KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Blue Spurs

Is this your company?

Blue Spurs

Add a Review

Blue Spurs Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 20 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Blue Spurs CEO Mike LeBlanc (no image)
Mike LeBlanc
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Amazing people with a breadth of knowledge across a wide gamut of tech(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    good company

    Oct 16, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great company that I like

    Cons

    no issues at all so far

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    N/p

    Jan 25, 2021 - Technical Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free snacks, new technology work

    Cons

    Good, food long hours, no balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice place to work

    Oct 7, 2020 - Software Developer in Fredericton, NB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You'll get the chance to get your hands on bleeding edge technology. You won't get bored of your work, since it's project based, so after finishing a project you start with a new one. Free snacks, free coffee (super neat coffee machine), free lunch on Fridays. Social events once a month.

    Cons

    Some members of the management team have improvement opportunities in terms of treating employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Modern dev shop

    Nov 5, 2019 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting projects, some freedom in technology stack, modern frameworks.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't competitive with other local businesses.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Growing Pains, but A bright spot in a dim economy.

    Nov 5, 2018 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Amazing people with a breadth of knowledge across a wide gamut of tech * Competitive Wages (for the region) * Some of the best Health benefits around * Remote work * Social events * Rewarding work * On the leading edge with projects and ideas.

    Cons

    * Variable direction - company is evolving and looking into new challenges, makes it hard to see where the focus is. * Bit of a fascination with the newest and greatest. Not so much on the breadwinner work. * Difficulties in resourcing. - understaffed in key areas makes working on projects effectively difficult in some cases. * Limited time to learn new things on company time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Will be selling out soon

    Nov 20, 2018 - Programmer in Fredericton, NB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free snacks Some good people

    Cons

    Pay No respect Disorganized management and hr

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    It was suggested I write this

    Oct 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part of the job is when I get to go home. Sometimes interesting work. Recent raise.

    Cons

    Waking up and having to come in. Suggesting I lie to customers (never a good idea). Aggressive and untrustworthy management (my opinion....and others).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A great company with great potential

    Aug 2, 2018 - Director - Managed Services in Fredericton, NB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic people! Lots of opportunity in the AWS and IoT space. A young and energetic company attracting young and energetic employees to work on young and new tech.

    Cons

    A few growing pains but that’s normal. Takes too long to make decisions at times.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Blue Spurs Response

    CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! We definitely do have fantastic people working with us, and you are definitely missed. Your comments about speaking up and listening are very important. This is something that employees, management and executives should all be taking to heart. I know that we at Blue Spurs have excellent perspectives, and we need to take advantage of everyone’s knowledge and experience. As such, we are developing an open digital space where we can share ideas and expertise, and better capture ways to continuously improve how we do business. Thanks again, Mike

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Meh, it's ok but time to move on

    Jul 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Routine hours. Steady work. Some nice people.

    Cons

    Pay, vacation, indecisive and out of touch management. Borderline abusive at times at the exec level

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Spurs Response

    CEO

    Hi, Thanks for your comments. Interesting that pay and vacation came up. We certainly try to make sure we are competitive and continue to adjust proactively as market conditions change. We also strive for an excellent work life balance and provide many perks and freedoms as you would know (like flexible work hours, work from home provisions) Also thanks for your advice for me. As you would know, feedback is key in our company culture and I would encourage you to discuss with me any time. I don’t bite. I take this feedback seriously and If I’m missing something then I definitely would like to address. Thanks, Mike

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Crack that Whip!

    Jul 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I get to pack up and go home. Salary OK Free snacks AWS is cool

    Cons

    Little recognition and comp for extra time No formal training offered Company direction a mystery and ever changing "A" players are bailing, and with increasing frequency

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blue Spurs Response

    CEO

    Hi, One thing that is constant in this industry is change. People leave and new people come join. While I hate to lose good people, it gives me an opportunity to adjust and makes sure the right people are in the right roles. You should stop by and discuss your concerns (if you still have them). I’ve been through this sort of thing early in my career and would love to hear your perspective and share mine from a career development standpoint. Also thanks for sharing your concerns with recognition, training, and company direction. I do take those seriously and I hope you have seen improvements. We are in a dynamic market and while that presents a challenge, I do realize we need strive for continuous improvement internally. Thanks, Mike

Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with Blue Spurs Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Blue Spurs? Share Your Experiences

or