KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

Is this your company?

BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

Add a Review

BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 278 of over 306 reviews

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee President & CEO J.D. Hickey, M.D (no image)
J.D. Hickey, M.D
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and overall awesome company to work for(in 28 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance and great company(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is a lot of work which can disrupt work-life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Slow time to market, lots of red tape(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Veteran Status

    This rating reflects the overall rating of BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Employee appreciation

      Jul 22, 2021 - Quality Supervisor in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can only share great things about this company, great values and great work environment.

      Cons

      Cons are nearly none existent this company is truly a great employer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      would not recommend PIO HOME claims to anyone

      Jul 24, 2021 - Claims Examiner in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      no pros about this place and especially PIO HOME claims. Management does not care about you, team leads do not care about you, and you will feel invisible. There is no team environment and the mangers play favorites. It made me sad to be part of this company.

      Cons

      I worked here for 3 years and no one here would give me a personal recommendation for a future job when I moved states due to my spouse getting a new job. They will also not verify my employment and this is causing me is lose future income. After 3 years of working on the same team with the same people and manager, no one said bye to me at all on my last week. They didn’t care at all that I was leaving and acted like I was a bother to them. Not sure why nothing was mentioned to me during my 3 year period here. Once you leave BCBST, they do not care for you at all. Not sure I was cared about when I worked there either.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place! Great Benefits!

      Jul 22, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Consistent. Great environment. No one bothers you. No work place drama.

      Cons

      Strict attendance. Strict hours. Must be able to work m-f in the mornings.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work that now allows majority of employees to work from home

      Jul 10, 2021 - Domain Architect in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most worker can work 100% from home. Healthcare benefits are excellent. Fellow employees truly care about the members (customers). This company is really focused on providing good service to members and not milking them for profit.

      Cons

      It's a big company so enabling change takes a while.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great employer

      Jul 29, 2021 - Clinical Pharmacist in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of great benefits and opportunities for professional development. Remains aligned with current industry trends.

      Cons

      Working in siloes. Frequent encounters with unprofessional team members. Diversity of thought doesn't seem to be encouraged.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Think Twice About BCBST

      Jul 27, 2021 - Actuarial Analyst in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work hours were fairly consistent, and the Chattanooga facility invested in providing good office space for employees.

      Cons

      Major lack of professionalism in upper management in my division Complaints were ignored The new chief actuary was more concerned about his own ego than trying to improve actuarial work and build rapport Base pay was low and did not align with industry standards Lack of ability to develop and expand skills

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      Jul 13, 2021 - Art Director/Senior Graphic Designer in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people, great benefits, well balanced

      Cons

      This is a great place to work for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very good company to work for overall.

      Jul 8, 2021 - Director of Security and Safety 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and work schedule are the best.

      Cons

      Depending on your job you have somewhat limited advancement opportunities despite qualifications.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review for position

      Jul 9, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay and compensation is great.

      Cons

      I work from home independently.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Intern

      Jul 22, 2021 - Intern in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As an intern you are able to experience and touch many parts of the company

      Cons

      Time allotted and pay can seem undervalued.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 278 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee? Share Your Experiences

    or