KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana

Is this your company?

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana

Add a Review

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Reviews

Updated May 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
95%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana President and CEO Steven Udvarhelyi
Steven Udvarhelyi
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance; great benefits; good pay; great people to work with(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great people, very good benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no room to grow, lack of vision for employee's career goals(in 6 reviews)

  • "Extremely toxic work environment for the past 2 years ago(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to W ork!

      May 20, 2021 - IT Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diversity & Inclusion program is amazing, lots of opportunity for growth and training. I am consistently challenged and work on the latest technologies. My pay is competitive and the bonus and incentives are excellent. My leader truly cares about me as a person and I'm given a high amount of freedom and flexibility which has contributed to my overall success and tenure in my role.

      Cons

      I can't really think of many cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      It's an ok place to work.

      May 17, 2021 - Auditor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the benefits are good.

      Cons

      Very little opportunity for advancement. Raises and bonuses have been done away with. The place is very much run like the state these days.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pros and cons are starting to weigh evenly

      May 22, 2021 - Senior Program Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good coworkers. Important work moving the company forward.

      Cons

      Continuous process changes impacting the time available to spend on the real work versus paperwork

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Improving the lives of Louisianians

      Apr 10, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      BCBSLA puts in alot of effort in providing healthier outcomes. Working there is like working with a big family. I love my team.

      Cons

      There are none, especially on the beautiful campus.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Response

      Digital Strategy Manager

      Thank you for your positive feedback and review. We appreciate you and all you do to serve the people of Louisiana. You are an important part of our team and contribute to our work culture that feels like family.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great environment depending which department you work in.

      May 5, 2021 - Bilingual Graphic Designer in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay little for health insurance, contribution toward 401k. Good benefits, great environment pre COVID.

      Cons

      Your opinion doesn’t always seem to count. Too many approvals to get through.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Response

      Digital Strategy Manager

      Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are glad to have you on the team, and value your opinion. Even though we are a large organization, we hope to serve our members and our employees as best as possible by responding in a safe and agile approach. We will share your insights with our team leaders, we are always looking for ways to improve.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 25, 2021 - Ancillary Portfolio Specialist in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diverse work force, technology, and leadership training.

      Cons

      Some technical deficiencies, some positions are so specialized that it's hard to move up in the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Response

      Digital Strategy Manager

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to have you on our team, and we want to create career development opportunities for you. Our HR team would be happy to sit with you to review options and ideas for growth in the company.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Diverse Company

      May 4, 2021 - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, opportunities, benefits. Clean and updated facilities and equipment.

      Cons

      High pressure and turnover. Limited training.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Response

      Digital Strategy Manager

      We are grateful to have your input here, and to have had your service for a time. We work to keep updating training and looking for ways to do better for all those we serve. Thank you for your feedback and for being part of our mission. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Great Great Place to Work

      Feb 24, 2021 - Associate Data Scientist in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of great disciplines, caring for employees, super friendly and productive work environment, awesome team work, great benefits, super talented and helpful team! Also perfect collaboration between divisions!

      Cons

      Nothing comes to my mind! Everything was perfect!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Response

      Digital Strategy Manager

      Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience. We always value and appreciate feedback. You were part of making our company better and improving the health and lives of Louisianians while you worked with us. We wish you all the best in your career!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great local company to work for

      Mar 5, 2021 - Senior Risk Analyst in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and work flexibility

      Cons

      Industry is heavily regulated and the company spends a lot of resources to comply with them.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Response

      Digital Strategy Manager

      Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience. We always value and appreciate employee input. You are part of making our company better and improving the health and lives of Louisianians.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Apr 21, 2021 - Claims Processor in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Fitness Center, Cafe, Security

      Cons

      No cons to mention by me

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Response

      Digital Strategy Manager

      Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback. We were glad to have you on our team and focused on our mission to improve lives. We wish you all the best in your career.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 201 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Job Seekers

    Account Advisor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Advisory Information Security Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner
    Learn About the Job
    Healthcare Informatics Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Organizational Effectiveness Consultant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana? Share Your Experiences

    or