Blue Origin "blue origin" Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Origin Employee Reviews about "blue origin"

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Blue Origin CEO Jeff Bezos (no image)
Jeff Bezos
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "You must love rockets and challenges though(in 20 reviews)

  • "I couldn't be happier with the 2 years I have spent at Blue Origin(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Blue Origin seems to have lost its roots of building world class vehicles(in 10 reviews)

  • "The Kent facility is far past capacity(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "blue origin"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (22)

    "Are you people serious? Blue frickin rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Origin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    To start, a friend tipped me off to Glassdoor as I'd never heard of it. I've worked at Blue for five years and just laugh at some of these recent reviews. I really have to wonder if some of these reviews are even credible or from the many talented and amazing people I know at Blue. Some of the comments below are just flat false. I also love the comments about "let's not be Big Aero". Last time I checked Big... Aero does a lot of things very well...for example they build things that fly All. The. Time. They know how to manufacture with the highest quality and have supply chain capabilities at rock. Or maybe let's look at the airlines...like delta. They are somehow able to keep thousands of planes in the sky everyday. They are reliable, available, and low cost. How about let's keep Blue as nimble as possible? We have only one shareholder, a couple thousand people, no board of directors, very few regulations, etc. I've worked for the large aero companies and Blue is not that and highly likely never will be. But Blue also has to get better at some things and more mature aerospace companies are worth looking to, so we don't have to make the same mistakes they have. Let's just use a little math here. Blue currently has around 2400+ employees. I will extrapolate that there have also been 600 that have worked at Blue over its time and moved on, so out of the 3000 people familiar with Blue and with about 90 reviews posted on GD (and less than half of them being unfavorable), that's about 1% of people that have posted something negative. Off my soapbox now and on to the positives: 1) We have a super inspirational founder and all the financial funding and resources we need to achieve our mission 2) We have a vision and mission that is hard for 99% of other companies to even come close to 3) We have super smart people, that are a bunch of space geeks, are super passionate that we get to work with and learn from 4) There are nice and comfortable office spaces 5) We have the best tools and equipment in the world 6) We are building the New Glenn rocket. If you don't know what that is, go look it up 7) We are building Blue Moon and going to the moon, which is a necessary step to begin building more space infrastructure. Again insanely cool. 8) We are working rapidly toward flying humans on New Shepard. Freakin awesome. 9) We are developing the most amazing propulsion variants and liquid engines 10) We finally have engineering AND business leaders in place in our senior ranks. We have a CEO that gets engineering and can make quick and high quality business decisions. Sweet! 11) We have some of the most clean and well organized manufacturing facilities I've ever seen in my 30 years working in the industry. I could go on. Ok, so maybe I will, did I mention we have a state of the art engine manufacturing plant being built in Alabama? Oh yeah and a killer space ship looking/hanger looking new HQ building in Kent that's almost complete. Oh and that all most everyone at Blue wears Blue Origin branded t-shirts, sweat shirts, hats to work everyday because they are PROUD to be part of something so special? Oh yeah, and Blue provides free snacks, fruit, and beverages, dogs are allowed in some of buildings, and we have workout facilities.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't think these are cons really, but they are real things that may lead people to conclude Blue is not the place for them. Change - Blue is right in the middle of transforming from a science experiment mentality and heavy R&D company where we prototyped many things for years, to an actual business. Blue's kept its stellar engineering talent and technical ambition, but it also now has customers (thank... goodness) and needs to become quickly highly capable of running launch operations, and higher rate production. I've always experienced that if a company is not always changing, its certainly not growing and in fact is failing or dying a slow death. I do know some of my friends are struggling with all the change. It is a little crazy - I guess I expect that a company trying to get millions of people to live and work in space will be some kind of crazy but that's just me. With growth and change comes more work than we can get done and that's not a bad problem to have. It does mean that there is more stress than if you want to go work at Costco, Starbucks, Boeing, etc. Growing pains - Desks have recently been reduced from six feet long to a still lengthy five feet to make space for more people. I will share that the five footer standing desk still fits my four monitors. Parking in Kent continues to be a challenge, but should be fine in a few months when our new building is done. More policies are being implemented (but with many buildings and sites now, it's probably a good thing to bring some consistency, repeatability, and predictability to our work).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Slow down to speed up. Listen more, talk less. Talk more about our past and current successes. Continue to help ensure we keep our great culture. Don't make small changes to things that make Blue great in order to save a buck as we scale. We are all highly motivated and want to keep Blue unique and peculiar.

