BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee President & CEO J.D. Hickey, M.D (no image)
J.D. Hickey, M.D
59 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Room for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Care Coordinator in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

    Pros

    always open positions to move around to, great benefits, comfortable work enviroment

    Cons

    if you get in a bad department hard to get out, very strict about taking time off from work even during inclement weather

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2016-01-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Contractor = More work with less pay and no benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

    Pros

    Great benefits... for permanent employees..

    Cons

    If you think you are getting your foot in the door here, think again...

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2015-10-29
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Configuration Analyst in Ringgold, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Nice facility. Lots of potential.

    Cons

    Some divisions are still living in the past. Processes and tools need to be updated.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2015-04-29
  4. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent salary for the job, great benefits and training opportunities.

    Cons

    Difficult to change positions/advance unless you are upper management. Culture is a bit male-oriented. Executive leadership is a bit selfish, bent on their own ways rather than what's best for the company.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2015-03-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The most ineffective, passive aggressive set of leaders I have ever seen. They all gossip behind each other's backs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great but expensive. Work intensity is non existent as you would expect in a not for profit blues plan. Customer service employees are very friendly.

    Cons

    Their entire leadership team is weak. Company has no skill within HR to execute successful workforce development programs - very weak HR leader. The CFO is a tyrant and cannot keep people working for him - he is a culture killer within his own team. A very uninspiring leadership team - especially the COO.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2014-11-09
  6. "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CONSUMER ADVISOR 
    Recommends

    I worked at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, including pay.

    Cons

    Entirely too strict on customer service associates.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2014-07-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A good entry-level job, but management needs serious help."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Examiner in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Health insurance is cheap and good. Tuition reimbursement is always a plus. The workplace itself is absolutely fantastic (the gym is top-notch).

    Cons

    I felt guilty for simply using my paid time off. Management seems, for lack of a better term, clueless- they don't get involved much, and when they do, even the smallest issues turn into huge problems. Advancement is pushed hard as an incentive to perform, but advancement does not actually happen.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2014-03-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Strong company, loyal people, but not always the most efficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biostatistical Research Scientist in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great; it's a large company so there are theoretically lots of advancement opportunities; many onsite conveniences (fitness center, pharmacy, clinic, credit union, etc.); lot of people working here have history with the company, so they have a lot of knowledge

    Cons

    Sometimes feels like there's a constant level of dissatisfaction among the worker bees; easy to get "stuck" in one area without opportunity to learn much about the rest of the company; leadership is inconsistent

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2013-12-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company for fresh graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and amenities Beautiful campus

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for career growth Low pay scale No uniform pay structure Biased Management No promotions unless you switch internally

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2013-03-20

    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Response

    July 26, 2017VP, Human Resources

    We appreciate your input and are glad you value our benefits and beautiful campus. We also heard from other employees the desire for more career development opportunities, so we created the MyBluePath program that provides all the tools and resources employees need to purse career growth. This includes our new job rotation program, open houses to learn about job opportunities in different divisions, internal career fairs, tuition assistance, free training and more. Also, our pay structure is evaluated every year to make sure each job type is competitive within our market, and we make annual adjustments as needed following this review.

    Continue reading
  10. "BCBST has fair compensation and good benefits, but corporate policies can be hard to understand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

    Pros

    The benefits are great and the bosses and coworkers are friendly. You get a lot of time off from work as compared to other places to work in Chattanooga.

    Cons

    The company policies, rules, and procedures are hard to understand and they always change. It is easy to make mistakes which can ultimately cost you your job.

    Continue reading
    BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee2012-05-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews