Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
136 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Members give poor reviews of BCBSMA so that’s a sign right there(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for so no one ever leaves(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Blue Cross Blue Shield is a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    1) Good Benefits 2) Provide a healthy work/life balance 3) Good people

    Cons

    BCBSMA culture is too political

    Advice to Management

    Leader should have the ability to make employee feel value at work and should not pick out certain team members as their favorites.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-05-02
  2. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Work from home.

    Cons

    Slow career growth. Hard to move around company.

    Advice to Management

    More training opportunities to get employee up to speed with technology.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-03-16

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    April 29, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! Please consider our many career mobility options to help expedite your career journey.

  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Job flexibility Work Life Balance Great Boss

    Cons

    Job training is poor Boss is sometimes absent too much Roles are not clearly defined

    Advice to Management

    Develop a streamlined approach for training on new employee as well as current employee for the various departments.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2019-01-07

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value you!

  4. "Department Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Modern offices with some amenities. Good work life balance and flexible work environment (depending on the team).

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to grow within the company. Very difficult to move between departments/teams. In order to advance your career and earn moere money, you may need to leave and eventually go back.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-11-08

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    January 28, 2019University Relations Specialist

    Thank you! We welcome your feedback and erspective.

  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benfits, life work balance

    Cons

    Premiums are still high for employees

    Advice to Management

    Give employees better insurance benefit

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-20
  6. "Great Company and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Treasury in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - Work from home option - Great commuter subsidies - Work/Life balance - Caring CEO - Discounts - Technology upgrades - Pension plan - Welcoming culture - Strong working mothers support - Beautiful Boston office - environmentally aware - encourages community service and outreach

    Cons

    Depending on the department, opportunities for advancement may be limited

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-02

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

    October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

    Thank you! We welcome and value feedback as we are striving to create a culture of internal mobility and career development.

  7. "Member Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Quincy, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The company understands the value of a work life balance. They provide excellent benefits along with a fantastic amount of paid time off. They offer many excellent internal classes and courses for career development.

      Cons

      Member service position has an 18 month commitment before able to apply to other internal positions.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-10-02

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 11, 2018University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback! We welcome and value your perspective.

    • Helpful (5)

      "It Depends on What You're Looking For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Quincy, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The Pay is okay and work life balance is okay, ability to work from home, decent benefits, commuter pass, daycare on site, tuition reimbursement.

      Cons

      Working a 40 hour work week but only getting paid for 37.5 and in order to get overtime you have to get paid for over 40 hours (Makes no sense right?) No gym, terrible lunch, Not minority friendly unless you want to be a Member Service Rep forever. The company continues to put diversity on their list of values, however diversity only exists at the lowest levels of employment here. If you are a customer service rep trying...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to the needs of your minorities. We are people too. We have to work 100x harder than the non minorities you overlook us for.

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2018-08-20
    • Helpful (4)

      "Poor Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Flexibility and work life balance

      Cons

      Poor Culture, bad management and no growth

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-07-23

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and your commitment to the company. Please consider reaching out to resources that are available for you as we are continually striving to be the best for our associates.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Strategy Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Work life balance, culture, commuter benefits

      Cons

      Great company to work for so no one ever leaves. No vacancies mean to opportunity to move up.

      Advice to Management

      Create opportunities for advancement

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts2017-06-27

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      October 27, 2017University Relations Specialist

      Thank you for your positive feedback. We welcome and value feedback from our associates as we are continually striving for improvement and career mobility!

    Found 223 reviews