Blue Shield Of California Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Shield Of California Reviews

Updated February 21, 2017
58 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Blue Shield Of California President & CEO Paul Markovich
Paul Markovich
32 Ratings

58 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Company values work-life balance (in 62 reviews)

  • probationary period we can work from home 2 days out of the week (in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • Work/Life balance requires improvement (in 34 reviews)

  • Upper management struggles with making solid decisions (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Customer Experience Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Shield Of California as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great experience for summer internship. Had multiple opportunities to travel to San Francisco for intern activities. CEO had a short sit-down meeting with the interns.

    Cons

    Didn't seem like there was much of a pipeline to full-time employment through the internship program.


  2. "Foundation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Shield Of California (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great, hard-working people and important work

    Cons

    Lean staff which means a lot of work on your plate

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and we agree - we have great, hard-working people! Kathy Mason Strategic Recruiting Program Manager


  3. "Clinical Support Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Support Coordinator in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Current Employee - Clinical Support Coordinator in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    My Supervisor & Team mates are Awesome to work with. & we don't work sat

    Cons

    No Flextime , No over time , No make up Time

    Advice to Management

    Management Is Awesome

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your review. We’re glad that you work with a great team and we’re proud of our people leaders! Kathy Mason Strategic Recruiting Program Manager


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Issue Resolution Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Issue Resolution Specialist in Redding, CA
    Current Employee - Issue Resolution Specialist in Redding, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The leadership is amazing, the support you receive from not only your coworkers but from your leadership is astounding. This truly is a Great Place to Work. In my department they keep spirits high and morale up.

    Cons

    Some departments do not have the same support system and the employee morale is very low. If those things could be worked on then it would be better.

    Advice to Management

    For the IFP department ..... Keep up the great work. A manager is what makes or breaks an employee.....and you are definitely making a great team.

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Nov 21, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your great review. It’s nice to hear that the support you receive from leadership and your co-workers is astounding! We’ll pass your feedback to our IFP department! Kathy Mason ... More


  6. "A great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Issue Resolution Senior Representative in Redding, CA
    Current Employee - Issue Resolution Senior Representative in Redding, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've never worked for a company that had such great support. It's like working with your family. The leadership is amazing and does everything they can to uplift and help you grow.

    Cons

    The location is a hindered. Being located in northern California keeps the salary to a minimum. Unfortunately

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work


  7. "Customer care services"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lodi, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lodi, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and helpful and it is somewhere i can see myself retiring. Their training is outstanding and I feel no one gets left behind

    Cons

    I don't really see any downfalls yet. When being trained I feel like I don't have to be on everyone's speed if I need help I just ask. Downfall would be the commute

    Advice to Management

    When training for the job I would perform to know only the stuff related to the information that pertains to my job description sometimes you get lost in all the information at once

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for your great review. We love that you work with a friendly team and that your training has been outstanding. Your feedback on training is really good and we’d love to get more ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Blue shield is a mission driven company and really strives to make healthcare more affordable."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Program Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The leaders of the company are competent and the company gives back to the community. They have excellent benefits, good pay and have made great strides in diversity work.

    Cons

    Would like the office to be more centrally located rather than el dorado hills, although the office is out of the way of traffic.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employee feedback.

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Aug 18, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your great feedback. We’re glad to see that you are satisfied with your compensation and benefits, as well as the strides we’ve made toward creating a diverse and inclusive workforce ... More


  9. "August 2016"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    * Work Environment is highly motivating
    * In our dept. after passing our 3 mo. probationary period we can work from home 2 days out of the week
    * Dept and Company tries very hard to be transparent in their decisions

    Cons

    * Large Company so it is hard to get a feel for everyone in the Company

    Advice to Management

    *Keep your employees informed via various methods (Intranet, Town Hall

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Aug 18, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thanks for your review. It’s great to hear your work environment is highly motivating and that you appreciate the transparency of our leadership team. We understand how hard it can be to get to know ... More


  10. "Java Developer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Java Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Java Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California (More than a year)

    Pros

    It is very good experience to work with blue shield working staff.

    Cons

    There are nothing bad thing with blueshield

    Blue Shield Of California Response

    Aug 9, 2016 – Strategic Recruiting Program Manager

    Thank you for such a great review. We love that working with us has been such a good experience for you! Kathy Mason Strategic Recruiting Program Manager


  11. "Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Shield Of California full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Executives' and employees' unwavering commitment to the mission of providing high quality affordable healthcare to all Californians. Focus on diversity & inclusion (a Top Regional Company for Diversity in 2016 by DiversityInc!). Willingness to challenge status quo and innovate in a traditionally risk-averse industry. Genuine appreciation for work well done.

    Cons

    Incredible amount of change and transformation puts stress on both the infrastructure and employees; resilience is necessary to thrive here! Some ongoing confusion about short versus long-term priorities. Anxiety about delivering on very ambitious goals.

    Advice to Management

    Increase in-person communications with front-line staff. Take time to explain decisions and to understand the impact of them at every level. Encourage even more learning - especially when things don't go as well as hoped for.


Showing 58 of 606 reviews
Reset Filters