Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
136 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Job flexibility Work Life Balance Great Boss

    Cons

    Job training is poor Boss is sometimes absent too much Roles are not clearly defined

    Advice to Management

    Develop a streamlined approach for training on new employee as well as current employee for the various departments.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-01-07

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value you!

  2. "Fantastic company with room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    BCBSMA really cares about employees health and wellness. Benefits are excellent and lots of opportunities for continuing ed and advancement if you are ambitious. Company has solid reputation and pay is above average.

    Cons

    Experiences vary a lot from department to department but, as with many large organizations, communication is not always there and things are found out through the rumor mill.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-12-06

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value your perspective.

  3. "Member Service Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

    Pros

    Friendly and inclusive culture, great perks, ability to explore other departments, fun activities.

    Cons

    Call center micromanagement, health care plan is great but expensive compared to others

    Advice to Management

    Metrics are necessary, but be upfront in training about it.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-12-03

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value your insight.

  4. "Good People, Poor Non-Flexible Managemnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of awesome people that work for BCBSMA

    Cons

    Management is very stuck in their ways and seem to be in survival mode, always focusing on putting out fires by adding more processes, making things more complicated than they need to be, rather than trying to streamline systems and think more long term.

    Advice to Management

    Think more long-term

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-11-29
  5. "Department Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Modern offices with some amenities. Good work life balance and flexible work environment (depending on the team).

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to grow within the company. Very difficult to move between departments/teams. In order to advance your career and earn moere money, you may need to leave and eventually go back.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-11-08

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you! We welcome your feedback and erspective.

  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and benefits

    Cons

    Nothing with relevance to describe.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-22

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value your perspective.

  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benfits, life work balance

    Cons

    Premiums are still high for employees

    Advice to Management

    Give employees better insurance benefit

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-20
  8. "Great Company and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Treasury in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - Work from home option - Great commuter subsidies - Work/Life balance - Caring CEO - Discounts - Technology upgrades - Pension plan - Welcoming culture - Strong working mothers support - Beautiful Boston office - environmentally aware - encourages community service and outreach

    Cons

    Depending on the department, opportunities for advancement may be limited

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-02

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to create a culture of internal mobility and career development.

  9. "Member Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Quincy, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The company understands the value of a work life balance. They provide excellent benefits along with a fantastic amount of paid time off. They offer many excellent internal classes and courses for career development.

      Cons

      Member service position has an 18 month commitment before able to apply to other internal positions.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-02

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value your perspective.

    • "Data analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Data Analyst in Quincy, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule and stress free culture

      Cons

      Very technical and computer skills a must

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-09-19

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value your feedback.

    Found 224 reviews