Blue Shield Of California Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Shield Of California Manager Reviews

Updated March 12, 2017
91 reviews

Filter

Filter

Manager

2.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Blue Shield Of California President & CEO Paul Markovich
Paul Markovich
41 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Company values work-life balance (in 62 reviews)

  • probationary period we can work from home 2 days out of the week (in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • Work/Life balance requires improvement (in 34 reviews)

  • Upper management struggles with making solid decisions (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (11)

    "Used to be great"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good pay. Offices in major areas. Telecommuting.

    Cons

    Leadership has lost focus on what's important. There is an "us" and "them" and if you're part of some special group, you're an "us"..

    Advice to Management

    Move off the social programs and get back to business

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re sorry that you feel we put too much importance on social programs. We are very proud of our Foundation and its goal to "Improve the lives of all Californians ... More


  2. Helpful (5)

    "Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, remote/telecommuting opportunity when it makes semse

    Cons

    Middle management tier (Manager to Senior Director) weak across the company. Promotions into those position appear to be based nearly solely on loyalty vs. competence

    Micro-management is rampant, so many time wasters and box checkers for no meaningful ROI

    Fear-based culture, employees are not empowered, not valued, not trusted

    Advice to Management

    Grow up.


  3. Helpful (4)

    "Blue Shield of California"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead IT Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Lead IT Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Shield Of California (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    BSC provides good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Senior management team needs improvement.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, Great Salary, Great Mission

    Cons

    No support for middle management, very employee focused to the point management is not able to effectively manage. feels like a union environment

    Advice to Management

    be balanced in support of line staff and management. Hear and be responsive to what your managers are saying as the great place to work survey

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We agree that our mission is great! We are investing in our leaders and encourage you to visit @Shield for more information on Manage to Excellence (M2X) and Lead to ... More


  6. "It is like a good workout, hard work but VERY rewarding."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Mission driven company that has strong leaders who believe we can and will find a way to make healthcare affordable for all Californians.
    Good salary.
    Tons of recognition.
    Amazing employees.
    Visionary Directors, VP's and CEO who are 100% committed.

    Cons

    Benefits ars a bit pricey.
    Some old stagnant leaders who are set in their ways.

    Advice to Management

    We are moving in the right direction. Keep up the vision and mission movement.

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Dec 29, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your review. We agree with you that we have visionary leaders who are 100% committed! Kathy Mason Strategic Recruiting Program Manager


  7. Helpful (21)

    "Our company is headed into dark waters"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company is a great place to grow your career if you are ambitious and goal oriented. The remote work benefit here is progressive and the company treats their employees with trust and like adults, and they can retain some good employees.

    Cons

    There is so much noise and chatter around lay-offs and reorgs. We are losing a tremendous amount of business, we are losing money in the market segments where we are gaining business and the entire company is off balance. The relatively newly appointed CEO seems to be floundering and making rash decisions without proper legal authority and I see many potential lawsuits and fines in our future. We are losing our best human capital at a rate faster than we can train new talent.

    The culture is highly toxic and I often feel like I will be let go. I'm going on almost 6 years of faithful employment with multiple promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on your employees. Focus more on strategy for keeping money in the company, bulk up your legal department to reduce fraud. Check in with individual contributors doing the work to see if your management layers are being truthful. Executive leaders need to quit acting like movies stars and start acting like management of a company in crisis. Roadshows? Really? How about regular operational check-ins monthly. More beefed up GPTW(great place to work) accountability for poor scores.

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We’re happy to hear that you like how you’re treated as an employee and that we’re progressive in our views of remote work. We’re lucky that ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Product Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Canyon Country, CA
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Canyon Country, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    good benefits and pay

    Cons

    work-life balance and constant reorganizations

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re happy that you feel the benefits and pay are good. Kathy Mason Strategic Recruiting Program Manager


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Mediocre Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Communications Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Shield Of California full-time

    Pros

    Family-friendly work hours - strictly 9-5 and very little travel required. On-site gym and cafeteria. Offers pension and 4+ weeks vacation.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy. Health insurer makes employees pay for their own health insurance (!). Lots of people on retirement track - not a "cool" or motivating place to work. Some shady practices with regard to billions in reserves, yet stingy in terms of coverage and rescissions.

    Advice to Management

    You're a health insurance company - at least give your employees your product and services for free! Have a heart with your employees and individuals you cover.

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on offering employees a good work-life balance and we’re glad you enjoyed that. We’ve been named as one of the World’s Most Ethical Companies and ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Blue shield is a mission driven company and really strives to make healthcare more affordable."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Program Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The leaders of the company are competent and the company gives back to the community. They have excellent benefits, good pay and have made great strides in diversity work.

    Cons

    Would like the office to be more centrally located rather than el dorado hills, although the office is out of the way of traffic.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employee feedback.

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Aug 18, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your great feedback. We’re glad to see that you are satisfied with your compensation and benefits, as well as the strides we’ve made toward creating a diverse and inclusive workforce ... More


  11. "Sr. IT Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Contractor - IT Senior Project Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Current Contractor - IT Senior Project Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fair compensation for contractors.
    Good corporate environment.

    Cons

    Strange limitations for contractor positions in using resources.
    IT business processes look out of order.