    Blue Origin2019-08-17
  2. Helpful (14)

    "Have to good times passed?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Engineer in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Origin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there is still some really great people at blue origin.

    Cons

    The culture of builders is gone. We are not a culture of hashtags and cult like leadership principles. Blue Origin seems to have lost its roots of building world class vehicles. The vehicles are being built slower with every iteration, but management claims its for QA. The support channels for production are moving slower than ever, with signs of slowing even more.

    Advice to Management

    Do we really need as many managers as there is? We could really cut some fat out of the company and start making decisions faster. maybe let decisions be made from the bottom up not the top down (disagree and commit can work both ways). Bob Smith is the CEO, not Jeff. I believe most everyone came committed to Jeff's dream and vision, but were disappointed by Bob's building of the company.

    Blue Origin2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (34)

    "Good in many ways, but it depends what you're looking for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Origin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - There are many incredibly smart, talented, and passionate people here. I've been told by many that these are the best, brightest, and most passionate people in the industry and I do not doubt it at all. - If you are the self-motivated type, you will have an environment where you can learn nearly endlessly - You will have access to experts in a huge variety of fields who can help you develop your skills and are... generally willing to do so - There are countless opportunities to make an impact on a large project, and a wide variety of challenges for an aero company - The mission is very exciting and Bezos is a very inspiring leader - The company brings in interesting speakers periodically which can be great for morale - You probably won't have problems getting the engineering resources you need to do your job - If you want to push yourself, it's not unusual to work long hours - but there is not a culture where you are expected or forced to do so. In general, people trust you to get your work done in your own way, and it's ok to flex time to some extent. - Employment here seems to be fairly stable, you shouldn't have to worry about layoffs if you're decent at your job - Nice little perks like a gym, snacks and a bike share program - The main building is a beautiful and inspiring space - The investment in and aspirations for both New Glenn and New Shepard, as well as Engines and many tangential projects, are incredibly exciting

    Show More

    Cons

    - The area of Kent is not particularly nice, but you shouldn't expect that from any aerospace company, I suppose. - The company is shifting towards trying to be a big aerospace company. There are a lot of companies that try very hard to avoid that sort of association - for some reason Blue is choosing to move toward it faster. It's not all bad. In some ways, it has made the company seem more legitimate and... structured, but it seems to be less the agile, research-oriented hip place that Blue used to sell itself as, and it has upset many of the people who came to avoid that culture (many from actual big aerospace companies). - The culture is missing the spark that it should have for being such an exciting mission. I wouldn't call this a good place to work for young people who are looking to commit themselves to a mission, but it may be a comfortable environment if you're just looking for a place to do your work and develop your skills. To be direct, it won't be as exciting as SpaceX but you'll have time to go hiking after work on a Tuesday. - If you like fast-paced, exciting environments, this may not be for you. The work/life balance and job stability means sometimes things can move very slowly, and people are okay with it. If you want a faster pace, make sure you get into a program that is hardware rich (New Shepard, Engines). - The rapid growth has been the main difficulty of the company recently. Whether this trend will continue is unclear, but the rest of the points are because of this. - Blue can be a difficult place for young engineers to seek guidance or find direction in their careers. The culture before the new CEO was "keep management super lean, and let's all be engineers". Of course, that didn't scale, so a bunch of management layers were added that promoted a bunch of senior engineers who don't believe management is necessary to be the managers of all these new employees. If you want to explore options in your career, you may have to do the exploring yourself, but it is possible. - Currently, nearly half of the company is located in leased office space in a corporate office park. Think "Monthly Dilbert comics in the elevator", "irish flute music in the bathrooms", "I think I saw this carpet in a hospital", "why are the walls at blue origin green?", and "could these fluorescent lights be any brighter?". It's completely comfortable and many people don't mind but it is completely antithetical to the environment you maybe came here to be in. To be fair, the main building is incredible - very nicely designed and covered in interesting artwork and space memorabilia - most of which is incredibly impressive and rare. And, the company is planning a new building, but the pre-fab construction technique has raised some eyebrows. There has been very little effort made to make an exciting environment in the "temporary" office park, and I spent nearly two years in it with no indication of plans to move my group elsewhere. It would not seem that the company has high standards for having an exciting work space, if that's important to you. Overall this is my main complaint, but it's mostly because this is very important to me and I was hired with the assumption that I would be working in the main building, but showed up on my first day to find my desk was a shuttle ride away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to retain a little bit of the fast-and-scrappy culture as you scale. People like it - many are upset that it's fading. You have huge things working in your favor to make this an exciting place to work. Try to invest in the little things that get people excited. They really, really add up. And finally, attract and invest in young engineers. They will make your workplace more vibrant and they care way more than... you think.

