Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

Updated March 22, 2017
164 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts President and CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
93 Ratings

164 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Company is positioning for future marketplace, really embraces work life balance and provide great benefits (in 38 reviews)

  • Great benefits including those part of the student rotation program (in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • No room for advancement unless you are related to someone or buddies with the right people (in 4 reviews)

  • For such a great place to intern, there's no direct route to full time opportunities after the summer experience (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "physician reviewer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    excellent working environment and coworkers

    Cons

    distance to commute is 20 miles


  2. "Actuarial Analyst II"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst II in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits including those part of the student rotation program

    Cons

    Little room to move up


  3. "I've been with BCBS for over 9 years, lots of experiences mostly good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processor II in Hingham, MA
    Current Employee - Processor II in Hingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Put the power in associates hands, lots of empowering programs

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to get good chances for new jobs within, without phone experience.

    Advice to Management

    Give more options to learn more without the use of the phones.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our development programs along with the many opportunities for associates to actively manage their career.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits and development opportunities. great people

    Cons

    advancement within departments; the use of contractors/temp agencies

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for highlighting our amazing company and associates. We are continually striving for improvement.


  6. "Executive Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company, community aware, pays well, great benefits

    Cons

    They don't promote within enough, turn around is big and leaders don't lead well, more self-promotion

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, KEEP employees that actually work hard, promote within.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for highlighting our benefits and our commitment to the community. We welcome and value feedback as we are continually striving for improvement.


  7. "RN case manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    flexible hours and caring people

    Cons

    micro managed with no aapreciation


  8. "Senior Management is Amazing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some of the Management was incredible, the CEO, some of the actual managers- (although a couple not)!

    Cons

    Definitely someplace that plays favorites.

    Advice to Management

    Don't take things at face value.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback as we are continually striving for improvement.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Needs a good shake up"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Hingham, MA
    Former Employee - N/A in Hingham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts has a great training program that allows people off the street with no insurance experience to learn the products and apply their knowledge in a manner that allows them to excel quickly in a service setting. After putting in your time, you have the knowledge to transition to just about any team. Leader support at the associate level is good, depending on which division you're apart of.

    Cons

    There's a lot of turnover on service teams and a lot of nepotism in leadership. On several occasions, I witnessed well qualified candidates passed up for promotions or transitions when the other candidate wasn't qualified, but was a friend to the senior manager. Many of the department managers in operations think they don't have time for their associates, so if you ever have a claim deny incorrectly, it's either a manager that "doesn't have time" for a processor, or an associate that has given up and doesn't care, but still has a good production rating.

    Advice to Management

    The Ends don't justify the means if it's at the expense of good people. There's enough cafeteria chatter that goes around that if you listen, you'd be amazed at the truths your employees will tell you.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear of your assessment as we are committed to creating a transparent and inclusive environment. We welcome and value feedback from our former ... More


  10. "Great company with great management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work-life balance; great benefits including company contribution to retirement account, work from home option, commuting expense subsidies, many wellness programs such as cafe in the building, free yoga classes during lunch breaks...

    Cons

    Some managers are hard to deal with; folks who have worked with the company for long time (obviously due to the pros above) need to catch up their skills...

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for highlighting our many benefits and work life balance. We welcome and value feedback from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement.


  11. "Great Benefits including Work Life Balance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company is positioning for future marketplace, really embraces work life balance and provide great benefits.

    Cons

    As a non-profit doesn’t sign-off on Federal Student Loan Forgiveness program!

    Advice to Management

    Consider re-evaluating the Federal Student Loan Forgiveness program as a real benefit while increasing motivation to strengthen retention, especially as competition for employees in the labor market is continuing to expand for high skilled positions.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for such a positive review. We will consider the feedback as we strive to offer benefits that meet all of our associates needs.



Showing 164 of 183 reviews
Reset Filters