Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
136 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "contact analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    flexibility, work from home, location, friendliness,

    Cons

    not much room for growth after you get to a certain point

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-03-26

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We welcome our employee feedback as we are continually striving for improvement.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Processor in Hingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Management is very flexible and understanding

    Cons

    Benefits are mediocre.. especially for an insurance company

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-03-04

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We welcome our new associate feedback as we are continually striving for improvement.

  3. Helpful (6)

    "The absolute WORST - BEWARE - STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockland, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Lifelong friends, decent food, free parking

    Cons

    Nepotism, favoritism, horrible to the disabled. One man that died has a serious disability and they made him come in the office when they knew he couldn't handle it and they ended up firing him and giving his job to someone's kid. I saw legal respond to someone else about all these benefits they have for the disabled and they were never offered to me or the man they dragged into the office during his dying days. Also...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs a complete turnover

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-04-05

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear of your assessment as we are committed to creating a transparent and inclusive environment. We welcome and value feedback from our former associates as we are continually striving for improvement.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work Schedule Mobile workers One Blue One Community

    Cons

    I do not have any Cons

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-02-16

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to delight our associates.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Smart group of people, super committed to the work.

    Cons

    Level of urgency among staff varies significantly.

    Advice to Management

    More incentives!

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-01-21

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We welcome and value feedback from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement and new incentives..

  6. Helpful (1)

    "HMM Paid Intern Glassdoor Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

      Pros

      A lot of self-managed projects, enthusiastic team members

      Cons

      Mostly desk work, many meetings are informational but do not apply to role

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-01-04

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your positive feedback. We welcome and value feedback from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement and new talent pipelines.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Good culture and work/life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Ok benefits including tuition reimbursement, gym/weight loss benefit, etc.

      Cons

      Talent vacuum in some areas, needs better leadership, not more management. Pay sometimes not comparable with market.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-12-06

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for highlighting our many benefits and work life balance. We welcome and value feedback from our associates.

    • Helpful (4)

      "No career path"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Good vacation accrual and good people. 401k company match. Good bonuses but ratings are mandated at an average rating so most people don’t get full bonus.

      Cons

      Tough to advance and big focus on hiring external. Outside hires are paid more showing little investment into people development. HR is the worst of any company I’ve ever seen.

      Advice to Management

      Get back to basics, invest in some tools to help people do their job before coming up with more ideas that can’t be implemented without crushing employees with more work

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-12-12

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for highlighting our many benefits and work life balance. We welcome and value feedback from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Account Service Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Service Consultant in Hingham, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      BCBSMA is a very good company for quality of life. The benefits are good as well.

      Cons

      I think BCBSMA does not value experience from other companies as much as it should. I also feel the pay is less than other markets.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-11-20

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and your commitment to the company. We are continually striving to be the best for our associates.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Competitive Pay & above average benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Solid company with good track record. Progressive culture that is starting to embrace technological innovation. Some very smart people work here. Company is very pro-employee and backs up slogans with policies, benefits and programs.

      Cons

      As others have mentioned there are too many "lifers" here. They congregate in certain functional areas of the company which could limit career paths for newer employees.

      Advice to Management

      Great job with the progressive culture and emphasis on innovation. It may be time to bring innovation to departments other than IT. Look to improve career mobility for newer employees in all areas.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-10-24

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for such a positive review. We will consider the feedback as we strive to offer benefits that meet all of our associate needs.

    Found 224 reviews