Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association President and CEO Scott P. Serota
Scott P. Serota
153 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There were no cons, I had a positive experience(in 13 reviews)

  • "Management is terrible and do not follow vision of Senior Management(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time

    Pros

    A lot of work. WIll learn a lot on the job

    Cons

    There aren't any cons. Great position

    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2019-11-15
  2. "Awesome place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 

    I have been working at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time

    Pros

    The benefits and time aid are great

    Cons

    There are not many cons. Rapid work environment

    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-05-27
  3. "Fine"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advocate in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cafeteria, company events, free stuff

    Cons

    Less than desirable coworkers at times

    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-03-05
  4. "Gladly began my career here"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to begin one's career. I firmly believe the skills I built and the frequent exposure to very senior leadership created a great foundation for my career.

    Cons

    Can be fairly political. Who you know matters.

    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-02-19
  5. "Poor management"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Construction Detailer 

    I have been working at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time

    Pros

    VOlunteer opps are plenty to go around

    Cons

    No talking about protocols between members

    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-02-04
  6. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAII in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension! Alot of companies don't have that any longer. Its like being paid twice! Easy to advance, mostly good people.

    Cons

    Sitting for long periods of time detrimental to your health.

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-02-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a real business"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance was pretty easy to achieve Got to meet actual decision makers across other 36 BCBS Plans The Policy and Advocacy team is top notch and was very informative upon every interaction

    Cons

    Management team has been in place for ~20 years and is very outdated in their thinking Half of the company reviews are for Blue Cross Plans and not the Association. That about sums it up... you are invisible at best and highly disliked at worst The pay and benefits are severely below market rate in Chicago and D.C. Your basically a survey taker in that any research or point of view that you build doesn’t matter - you need to ask people in Kansas and Montana what they think is right Highly political in that you’d think everyone was running for office

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-03-03
  8. "Stagnant, Lacking in Leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nice people - Good work/life balance (if you set boundaries) - insurance is ok

    Cons

    - Lack of opportunity for advancement - High turnover - Low morale - Inept leadership - Behind the times

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-03-04
  9. "Interesting Environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coder in Columbia, SC

    I worked at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good entry-level pay Training opportunities A lot to learn

    Cons

    Very toxic work environment Unmotivated coworkers Poor work life balance

    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-02-11
  10. "Stable company with long history"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Senior Staff in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vast organization with national reach

    Cons

    It was difficult to advance

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association2020-01-25
Found 402 reviews