    Show More
    Blue Origin2019-04-05
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Exciting mission, but the promises do not match reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Blue Origin full-time

    Pros

    Smart people. Exciting mission. Cool facilities. Not everyday you get to see rockets at your work place. People are generally pleasant.

    Cons

    I was promised to be allowed to build up a new team with myself at the center - "we look to build a team around you." Only a few months in, my manager decided to hire someone else to become team manager, leaving my role uncertain. Although I respect this decision and understand that needs can change, this was completely different than what was promised, and not the reason I joined the company. I felt that my time at... Blue Origin was the hardest that I've worked anywhere, because I believed in the mission and liked the company image. Our team made tremendous progress, and the company reached a significant milestone. Unfortunately, I don't think they've treated me fairly. So, be aware of this type of culture when deciding to join the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly and they will help your team prosper.

    Blue Origin2019-05-08
  5. Helpful (17)

    "Don't start your career here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Origin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Bold vision -Employees are friendly, but no different from other workplaces I've experienced -You get to work on rockets

    Cons

    -Scaling way too quickly -Increasingly “Kool-Aid” Culture -Employees treated like pawns Blue Origin is my first engineering job out of school. If I were to assess the composition of the company, I’d say most senior employees and upper-level managers are ex-aerospace from other companies (Rockedyne, Boeing, ULA, etc.). Blue Origin offers an opportunity for these people to “do it right” by developing products at... a new company without process pitfalls and overhead that characterize old aerospace. Arrogance abounds, as most of these individuals have very strong opinions of how the company should be run (perhaps justified). Consequently, it seems like most decisions have a battle for control or hidden agenda implicitly attached. I’ve struggled to find individuals at the company I consider to be honorable leaders, and a lot of them seem to be leaving. As a new employee, you get assigned to a project, and usually there’s a person on the team that Blue wants you to “emulate.” That person assigns you work. This is typical of how industry functions, and if you pair well with the team then there’s nothing wrong with the system. The problem is Blue is scaling so quickly that they pay little to no respect to career history and ambitions of employees. Unless you see and know exactly who you want to be at the company, you can end up in a corner where your job is to take the work off the plate of more senior employees without clear definition of how this helps you get where you want to go (because what you want doesn’t matter). Since the company is scaling so quickly, it’s really tough to find people without an agenda to seek out for career development advice. I’ve had 2 (perhaps going on 3) functional managers in the last year just from company restructuring, not job-performance related. For first time students out of school, I think you are be better off starting at a company like Aerojet, Boeing, ULA, or Lockheed. These companies may be “old aerospace” but they will give you a clear impression of what a functioning aerospace company looks like. Moreover, they have well-established and vetted career development and training programs to help you figure out what you actually want to do and how to get there. The one exception to this I can think of is if you're dead set on working on liquid rocket engines; if that is the case then Blue or SpaceX may be the right place. Blue will likely be here down the road and will still need people if you decide to jump ship from another company someday. Perhaps I’m naive, but friends who work at other aerospace companies in the Seattle area seem more satisfied with their careers right now, even though my job at Blue may “sound cooler”.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People tend to emulate their leaders. When company leaders demonstrate controlling and demoralizing behavior (I've seen a lot of this in the last 6 months), it really hurts the company as a whole. I'm deeply disheartened by it (hence this review) but I don't think the situation at Blue will improve until senior management is replaced. Remember how to respect your employees; this used to be a defining feature of... Blue's culture. (CEO performance review is for Bob Smith, not Jeff)

