Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Reviews

Updated May 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan President and CEO Daniel J. Loepp
Daniel J. Loepp
211 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance at least 2-3 days per week if possible(in 18 reviews)

  • "Top heavy management style with critical technology decisions pushed down, key technical leaders not listened to(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Consultant in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Peaks, job tasks, benefits, learning environment

    Cons

    Too leadership heavy, too many consultants

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2019-07-03
  2. "Benefits are great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Government Programs Claims Liaison 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great. People are nice. Plenty of work to do and room for advancement.

    Cons

    Work at home options are limited to non-union employees.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-05-02
  3. "Great Atmosphere"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cool atmosphere - downtown Detroit and great coworkers

    Cons

    The department I worked in was a mess. My team leader did everything she could to throw people under the bus.

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-03-04
  4. "Great culture. IT is dated, but on a good path forward"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Agile development environment Polite and helpful coworkers. Low key work environment. Nice office environment. There is a nice balance between cubicles and openness. Blue space option to allow working from home or in any blue space office. Nice cafeteria with healthy food. Free parking garage in Detroit. Polite and helpful security guards. Hires Michiganders and US citizens. Does not offshore IT work.

    Cons

    IT systems developed in the 1960s. Each attempt to modernized is stopped before completion and we go in another direction. Heavy reliance on consultant firms. Each executive has their own pet firm and the consultants firms each have their own opinions and directions so we do not have a unified plan and direction. That is frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-03-01
  5. "Healthcare payer with potential"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthcare industry; Good people culture; Location

    Cons

    Stodgy management; Technology laggard; Process obsolescence

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-03-14
  6. "BCBSM"

    4.0
    Former Employee - CSR2 

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great medical insurance, 401K, and HSA benefits

    Cons

    need more mentoring to promote the advancement

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-02-21
  7. "Great Pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people and great teamwork environment

    Cons

    Too much red tape and too many managers

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-03-04
  8. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst 

    I worked at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits, good opportunity for growth

    Cons

    high pressure, mix of union and non-union workers

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-02-16
  9. "Stable job but outdated technology and mundane work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable Job with many different positions Diverse company as a whole Great health insurance benefits (obviously) along with generous PTO

    Cons

    Managers seem to work excessive hours causing you to sometimes work more Below average pay for the market A lot of deadlines that were never met Boring work due to insurance field IT department is definitely not as diverse as the rest of the company Slow career growth trajectory

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-02-15
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, work-life balance, great people

    Cons

    Traditional management structure, stressful industry

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan2020-01-30
Found 507 reviews