Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Intern Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
6 Ratings
  1. "Financial Services Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern 

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Well developed college internship program

      Cons

      No real cons to my experience

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-02-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Seemingly perfect from the outside, not so much from the inside"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      There are a lot of ways to get involved with the company culture through organizations (I think they called them ERGS). Good food offerings in the office.

      Cons

      No one was happy with the higher management. The company culture of “everyone gets along” seemed forced and fake, and there was absolutely nothing for me to do as an intern. The office was often empty because of people working from home, and there never seemed to be urgency to get work done. Everything went slowly. They never had any work for me to do, and I think they even cut my position from the intern program for...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Trust interns with more tasks. If you hire them, use them.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-03-25
    • "Good experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Quincy, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      Big company opens many doors for networking. Many senior employees are willing to have a conversation with you. Internship program offers many trainings, giving you great insight into the world of health insurance.

      Cons

      Technology used is outdated. Employees are mostly older in age. Few entry level career opportunities.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to develop college aged talent.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-09-07
    • "Actuarial Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      Great rotational program and gives a good highlight of the student program

      Cons

      They don't always have room for all the interns to come back so you need other offers for leverage to get a full time position

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-08-17
    • "Great Internship Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      The company really cares about the associate. The intern program is structured really well and creates a great set of weekly trainings for interns.

      Cons

      $17/hour compensation could be improved

      Advice to Management

      Consider higher compensation to really compete for greatest talent

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-08-11
    • "Amazing Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      The envirnonment was great, the employees were very welcoming, well-run, organized company, up-to-date as far as technology, buildings were clean, diverse community

      Cons

      no benefits for interns, should advertise to my more colleges outside of New England for recruiting

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-07-20
    • "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

        Pros

        The team was exciting and engaging. While work flow began slowly, they began to involve me in various company projects and I had the opportunity to grow and learn. A summer to remember!

        Cons

        There really were no diwnsides. If anything I would have to say the food in the cafeteria was yummy so I spent too much money there.

        Advice to Management

        I would advise management to be sure that interns have an interest in the field. It would make the internship more engaging and rewarding for everyone

        Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2015-05-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Intern Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great Training, ability to tour other departments

        Cons

        Not very flexible, boss was up tight

        Advice to Management

        office culture is formal

        Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2014-09-23
      • "great internship"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Marketing Communications Intern in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

        Pros

        great people, nice events to go to

        Cons

        not incredibly intellectually stimulating, and could be boring at times

        Advice to Management

        for interns, there was a lot of great exposure

        Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2014-06-24
      • "This was an amazing internship experience!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        You get to take on a lot of responsibility

        Cons

        Certain days of the week can get very slow

        Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2014-02-25
      Found 11 reviews