Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
136 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Legacy Lifestyle Hurts Your Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It has an excellent path to being the best health insurance company Massachusetts has. The senior leadership has a plan for putting the best foot forward.

    Cons

    Middle management are basic lifers to the company. Although they see the direction, they tend to still use the same beliefs they grew up with and cannot utilize anything new. A new person who comes in is an outsider and you will continuously feel that way. You must come in with the impression that although leadership wants change and you look to move toward that philosophy, you must follow the direction of middle management...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You really need to review your middle management and how they achieve the goals of the company. Many employees feel stuck because they want to see the change like you do but feel like they're in a rut that they can't get out and won't change. Also, the respect policy isn't there like I've seen in other companies. A director who is able to curse openly to their direct reports and also allow sexist comments like what...

    Show More
    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-09-17

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and recommendations!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    excellent benefits, yearly bonus, 3 weeks of vacation +

    Cons

    upward mobility can be difficulty

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-08-27

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates

  3. "Actuarial analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Fitness benefit and office location

      Cons

      Leadership, work life balanacd, pay

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-09-03

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value your feedback.

    • Helpful (5)

      "It Depends on What You're Looking For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Quincy, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The Pay is okay and work life balance is okay, ability to work from home, decent benefits, commuter pass, daycare on site, tuition reimbursement.

      Cons

      Working a 40 hour work week but only getting paid for 37.5 and in order to get overtime you have to get paid for over 40 hours (Makes no sense right?) No gym, terrible lunch, Not minority friendly unless you want to be a Member Service Rep forever. The company continues to put diversity on their list of values, however diversity only exists at the lowest levels of employment here. If you are a customer service rep trying...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to the needs of your minorities. We are people too. We have to work 100x harder than the non minorities you overlook us for.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-08-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work, but prepare to stay put for awhile..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Provider Service Representative in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      For those that do the legwork, there’s a lot of growth and mentoring programs that can enable you to network with leaders elsewhere in the company. Tuition reimbursement for all levels is very generous.

      Cons

      Internal movement is very hard. There are lots of entry level, $35-$45k type jobs, and a handful of director and other speciality jobs that prefer graduate degrees and years (10+) of experience. In between is normally solicited and hired within a respective department. Also, because this is such a good company to work for, very few people leave their current roles. Those that do will easily have 10,20,more applying...

      Show More
      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-07-22

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      August 1, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback. We welcome and value our associates. We are making strides to encourage and promote internal mobility!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Superb organization!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Seasoned and solid leadership team

      Cons

      Larger organization can be challenging to drive change

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-06-13

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      August 1, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your commitment to our organization! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Best Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Healthy engaging culture. Amazing coworkers who are dedicated to the mission. Innovation is huge as they work to make healthcare work for people.

      Cons

      Need Stronger focus on promoting directors and above from within.

      Advice to Management

      Continue the good work. Hire for potential.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-04-29

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      August 1, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your positive commentary. We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates.

    • Helpful (2)

      "BCBSMA Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Associate in Hingham, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and a nice work environment. I enjoyed working with my coworkers and managers.

      Cons

      Can be a little too corporate if you are not into that kind of thing. If you are from a freelance or startup type job, I would not recommend this company.

      Advice to Management

      My best recommendation would be to actively seek out the talent in each group and ensure they continue on with the company.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-03-29

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback as we are continually striving for improvement.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Can do better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Job duty itself was not difficult.

      Cons

      Stressful in that there is bad scheduling rude unprofessional management .

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees with respect you will get better performance .

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-04-08

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      We welcome and value input from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement. Thank you for your feedback!

    • Helpful (1)

      "contact analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      flexibility, work from home, location, friendliness,

      Cons

      not much room for growth after you get to a certain point

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-03-26

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your review. We welcome our employee feedback as we are continually striving for improvement.

    Found 223 reviews