Free lunch Fridays. That’s about it.

      Cons

      BC’s approach to SEO is outdated at best. At worst, their tactics are downright harmful to their clients’ long-term organic health (ex. copied/spun content, keyword spam, black hat SEO, etc). Turnover is extremely high, which is both demoralizing for employees and a clear sign that things are rotten beneath the surface. BC will sell its subpar services to absolutely anyone willing to pay rather than trying to perfect and own a particular market niche. This leads to high client churn and overall disorganization internally regarding how to actually deliver on the accounts sold. Like others have said, overall employee morale is awful. Employees are basically forced to put in overtime because they’re perpetually behind on hiring (mainly due to turnover). This will be met with condescending pep talks about how you need to “learn to grow” rather than actually focusing on hiring personnel. When people leave, management blames them for being a “poor culture fit” instead of taking any responsibility for why they may have left. This is a recurring theme echoed in many other reviews of this company, because it is 100% true. Oh - and the best part - there is only one shared bathroom for 50+ people in their Charlotte office (including the people in the other suites in the building) that is rarely cleaned or stocked, if ever. Many, many days of uncomfortably holding it in all day just to avoid using that nightmarish restroom. This place is a stepping stone to bigger and better things, not somewhere you’d want to stay at long term. Only accept a job here if you’re desperate or a masochist.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Kills the company's vibes

      Mar 29, 2021 - Digital Marketing Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the staff are cool and fun except for the seniors.

      Cons

      The culture of seniority here is what kills the company's vibes. Since the company is still young most senior employees feel entitled like they're the founders of the company. They look down on new employees instead of helping and supporting them.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      There were too many useless individuals at the top.

      Feb 22, 2021 - Content Marketing Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting challenges and lots of opportunities to make a positive impact.

      Cons

      Top-heavy management. There were too many useless individuals at the top and very few employees to work for them. Turnover was very high so employees were always pressured to simultaneously understand and execute their tasks. They recently lost and employee that was being replaced with 2 or 3 individuals for the amount of work, that was not a good business sense.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      You lose motivation each day

      Jan 31, 2021 - Account Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work environment is dynamic and most people pretend they're happy with what they do.

      Cons

      The company requires employees to work overtime whenever they feel the need to. There's no escaping or reasoning not to and you are pushed to work over your limit. It's exhausting and you lose motivation each day.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great place to work, but not for everyone

      Jun 24, 2020 - Content Specialist in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Coworkers- you'll meet and get to work with some really awesome people -Management- they care about their employees and want to help them succeed -Opportunity- If you're willing to put in the work, you will have opportunities to advance in your career here. -Experience- Blue corona works with a wide variety of clients giving you some really interesting experiences.

      Cons

      This job isn't for everyone! You have to be willing to put in the work. If you're looking for a job that's a regular 9-5, and won't require extra effort, this isn't the place for you.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 60 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Blue Corona Job Seekers

    Content Marketing Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Digital Marketing Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Blue Corona? Share Your Experiences

    Blue Corona logo
    or