Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Analyst Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
10 Ratings
  1. "Data analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and stress free culture

    Cons

    Very technical and computer skills a must

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-09-19

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value your feedback.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Actuarial Analyst II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits including those part of the student rotation program

    Cons

    Little room to move up

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-03-18

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We welcome and value feedback from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement and career mobility.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing. They have the opportunity to be much better at customer service than they are. All their customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst III in Hingham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Paid time off, flexible schedules; many positions are work from home. Great wellness program (gym, fitness equipment &massage reimbursement; at-work yoga, meditation & seminars).

    Cons

    Upper management cares about production and that's it. They are also not willing to spend the money to keep IT and other systems up to date for a company of this size. Very clique-ish. If you don't fit a profile or know someone, you don't move up or even around.

    Advice to Management

    Consider giving the Briggs-Myers personality test to all permanent new-hires to find out where they will best fit in the Company. More internal systems training and testing. More transparency.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-12-24
  4. "IT Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Analyst in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

    Pros

    Multutasking IT support all Technologies . Administration Duties , Troubleshooter

    Cons

    Orginizer, Team Oriented, Goal Oriented

    Advice to Management

    Managment were very Satisfied with my performance

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-12-28
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Full of Bureaucrats and Nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Invests in the people and communities of MA.

    Cons

    Senior leaders are a "club", Finance organization is off the rails, this company takes its bonuses off of the interest from the 2 billion+ reserves its taken from residents of the CommonWealth. No teamwork, lots of competition and back-stabbing!

    Advice to Management

    Bring in outside hires for open C-level positions, and give back the $2 billion in reserves you collected from individuals and companies.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-09-01
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Data Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good benefit, and life-work balance. Depending on the department, the work could be intensive or not.

    Cons

    Salary is not as high compared to biotechnology companies or pharmaceutical companies. Parking around the company is a little expensive in Boston, MA. No free parking.

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest the management use more programming tools for data analysis. Adopt more novel ideas from people with different backgrounds.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-06-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Hierarchical structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Data Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

    Pros

    Good benefits, some flexibility at work. Job satisfaction that helping people lead better lives

    Cons

    No performance reward, no salary hike, no promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce hierarchy, compensate based on performance. Think of rewarding best performers.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2015-09-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good insurance lousy pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits but the pay is not competetive

      Cons

      Lousy pay I had to leave

      Advice to Management

      Look for ways to challenge your employees. Look for ways to increase pay. Good company though. I think I would recommend.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2015-09-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Financial analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and job security

      Cons

      Low advancement and potential to exile

      Advice to Management

      Stay open minded and encourage advancement

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2015-07-25
    • "My time at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Data Analyst in Hingham, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Blue Cross offers great opportunities for growth within such a large company. I was hired right after graduating college. Supervisors and staff were all great and really created an intimate setting for such a large organization.

      Cons

      Low starting salary. Along with this I was laid off after serving the company for six months. the

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up! I approved.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2015-04-07
    Found 18 reviews