Cover image for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
Logo
See All Photos

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Engaged Employer

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Add a Review

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 440 of over 514 reviews
3.8
75% Recommend to a Friend
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts President and CEO Andrew Dreyfus
90% Approve of CEO

Found 439 of over 514 reviews

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts President and CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
268 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 15, 2022 - Social Media Manager in Quincy, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked with an amazing team with an extremely supportive director and SVP who were invested in their team's development. From the top down it was very clear that every individual in the company truly cared about its member's best interest. Pay was also competitive for the position.

    Cons

    Working through the pandemic speaking to COVID for 8 hours a day was draining. The subject matter isn't the most exciting for a marketer, but the work is meaningful and rewarding.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We are happy to hear your feedback on working here and are so glad you are enjoying your experience here at BCBSMA. We thank you sharing your experience and for Bringing your True Colors to Blue! If you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good company

    Nov 28, 2022 - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, supportive leadership and culture.

    Cons

    Think they invented healthcare but they are an insurance company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We are happy to hear your feedback on working here and are so glad you are enjoying your experience here at BCBSMA. We thank you sharing your experience and for Bringing your True Colors to Blue! If you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  3. Join the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    just ok

    Nov 25, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Quincy, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good pay starting out for people just entering the work force

    Cons

    hard work and can be very stressful

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We thank you for sharing your experience and would welcome an open dialogue with you to further understand your experience with us in order to improve. If interested in doing so or if you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Benefits, Wonderful Community

    Nov 6, 2022 - Member Services Representative in Quincy, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will not see many employers these days who offer benefits as great as BCBSMA. Not to mention the amazing people I’ve had the pleasure of working alongside- any position in healthcare is inevitably going to be high-stress, but the support and opportunity for growth makes everything worth it.

    Cons

    Nothing, really… can be stressful at times, but stress is present with any position.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We are happy to hear your feedback on working here and are so glad you are enjoying your experience here at BCBSMA. We thank you sharing your experience and for Bringing your True Colors to Blue! If you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    Nov 4, 2022 - Account Service Representative in Quincy, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company, great community service,

    Cons

    slow increases for pay but good job

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We are happy to hear your feedback on working here and are so glad you are enjoying your experience here at BCBSMA. We thank you sharing your experience and for Bringing your True Colors to Blue! If you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    BCBSMA

    Oct 29, 2022 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Member focused good work life balance

    Cons

    job security; potential for lay off at any time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We thank you for sharing your experience and would welcome an open dialogue with you to further understand your experience with us in order to improve. If interested in doing so or if you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Why I wouldn’t recommend joining IT division

    Nov 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing positive to share here

    Cons

    I’m writing this review after much personal deliberation . To be honest, I was just going to let it go and move on. However, I believe this is truly something that any future prospects consider joining the BCBSMA IT should be aware of. I have been a silent observer on how the CIO and the CTO are running the IT department and it is by far a prime example of how not to run a key division in an organization. There is clear lack of leadership skills and aptitude. The CIO joined and talked about transformation. She promoted a few people to Sr. Directors whom I personally think really don’t have the skill set to operate at that capacity. Later she let go of one of her direct VP reports and replaced a new person another VP. Whom she also let go recently and brought in a consultant. She also has let go of many new people that were hired by the VP she brought in. Lately, there has been org changes and realigned IT leaders who now to report to their peers. This really demonstrates now unqualified the IT executives leader is. Further, CIO demonstrated bias toward certain individuals. Example, the individuals she promoted are still employed while others who are far capable, experienced have been let go or realigned where they are now reporting to one of their peers. Lastly, as part of the new changes there were roles and titles created doesn’t make any sense nor is it industry standards. Keep in mind this is for a very small IT division having a CIO and CTO. Just a clown show. I do agree with some of the other reviews around portfolios spending , heavy outsourcing to vendor companies one of this has a close connection to the CTO. HR is extremely in effective. There is not checks and balances. They operate and do whatever it takes to keep the execs happy and not really driving shared accountability. As a former employee of the IT division. None of this makes sense. Peers reporting to peers, talking about transformation but all I see is no real work done, high turnover,no divisional goals set and lacks any real progress. It’s real smoke and mirrors situation. If you are considering joining, please reconsider. This place is not worth it. Good luck.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Inclusive

    Oct 7, 2022 - Phone Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture especially for women

    Cons

    Lower than average pay for job

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We thank you for sharing your experience and would welcome an open dialogue with you to further understand your experience with us in order to improve. If interested in doing so or if you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    3

    Oct 9, 2022 - Budget Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits. CEO cares about his people.

    Cons

    Promotions can be based on who you know, not what you know.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We thank you for sharing your experience and would welcome an open dialogue with you to further understand your experience with us in order to improve. If interested in doing so or if you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

  11. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Oct 10, 2022 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall good benefits and pay.

    Cons

    No major cons come to mind.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    We truly appreciate your candor! We thank you for sharing your experience and would welcome an open dialogue with you to further understand your experience with us in order to improve. If interested in doing so or if you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 439 Reviews
</>Embed

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews FAQs

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 514 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts to a friend and 71% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

75% of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts? Share Your Experiences

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts logo

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

or

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Careers

Cover image for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

We are a community-focused, tax-paying, not-for-profit health insurance company headquartered in Boston. We are committed to working with...More

  • Our Culture
  • Diversity
  • Community
  • Innovation
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

163 days ago

Community
For the third year in a row, we’ve been recognized as one of the top 50 community-minded companies by Points of Light. #TheCivic50 award recognizes our commitment to creating more equitable, just, and healthy communities. Learn more about our health justice work:
Shared image - BLUE CROSS BLUE SHIELD OF MASSACHUSETTS RECOGNIZED AS ONE OF THE 50 MOST COMMUNITY-MINDED COMPANIES IN THE UNITED STATES
BLUE CROSS BLUE SHIELD OF MASSACHUSETTS RECOGNIZED AS ONE OF THE 50 MOST COMMUNITY-MINDED COMPANIES IN THE UNITED STATES
newsroom.bluecrossma.com
See all

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Photos

+ Add Photo
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts photo of: Summer fun
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts photo of: Hingham office cafeteria - so much natural light!
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts photo of: Student visit
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts photo of: Summer BBQ games
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts photo of: Black History Month Event
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts photo of: New Hire Orientation
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts photo of: Welcome from our SVP of Citizenship
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Job Seekers Also Viewed

Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association Logo
Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association

3.6

689 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 514 Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts reviews submitted anonymously by Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts is right for you.