KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

BlueCart

Is this your company?

BlueCart

Add a Review

BlueCart Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 47 reviews

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
BlueCart CEO Konstantin Zvereff  (no image)
Konstantin Zvereff
26 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Chaotic place to work

    May 4, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some interesting people. Compelling long term ideas .

    Cons

    Poor management and mediocre product.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Rewarding and motivating place of employment

    Sep 15, 2020 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get out exactly what you put in, so if you want a fun challenge full of reward BlueCart is the place to be. Pivoting during global pandemic is challenging, stressful, and downright scary, and BlueCart exceed my expectations by listening to the teams ideas, working together to build a new product, and encouraged the different teams rally together to support each other. BlueCart is full of kind, humble, hardworking individuals, the kind of people you would choose to surround yourself with, and that makes logging in to work a piece of cake!

    Cons

    Given that we're a small, very driven team, sometimes it's hard to just close the computer at the end of the day when there's always more work to do, and working remotely makes it challenging to connect with collegues as often as you'd like

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company with a great culture!

    Apr 16, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    BlueCart represents it brand from the moment you interview to the day you are hired. The interview process has been one of favorite experiences for how unusual (in the best way) it was. It strayed away from the typical questions you normally hear and asked really thought provoking questions pertaining more to characteristics. They really invest in developing and nurturing their employees from the ground up. You receive a ton of 1on1 development trainings, not only from your manager, but even the CEO will jump in to help. Communication is very transparent from all levels, CEO down to your manager. One thing the BlueCart has does exceptionally well is creating an amazing culture based on their motto: Grit. While hard skills are important, soft/ personable skills are equally as important. They really want you to succeed here and it shows. Did I mention the unlimited PTO as well!

    Cons

    The role in itself was stressful, but rewarding. Employees scattered throughout the U.S. ( D.C -Main office, Chicago, Florida, Texas and California) makes communication tough sometimes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Leaderships need to be changed.

    Feb 24, 2020 - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO. Flexible hours. Great office locations.

    Cons

    The biggest downside of this company is the management itself, or what they would like to call “leadership.” While most of them brag constantly about their years of experience in the field, in reality, they are simply overconfident with their knowledge and never bothers to improve themselves. They tend to make very questionable statements, when being called out, they will straight up lie and abuse their powers to silence others. The management doesn’t have the slightest idea of how to lead or manage anyone either, and you will never see them even bother to look up how. During the short time I was there, I saw some managers lied to cover their mistakes, or to help their family move up. I heard managers badmouthed people that left as well. When I was hired, I was promised a lot of things like position and compensation for my experience, but overtime, these people decided that it was too “expensive” for them and went back on their words. HR is extremely inefficient simply because there is only one person on the team, and that person doesn’t even have any background in doing HR. CEO is a snake, so are other directors that only care about protecting their positions. Their Marketing and Sales team is a mess, and their product isn’t worth selling, let alone investing. They’re good at attracting and hiring young professionals who just graduated, but I also saw them burn those people out and pay them very low. Overall, this company is a dead hole. They suck people in and spit them out. They talk about valuing their people but in reality they just want cheap labors. Don’t buy into their mentorship program, it’s just another way for them to micromanage. They are very very micromanage!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    BlueCart Response

