Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island President and CEO Kim Keck (no image)
Kim Keck
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Having to park at the mall can be a pain when the weather is bad(in 6 reviews)

  • "Too many Managers who have few direct reports(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "True Blue"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Community work (volunteer opportunities, community grants, event sponsorship and presence, etc); associates are friendly and helpful - welcoming and positive atmosphere; corporate values (respect, accountability, collaboration, integrity) hit home for me

    Cons

    Technology can be frustrating, at times

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2019-07-12
  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel like I am a part of a company that really cares about the community we serve. I personally have a great manager and reporting structure. I feel supported in the work I do and feel appreciated. There is a good work life balance and flexibility when needed.

    Cons

    inconsistency between departments/teams regarding management and processes

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2020-04-03
  3. "Great"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, pto, people, cafeteria

    Cons

    Nothing is bad so far

    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2020-03-06
  4. "Committed to having a work culture that is authentic and encourages employees to bring their whole selves to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island

    Pros

    Huge emphasis on community service, including at least 12 hours of volunteering in the community while on the clock in addition to a full day of community service with the whole organization. BCBSRI really cares about its members and recognizes that investing in employees helps us better serve our members.

    Cons

    Some policies like working remotely aren’t as consistent throughout departments as they couldn’t be. Some managers are more accommodating than others, but in my experience at least willing to explore flex working arrangements. It’s also a pretty fast paced environment.

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2020-02-13
  5. "New Employee interviewing and on-boarding experience"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HR communication was clear on the interview process, next steps and the timing for the entire process. All interview meetings were scheduled for a single one day interview. Laptop, accounts, desk and parking (started and completed during first day) were all set up and ready to go on the first day. Formal first day training was informative and a good introduction to the company. My direct manager was fully engaged, ready to cross train me on my first day and fully in alignment with the HR first day training. My team was welcoming and very helpful in bringing me up to speed on my role and the current work of the team.

    Cons

    I have none as of right now.

    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2020-01-27
  6. "Nothing but good things"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Analyst in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good opportunity for growth, and development. Over all a great work environment.

    Cons

    Paying for Parking.

    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2020-01-22
  7. "Great culture and work/life balance w/ positive changes currently evolving"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and compensation are great for the Providence, RI area. Culture is very accepting and community involvement surpasses expectations - BCBSRI truly values positive change in the organization as well as the 'small' community we're all a part of here in Rhode Island. I'm succeeding as a full-time employee as well as a full-time graduate student, indicating the work/life balance is more than acceptable.

    Cons

    Technology is slightly behind the national trends, but positive changes are in process.

    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2019-10-10
  8. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is very friendly. It's a small enough company where you feel you can really get to know almost everyone! The organization truly cares about our members and really want to help the state of Rhode Island.

    Cons

    Having to park at the mall can be a pain when the weather is bad.

    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2019-10-03
  9. "Like the mafia!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO, Volunteer days, M-F, free onsite gym

    Cons

    Management is clueless and doesn't value employees, to be in you have to act like a high schooler and be into the cliques, people are miserable and toxic, there is NO training, tools or resources to assist you in doing your job, this company is greedy all they care about is money and have no desire to be transparent in their dealings. Don't question or speak up or you will get fired. Having intelligence and ambition is a threat to 99% of the people who work here.

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2019-11-06
  10. "Would not recommend!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Management 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island full-time

    Pros

    M-F no weekends, good amount of time off, remote work is a plus.

    Cons

    Too much work for the number of employees. They really don't care about their employees. Select few good managers. They tout an open door policy, but it isn't. They train for associates to speak up, do the right thing and report , but they really don't want to hear a word. Favoritism, revolving door of employees , work stress and expensive health plan especially for being a major provider of such!

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island2019-09-13
Found 101 reviews