    Show More
    Blue Origin2019-02-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Origin full-time

    Pros

    It has Nice working environment

    Cons

    No cons in blue origin

    Blue Origin2019-02-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I have EVER worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Origin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I couldn't be happier with the 2 years I have spent at Blue Origin. The mission is exciting, the people are passionate, and the work is motivating.

    Cons

    I have a hard time with this... the only thing I can think of is the parking

    Advice to Management

    Keep celebrating our wins! This will keep everyone engaged, motivated and invested.

    Blue Origin2018-06-13
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Engine group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Engineer in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Origin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing hardware you will learn a lot. Endless money supply. Even though most abuse this privilege. Free snacks and drinks for now.

    Cons

    Management is terrible. The coworkers that don't have much skill in there occupation are toxic. This leads to them talking bad about everyone else in the department and spreading untrue facts about individuals at the company. Management believes what ever they tell them. Rather than search for the truth and form there own opinion. Even if it is known a specific employee doesn't work, toxic, or just flat out can't do... there job the company will never fire you. You will get fired from Mcdonalds for messing a burger up before blue ever fires you. I guess that's a plus if you don't have any skill and can sell your self enough to get a job. The company is going down hill faster than any other I have ever seen. Do yourself a favor and don't come to blue origin if you have true skill in your field. The grass is not greener over here. I wish there was someone that could help but upper management turns a blind eye and let's things continue as is. We will never be able to be a production company at this rate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put people in charge that understand the area they manage. Blue hired the best but the best are leaving because of unfair treatment. If they haven't left they are looking for a new job.

    Blue Origin2017-07-01
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Machine Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machinist in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Origin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Pay is above what area is paying. 4 weeks paid vacation. Free food on Tuesday's. I made more money than ever doing less work than ever.

    Cons

    If you are a real machinist and like to work for a living stay away from Blue Origin. They are hiring machinist but all they really need is machine operators. This job was so boring. Most of the time you are sitting around waiting. If you have good ideas and would like to feel your opinions are appreciated this is not for you. Machine shop management is really taking Jeff Bazos for a ride. They work at least 45... hours a week even if there is nothing to do. They had machinist mopping floors while on overtime. If you don't want to work hard and spend Jeff’s money than this is the place for you. I'm only talking about the machine shop not the entire company. I can best describe the machine shop management as people trying to play machine shop. Five weeks had gone by from the day I started before the shop supervisor even said one word to me. I never really felt welcomed. If you are a real machinist you will be bored. Button pushers welcome to the Blue Origin Machine Shop Cult. The last time someone tried to tell the truth, management instantly made them tow the line. Shut up and do what we say. Even if it's wrong.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ask upper management for help before you drive all good machinist out the door.

    Blue Origin2016-12-04
  10. Helpful (12)

    "A fantastic opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structures Engineer in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Origin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Blue Origin is a unique aerospace company with stable funding and a distinct lack of bureaucracy. It is still small enough that everyone's efforts have a direct impact on the vehicles we build and fly. It's a great place to be an engineer. There is a high concentration of talented people, and the culture is friendly.

    Cons

    We're still developing our business processes and systems. There is schedule pressure and a heavy workload to meet the challenges set by our owner and senior management. But, better that than boredom!

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing for dedicating people 100% to one program instead of having multiple assignments. Come up with a good process for handing off support of operational systems when our designers are asked to start a new program.

    Blue Origin2016-01-24
Found 17 reviews