Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Superb organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Seasoned and solid leadership team

    Cons

    Larger organization can be challenging to drive change

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-06-13

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    August 1, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates.

  2. "Too slow to embrace change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Quincy, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    salary, benefits, flex time, vacation policy

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, siloed, risk averse, too many people still there who prefer "the old way" Entire Innovation team has left

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-05-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Management is supportive in terms of creative freedom. The work is fulfilling. You work in teams across different projects and the people I've encountered have been fun and genuinely nice.

    Cons

    Overall poor senior management. No job growth or opportunities -- the place has become a contractor factory. You'll see a lot of politics play out on a day-to-day basis. Other cons are the nepotism, favoritism, etc. Operationally things are very disorganized.

    Advice to Management

    You have a lot of leaders that have been in the same spot putting out the same mediocre work for 15-20 yrs. If you want a fresh perspective, then you need to do a refresh across the board.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Poster child for what is wrong with the healthcare system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Quincy, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

    Pros

    The contract pay is pretty good. Never more than 40 hour workweek.

    Cons

    Completely dysfunctional politics. The IT and Marketing departments are ACTIVELY at war with one another right now with respect to digital transformation. Middle managers are excellent at playing the political game, but absolutely incompetent at creating software that doesn't suck and cost a fortune.

    Advice to Management

    Give up. The inmates have taken over. You will never be anything other than an anchor on the economy and a bane to any consumer stuck with you as an insurer.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-01-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Competitive Pay & above average benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

    Pros

    Solid company with good track record. Progressive culture that is starting to embrace technological innovation. Some very smart people work here. Company is very pro-employee and backs up slogans with policies, benefits and programs.

    Cons

    As others have mentioned there are too many "lifers" here. They congregate in certain functional areas of the company which could limit career paths for newer employees.

    Advice to Management

    Great job with the progressive culture and emphasis on innovation. It may be time to bring innovation to departments other than IT. Look to improve career mobility for newer employees in all areas.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-10-24

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for such a positive review. We will consider the feedback as we strive to offer benefits that meet all of our associate needs.

  6. "Great Benefits including Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Company is positioning for future marketplace, really embraces work life balance and provide great benefits.

    Cons

    As a non-profit doesn’t sign-off on Federal Student Loan Forgiveness program!

    Advice to Management

    Consider re-evaluating the Federal Student Loan Forgiveness program as a real benefit while increasing motivation to strengthen retention, especially as competition for employees in the labor market is continuing to expand for high skilled positions.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-02-09

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    March 17, 2017University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for such a positive review. We will consider the feedback as we strive to offer benefits that meet all of our associates needs.

  7. "training manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Manager in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    job security through workforce stability, strong senior management

    Cons

    limited career mobility due to limited turnover in management at most levels

    Advice to Management

    none

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-01-27

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    March 17, 2017University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We welcome and value feedback from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not appropriate setting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Boston, MA

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

    Pros

    If you know people you are working with, that is ideal.

    Cons

    Needs not accessed for project.

    Advice to Management

    Plan and communicate with contractors.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-05-21
  9. "BCBSMA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Sharon, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great People to work with

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-03-22
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Troubled organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, IT in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people work here who DO care

    Cons

    Extreme politics within IT. Potential hope on the horizon with a new CIO who seems to have the correct read on the current boys club / backstabbing / truth hiding / self serving leadership team currently in place. Have worked in IT for many years and have never seen incompetence to this degree. The current Sr Leadership within IT are more interested in self serving agenda's, killing ideas of anyone within IT, icing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    CLEAN HOUSE across the IT & Operations Sr leadership and let's move forward and do the right thing!!!

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2016-01-01
Found 19 reviews