Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Sales & Marketing Professional - Mid Level Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
136 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    -Company really cares about it's employees - Clear communication from C level on down of business plan & priorities - Great benefits, flexible hours, remote working - Amazingly smart people, inclusive environment - Lots of long time employees with a wealth of info and who feel like family - Strong focus on innovation and growth - Entrepreneurial spirit is fostered and welcome

    Cons

    - Some pockets within the organization have more politics than others - Volume and pace of work in some pockets is extremely fast

    Advice to Management

    Weed out toxic leaders

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-02-15

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 29, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your past commitment to our organization! We are striving to create a dynamic culture and workforce.

  2. "Too slow to embrace change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Quincy, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    salary, benefits, flex time, vacation policy

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, siloed, risk averse, too many people still there who prefer "the old way" Entire Innovation team has left

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-05-21
  3. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are excellent, good culture, very supportive of diversity and of the community. CEO is excellent and very friendly, approachable, and effective. Overall leadership team is strong, new CFO seems very smart. Focus on innovation is good.

    Cons

    Too many 'lifers' that have been here for too long.

    Advice to Management

    You have employees that are no longer effective, including their managers who are equally ineffective. Cut the dead weight.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-04-26

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 29, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your past commitment to our organization! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Blue Cross Blue Shield is a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    1) Good Benefits 2) Provide a healthy work/life balance 3) Good people

    Cons

    BCBSMA culture is too political

    Advice to Management

    Leader should have the ability to make employee feel value at work and should not pick out certain team members as their favorites.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-05-02
  5. "Vacation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, IT 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good Vacation Benefits: 3 weeks + 2 Personal + 8 Sick leaves. 401k: 2% employer contribution without any employee contribution. 6% contribution with 4% employee contribution. Pension - ~ 4 % College Reimbursement : 10k Flexible working arrangement

    Cons

    Too slow to bring changes

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-03-28

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 29, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value your insight.

  6. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Work from home.

    Cons

    Slow career growth. Hard to move around company.

    Advice to Management

    More training opportunities to get employee up to speed with technology.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-03-16

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 29, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! Please consider our many career mobility options to help expedite your career journey.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Workign at BCBSMA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Service Consultant in Hingham, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth

    Cons

    forced to work from home during snow storms

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-02-02

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 29, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates.

  8. "Big cooperative but micromanaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and other life-balance activities

      Cons

      Finger cross with the managers system

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-02-21

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 29, 2019University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates.

    • "BCBSMA, best place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Quality Coach in Quincy, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Work from home opportunity, non profit company who cares about its employees

      Cons

      New CFO every 5 years

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-01-25

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for the time that you dedicated to the organization! Our current CFO, Andreana Santangelo was promoted in 2017 after her predecessor Allen Maltz (former CFO for 10+ yrs) retired.

    • "Architect"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Good management who understood the needs of the employees. Excellent communication at all levels and an earnest attempt at conveying the goals and direction of the company as a whole.

      Cons

      Some in fighting between departments. Need better understanding of what groups are doing and how they can benefit from sharing their information.

      Advice to Management

      Good overall understanding of the people and how they can interact with each other. A stable architecture environment would be useful .

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-01-14

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value your insight.

    Found 224 reviews