Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
136 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Look elsewhere!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - Decent benefits

    Cons

    -Politics, politics, politics -People do everything within their power to treat you bad. -People appear to be in it for themselves. This is based on working within the IT department this may not be true for other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Wipe out the entire IT department and start from SCRATCH! It's a really toxic environment and has made me really not care about the company nor doing my work to the best of my ability.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-11-02

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and your commitment to the company. We are continually striving to be the best for our associates.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Provider service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider Service Representative in Hingham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Cheap benefits, good maternity leave

    Cons

    Being on phones all day and 6 months of training

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-11-01

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback as we are continually striving for improvement.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      positive and passionate people. great benefits

      Cons

      really depends on your leader. some are flexible and some are not. look into your team's culture

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-10-06

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      We welcome and value input from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement. Thank you for your feedback!

    • Helpful (8)

      "Run away!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Most people there don't actually work so you could have a very easy job if you can take the long term impact on your career and the lack of ethics.

      Cons

      Almost all the smart people leave or get driven away by the lazy, backstabbing, inept people. People lie all the time. After working there, I see why healthcare is expensive. The health benefits are a crappy high-deductible plan. If you work there for too long, you won't have any achievements on your resume and you'll get stuck there.

      Advice to Management

      Get some ethics and don't let your people lie. Know that only the call center and about 20 other people are actually working. The rest just recycle old projects and play on their phones all day.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-11-02

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      April 16, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear of your assessment as we are committed to creating a transparent and inclusive environment. We welcome and value feedback from our former associates as we are continually striving for improvement

    • Helpful (3)

      "Nothing bad to say"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      There are many excellent folks working hard - good benefits

      Cons

      Experience is directly related to who you work for - some leaders are very flexible and some are not - explore that if you are considering joining

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-09-21

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and for your past commitment to the company. We are continually striving for improvement.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Company to Work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      great people, great place. A good experience but can be hard to move around as it's not a huge company.

      Cons

      Can be hard to move around as it's not a huge company

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-08-14

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      We welcome and value input from our former associates as we are continually striving for improvement. Thank you for your feedback!

    • Helpful (1)

      "OK Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      They try to promote health and education

      Cons

      The member service department is chaotic they are divided into teams, and each team is run differently which causes a lot of confusion.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-08-16

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and for your past commitment to the company. We are continually striving for improvement.

    • Helpful (1)

      "OK Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Lots of talented people Reasonable benefits

      Cons

      No significant opportunities for career advancement

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-07-28

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and for your past commitment to the company. We are continually striving for improvement as we value our associates and career mobility!

    • Helpful (3)

      "Mixed bag"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good pay, interesting work, the company believes in helping its members

      Cons

      BCBSMA has what I often heard referred to as a "polite culture." They believe in consensus, which is fine in theory, but in reality it translated to endless meetings. There'd be a meeting to discuss an upcoming meeting, the meeting and the post meeting re-cap. And after all this, or maybe because of all this, it took ages to accomplish anything. I also experienced a culture of micro-managing.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-07-26

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and your commitment to the company. We are continually striving to be the best for our associates and our members!

    • Helpful (4)

      "Poor Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Flexibility and work life balance

      Cons

      Poor Culture, bad management and no growth

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-07-23

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and your commitment to the company. Please consider reaching out to resources that are available for you as we are continually striving to be the best for our associates.

    Found 224 reviews