    Head of Talent & Culture

    We appreciate your feedback. It hurts us that you left with ill feelings. Somehow we failed to display to you the levels of sincerity, humility, and curiosity that we strive to be every day. We wish that you’d felt comfortable enough to share with any member of our team any of the situations while you were here. It is concerning that we’d not created enough of a psychologically safe environment for you so that we could discuss and fix it. This has certainly motivated us to evaluate all of our efforts around this, share, and take action. We wish that you had not interpreted the experiences of some of our age-diverse individuals, as “bragging” as that is so unfortunate. To contextualize the situation, part of our internship program is to offer new/upcoming graduates access to senior staff and managers so that they can learn from experiences. During intern meetings, a senior manager joins as a guest speaker. At that time, the manager will share some of their backgrounds so that interns can approach them on topics that often do not show up in normal day-to-day activities. For example, if an intern is interested in a career working at NASA and one of us has worked at NASA, they can share experiences and hopefully some wisdom. Perhaps in our eagerness to share experiences with you came off wrong. If this was received as bragging, that is unfortunate. The additional comments you’ve given towards management have been taken to heart, and they do not reflect in any way what we want to be. To clarify some points that were included: - Our only hires for individuals either in college or recent graduates looking for work experience are paid internships. We have built an internship program that gives a diverse exposure to startup culture, how a startup runs, valuable work experience, and mentoring. As often internships are unpaid, we thought that providing a wage for temporary internships is a plus. - Our pay for our entry-level permanent positions is actually above average for a company our size (or even slightly larger) and the applicable experience of an incoming employee. For Example: - Graphics Designer, Washington DC, Company Size 0-50 Employees, Experience 1-3 years Glassdoor Average Base Pay = $40,416 BlueCart Starting Pay = $42,000 - Content Writer, Washington DC, Company Size 0-50 Employees, Experience 0-1 years Glassdoor Average Base Pay = $34,337 BlueCart Starting Pay = $36,000 We’re sad that you left us at a time where your career trajectory was beginning to take off. Coming in as an intern into a Sales Development role. Transitioning into a marketing role as it accommodated interests more and then promoting into a full-time position was something that we were celebrating. Being groomed into becoming a professional marketer was an exciting challenge that everyone on the team was eager to help further train up and accelerate your knowledge in sales and then in marketing. We were so excited about your career growth, and although we believed that two promotions within 1 year are a good pace, we’re sad that this did not meet your expectations. Interestingly, there seem to be multiple reviews from the same individual, which we’ve mentioned to Glassdoor, but have not had a resolution.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Management is a big problem

    Feb 14, 2020 - Marketing Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible hours, unlimited PTO and vacation - Experienced product team

    Cons

    - Very low pay - Zero to $5 gift card holiday bonus - High turnover and laid-off. - You'll be doing 5 man work - The company has no clear direction of what they're doing and where they're going. Lack of clear vision and good leaders. - The management is mostly the problem. They pride themselves in the culture of transparency, however that is nonexistent. You are not allowed to question what you've been told to do, or their decisions, or how they mistreat other employees, EVER. The moment you speak up, be prepare to see their HR person. - They would go out of their way to INSULT you - Lots of report. They extremely micromanage. They require at least 4 well prepared documents about what tasks you do, why you do it, and how many hours you spending doing them, in DETAILS and in FORMAT. Fail to meet their expectation on the "details and format" can cause you to be called out in front of HR. Then you still have to report to your supervisor the same thing via chat or email during the day. - Favoritism is also a problem. They would do whatever it takes and cover all mistakes to help their family climb up to the management (which already out numbered their employees).

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    BlueCart Response

    Head of Talent & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback and we are so sad that we’d failed you. We take your comments to heart and have discussed all of your concerns together as a team. Some context and research to your valuable comments: Salaries: We make every effort to pay fair, competitive wages. Sometimes there is confusion. According to Glassdoor salaries, for the size of company we are and the experience of the individuals, our salaries are slightly above average and far from the low end of pay. Graphics Designer, Washington DC, Company Size 0-50 Employees, Experience 1-3 years Glassdoor Average Base Pay = $40,416 BlueCart Starting Pay = $42,000 Content Writer, Washington DC, Company Size 0-50 Employees, Experience 0-1 years Glassdoor Average Base Pay = $34,337 BlueCart Starting Pay = $36,000 Bonuses: We did not give out Holiday bonuses. At the venture-funded startup stage of our company and companies like ours, Holiday bonuses are difficult and sometimes seen as even fiscally irresponsible. Since November 2018, we’ve been sharing our financials (revenue, expenses, cash-on-hand) along with updates on any fundraising with all of our staff at our monthly all-hands meetings. This is in an effort to be as transparent as possible with our company and its financial status. We know that being a venture-funded tech startup puts us in a category of high-risk, high-reward companies, and that volatility, although exciting is also stressful. Even though everyone who joins us understands that they are joining a tech-startup we share our financials to help bring clarity to everyone. Gifts: We’re saddened that what was intended to be a simple, humble Holiday gift consisting of a Holiday thank you card, some chocolates, a mug, and a Starbucks card for a cup of coffee was interpreted as a holiday bonus. This was never our intention, rather, we’d hoped it would be a simple holiday gesture. It seems that gesture was received as something different and we are sorry. We’ll consider this more critically the next time we decide to extend a gift like this. We are so disappointed that you left without being able to gain from a few of the positive experiences: -Flexible schedule and our extreme willingness and empathy to accommodate working from home, remotely and especially when you just need time to address any personal, life moments that come along unexpectedly -Time allocated every week for learning and development, whether inside or outside of your immediate professional goals -Professional growth consisting of regularly scheduled 1 on 1 meetings with your manager/Director focused specifically on how we can help improve your professional skills, both hard and soft skills -Opportunities to improve public speaking and business presentation skills by being asked, by design to present on behalf of your department in company all-hands meetings -Having a Mentor We always are striving to understand and act on how our team members' experience can be improved. Sometimes how an action is interpreted is different from the intent, and so hearing feedback on how we can improve is important.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Why you should not work for this company.

