BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Reviews | Glassdoor

BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee President & CEO J.D. Hickey, M.D (no image)
J.D. Hickey, M.D
55 Ratings
  1. "Awesome company. Awesome culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BCBST is an awesome place to work. The people are fantastic and very welcoming. It's just a wonderful place to be.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2020-01-29
  2. "Great place to work, really care about their members and their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Auditor in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of positions have the ability to telecommute. Excellent benefits, competitive pay. Doesn't take long to see that from senior leadership down, BlueCross really cares about their people , members, and providers. They really work hard at doing what is best for Tennesseans and love their communities.

    Cons

    Being a state-wide company, your department is spread out, so you may not see your teammates except a few times a year. My department is broken into 6 regions, all across the state. We come together 3 or 4 times a year, but have meetings via WebEx more frequently so we are able to keep in touch.

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2020-01-05
  3. "One of the best companies in TN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great leadership and wonderful mentors within the company. Wonderful benefits.

    Cons

    The only con would be the location of the offices made the commute to work sometimes difficult.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-11-15

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Response

    December 16, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience and for your service. We're glad to hear you valued the benefits and the mentors you worked with.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training Benefits Compensation Work Culture Cafeteria, health clinic, pharmacy, and ATMS's onsite Gym and walking track available

    Cons

    Cons will be person specific - this was in the call center environment and that type of environment isn't for everyone. I left for personal reasons that had nothing to do with the quality of the company as an employer.

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-11-13
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Information Security Analyst in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

    Pros

    Great work environment and teammates

    Cons

    None really. I really enjoyed working here

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-09-22

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Response

    December 16, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing and for your service. We're glad to hear you valued culture and the people you worked with during your years of service.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dream Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, accrue paid time off monthly, quarterly bonuses and employee appreciation gifts, room for growth and advancement in the company, positive atmosphere

    Cons

    Employee insurance is still costly, rotating or straight late shift (mon-fri 8am -4:30 in 15 minute increments to 9:30-6)

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-07-24
  7. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subrogation Analyst in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For a major corporation BCBST does appear to be very employee friendly.

    Cons

    BCBST has been such a good experience I really have no cons.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-07-10

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Response

    August 5, 2019VP, Human Resources

    We're glad you enjoy working here and appreciate your service. It's great to hear you appreciate the culture we have here.

    Continue reading
  8. "Recognized as one of the Top Employers for Women in the Nation by Forbes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful Management that truly care about your growth and Development. I began as an entry level CSR and grew from there. The company has limitless opportunities. In addition, the pay compensation and benefits are the top of the ladder.

    Cons

    I'm not ever sure this is a con, but the walk from the garage to the building is a hike. I will take it though, have to get those steps in!

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-07-05

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Response

    August 5, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our employee benefits and career development opportunities. We want employees to see and build a future for themselves here, and we're glad to know you've been able to do that.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Management Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incentives , great co workers , continuing education

    Cons

    None that I know of.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-04-12

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Response

    August 5, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing and for your service. We're glad to hear you value the culture and people you work with and appreciate the benefits and continuing education opportunities as well.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, awesome PTO, good atmosphere, rarely work weekends.

    Cons

    Training is beyond stressful and is 4 months long. You don’t feel like you get all the knowledge you need.

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2019-04-04

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Response

    August 5, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience here. We're glad to hear you value the benefits and pay we offer. We understand the work isn't always easy, but we appreciate the time you devoted to serving our customers and stakeholders.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 211 reviews