KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Engaged Employer

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Add a Review

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 620 of over 698 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina President and CEO Dr. Tunde Sotunde
Dr. Tunde Sotunde
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance and exposure to new technologies(in 94 reviews)

  • "The work from home capabilities are also a plus(in 66 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management , needs to be re evaluated(in 13 reviews)

  • "In many areas, there is no work-life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Family oriented, flexible work options, great place to work

      Jan 25, 2021 - Business Analyst in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family oriented, with a work-life balance and flexibility with a focus on diversity, human rights (women, LGBTQ, BIPOC) and learning. Great environment for intellectually curious, self-learners.

      Cons

      You have to be comfortable with change. There is constant change, but that is in most IT and healthcare related corporate jobs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great company to work for!

      Jun 7, 2021 - Claims Professional in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They really care about their employees. There is always room for advancement.

      Cons

      There really isn't a downside to working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Used to be the best..not anymore

      Jul 24, 2021 - Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits, work from home, Used to be good company.not anymore

      Cons

      Constant changes from upper management, disconnect relationships with team leads, constant changes of policies and procedures from.upper management, you address and brought up the issues but no one listened and seems no one is addressing the issues they care more on cutting down expense than keeping good and experienced employees, the upper management advised of work balance but the front line staff actually works 10 to 12 hrs a day just to.meet the deadlines , upper mngt are out of touch and so unaware of their team leads bullying behavior (afraid of retaliation?)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Response

      Communications Specialist Associate

      I’m so sorry that this has been your experience. Our goal is to create a culture that thrives on flexibility and work-life balance. Please know that the company prohibits the treatment described and takes the concerns of bullying seriously as we work hard to provide an environment for our employees that is safe, professional and supportive of teamwork and trust. We'd like to hear more about your experience with management so we can work to make things better. Please contact socialmedia@bcbsnc.com and we can further discuss.

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Center of Excellence is actually the Center of Chaos

      Jul 29, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, work from home, work from home.

      Cons

      BCBS loves to reorganize every few years. I think the higher-ups get bored and think of ways to reorganize. This time, we have the beautifully named Center of Excellence which has turned into the most unorganized mess with incompetent managers. The only reason I am here on Glassdoor is to express how much I hate management and this company. Because BCBS does not have a platform where employees can review their managers, the only way to get the word out is Glassdoor. So, here ya go BCBS....your sales managers suck.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best employer !

      Jul 31, 2021 - Customer Service Advocate in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best company and group of individuals to work with.

      Cons

      No Pension plan. This benefit was removed about 10 years ago.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer service

      Jul 25, 2021 - Customer Service in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Locations efficiently placed. Creative and competitive environment. Good opportunity for some growth

      Cons

      Cooperative initiatives need to be clearly delivered to all. Sometimes feels that certain levels are left out on updates

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic benefits, awful coworkers and sometimes management

      Jul 18, 2021 - Business Analyst in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easiest jobs I've ever had work-wise. I felt like I was paid to do nothing half my career there. Even though I like to stay busy and came up with tons of new ideas when I was bored, I easily had like 3 months of absolutely nothing to do (and I constantly asked for stuff to do). If you want to be able to just sit around with minimal work, this would be a good fit. I had a lot of growth opportunities there and was allowed to wear multiple hats where I wanted to. Great benefits and bonuses. The pay wasn't too bad.

      Cons

      The people who work here will chew you up and spit you out, and love it. Ive been yelled at by senior BAs for the stupidest reasons (insecurities run rampant), Project Managers, healthcare product owners, you name it. I've been made fun of for being fat (literally have been called fat by people twice my size), I was heavily harassed by a joke of a person and our leader defended her every step of the way, even when I was pregnant and she was causing me major stress, and insecure old folks would heavily work to get rid of any young folk who intimidated them. Just seriously insecure people who made life stressful for no reason. Often times those folks did not contribute anything to the team. This kind of behavior is often shrugged off. Where I work now, it is specifically unacceptable to act the way they did (code of conduct), so this tells me that there is an acceptance of this behavior at Blue Cross NC. Management is truly a luck of the draw. I had excellent management in the last two years there, but Management before that within CGSO was a joke. They were manipulative and selfish, and a few outright bullied their teams. Some Management is blatantly nasty to everyone. It's really gross and unacceptable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Response

      Communications Specialist Associate

      I’m so sorry that this was your experience while working at Blue Cross NC. Please know that the company prohibits the treatment described and takes the concerns of bullying and harassment seriously as we work hard to provide an environment for our employees that is safe, professional and supportive of teamwork and trust. We'd like to hear more about your experience so we can work to make things better. Please contact socialmedia@bcbsnc.com and we can further discuss.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay job

      Jul 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job plenty of OT. Worked with good people.

      Cons

      Lots of changes with leadership. Lots of unqualified team leads and big on micromanaging

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      programmer

      Jul 17, 2021 - Software Engineer in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits but the pay was low compared to other companies

      Cons

      the pay was low compared to other companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good pay

      Jul 18, 2021 - Senior Developer in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good at Career development for programming

      Cons

      Once you reach senior level there’s no growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 620 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina? Share Your Experiences

    or