    Jan 28, 2020 - Marketing Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free water. Clean bathrooms. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Terrible management. Low pay. $5 holiday bonuses.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    BlueCart Response

    Head of Talent & Culture

    Thank you. Your feedback is valuable, particularly the areas mentioned that highlight that in spite of our best intentions to communicate, we missed providing clarity and context to some situation and they ended up being interpreted differently than intended. To highlight a few areas: Transparency: We are always looking for new ideas on how to improve transparency. What we currently do is the following: -Weekly Management Meeting notes shared with all staff -Monthly all-hands meetings where every department updates on projects -Monthly CEO Q&A where all staff members can ask any questions -Financials shared after every month's end close -Board Meeting feedback discussed after each Board Meeting is held -Weekly scrum meetings for each department to share updates -Biweekly 1 on 1 sessions with Manager to share updates We wish that there was some situation where we’d made you feel more comfortable. Since you’d left, we have added other environments, including: -An Employee Resource Group around Diversity and Inclusion where everyone is invited to share ideas, feelings, knowledge, and actions towards we becoming more aware, more empathetic humans -Virtual Coffee sessions with our Head of People to bridge the lack of social interaction we have with each other now that we are all working remotely Although we’ve received positive feedback from both, we are constantly looking for ways to improve in this area. Reports: We do want your input in scrums, but these are brief meetings working in an agile environment. Perhaps where you feel you were being micromanaged is in the 1 on 1 Professional Growth sessions with your manager. These sessions are held regularly and built around the concept of “How can your manager help grow your professional skills for the future” we have also called this “How do we make you more awesome”. Each manager prepares for these meetings around the input that is given by each individual so that a customized professional growth plan is mapped out for each individual each month. Frequently, we see questions asked like: “What soft skill(s) would you like to refine this month?” or “What work task is not coming naturally to you?” Based on the individual’s feedback, the manager can research ideas to help develop those professional skills. Work-life balance: Work-life balance and overall individual wellness are incredibly important to us, and we try to exemplify that in several ways: -We ask that individuals “close your computer” on weekends. -We’ve mandated that everyone take a mental-health day off as a paid company holiday. -We’ve let everyone know that taking a day off to vote or to protest is encouraged -We have Juneteenth and Marting Luther King day as paid company holidays -We encourage everyone to “leave your computer at home” when they take a planned vacation so that the temptation to check-in is eliminated while they spend time with loved ones and attempt to recharge -We encourage staff to time-block the week so that we cannot schedule or accept meetings outside of business hours In spite of this, we understand that overachieving individuals will decide to work outside of the normal workday. This is something that we appreciate but also encourage against it. Hopefully, you did not feel like you were ever being asked to work beyond business hours, as this is not what we foster. We all work very hard and with great intensity during the workday, and want our valued team members to strive for a healthy work-life balance. Management: Our management team consists of 6 individuals who are representatives from the following departments: Product, Marketing, Customer Success/Operations, Sales, and People plus our CEO. These people range from all different levels of experience, and we celebrate that not everyone has either the same age, culture, gender or experiential backgrounds. We have individuals that were born in Spain, Colombia, Iceland, Pakistan, and the USA. We very much want the next members of the management team to come from our internal staff and will both celebrate and embrace grooming them into leadership roles. If our desire to vocally celebrate the successes of individuals/departments come off as sounding like we’re “flatterers”, we want to look at it as being “givers” of praise, recognition, and appreciation. We don’t want to change this behavior, rather we’d like to emphasize it more. We all strive to be extremely humble amongst each other. Taking a moment to recognize a success amongst the team reflects the goal that we should all have to be empathetic, kind people. Thank you again for the feedback. We are so disappointed that your experience was not ideal, and that many of our efforts that come from a place of giving, empathy and humility were warped once they hit your desk. It certainly was not our intention nor is it the environment we strive to be.

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing people!

    Jul 25, 2019 - Customer Success in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some of the most fantastic and kind people that work there. All of them are so dedicated to their work and do their best every day to make the product and workplace better! Super fun company outings!

    Cons

    If you like a big office with many people, this isn't it. Great for those who like a small sized work environment.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Team

    May 28, 2019 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are great, compensation is competitive, and location is great.

    Cons

    Loads of work. You will be asked to contribute to projects outside of your core team.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Endless Learning Opportunities

    Dec 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You're given the opportunity to work beyond your title. There's lots of opportunities to learn and develop skills that you're actually interested in. The workplace environment fosters individual growth and there's always nearby help. Teams at BlueCart - extremely friendly and out going - no egos or entitlement - amazing teachers - always down to help their team members succeed

    Cons

    There are 3 offices which make company bonding difficult.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Layoff Central

    Nov 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team (RIP) - A great place to work if you like being laid off with 25+ other people over a google hangout only to see that they are ramping up hiring weeks later!

    Cons

    Horrible Communication- Team is spread over several offices &time zones when communication barely works across a table. They have laid off entire departments several times over the past 2 years. Unsure product.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    BlueCart Response

    Head of Talent & Culture

    We, like you, are hurting from what was the most difficult decision we’ve made as a company. It saddens us every day that such an impossibly difficult decisions had to be made, and that valued colleagues were affected. If sharing your frustration here helps, we empathize and are sorry that we’d failed you. We are making every attempt to do as much as we could to help transition our cherished employees’ into their next career. Unfortunately, it seems as if we have fallen short on your expectations. For that, we are sorry. Here’s what we’ve done so far to try and help: -Postponed the official termination date several days to the 1st of the month so that our displaced team members had insurance coverage continue through the entire month -Offered severance pay for every employee -Allowed everyone to keep their computers until later in the month so that those who did not have personal computers could use them for their job search -Published recommendations and skills endorsements on the profiles of everyone who’s asked, and even individuals who hadn’t asked -Our CEO has published recommendations on every displaced individual’s LinkedIn profile -Conducted outreach by multiple people on our team to their personal business networks to help find leads on new career opportunities -Reached out to senior management of every company within our our investor company portfolios as well as the people who sit on our advisory boards -On hot opportunities, we brokered introductions and endorsements to hiring managers, CEO’s and VP’s at the prospective jobs -Contacted our immigration attorney to get status for each member with visa situations and communicated their specific situation to each employee impacted -Set up a Slack channel for all resumes to be shared and distributed to trusted people in our networks -Directed individuals to a professionally mediated Employee Assistance Program offered via our benefits partner -Helped review and offer suggestions on individual resumes and cover letters -Individually helped team members prep for their upcoming interviews, conducted practice dry runs of interviews prior and coached on how to better answer tough interview questions -Provided excellent, prompt references to any inquiries from other prospective employers whenever requested During management meetings the following week and every week since we have spent significant time discussing each individual displaced, what new job leads and introductions we have or can help broker, who is communicating with them and how else we can help with transition. We are hearing from you that this has not be perceived as enough. We empathize with your frustration and feelings that we have failed you. I invite you to reach out to us to discuss if there is any additional assistance we can do for you as you transition into your next career journey. Also if you have not fully engaged us in the assistance we’re already offering, we encourage you to please allow us to help.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

Popular Careers with BlueCart Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BlueCart? Share Your Experiences

BlueCart logo
or