BluePearl Veterinary Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

BluePearl Veterinary Partners Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
BluePearl Veterinary Partners CEO Darryl Shaw (no image)
Darryl Shaw
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "The mission to create a 'better world for pets' is a mantra that everyone who works here seeks to achieve(in 9 reviews)

  • "I work with people who really love to care for animals and truly want to help(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "There was a significant cut in employer 401K match after Mars bought Bluepearl(in 13 reviews)

  • "I would not take my own animals there(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "So much development and advancement potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospital Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent organization to work for if you care about upward mobility and advancing in your career. Plus you'll have the opportunity to practice incredible patient care that's really not seen at other specialty hospitals

    Cons

    Corporate structure means change is affected at a different pace than lots of people are used to

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-08-01

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    August 6, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here at BluePearl. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  2. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician in Blaine, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and staff. Drs who are commuted to high quality of care. Great work environment

    Cons

    Hard seeing people turned away due to cost. Can be hectic and high stress

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-10-18

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    October 21, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here at BluePearl. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  3. "Veterinary Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Security of a corporate hospital and corporate standings. Increased job security. More resources for equipment. No concerns for lay offs or cutbacks. Large work force, if you care about your job you do have a huge team and endless learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Hours can change frequently. No incentives for longevity. No encouragement or reward for loyalty. You are a number. There is a loss of personal stake in your job. No personal approaches. By the books, numbers approach has caused a loss in quality health insurance. There was a significant cut in employer 401K match after Mars bought Bluepearl.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to long term employees. At least pretend like you care about loyal employees. Support senior employees. Look at the quality of health insurance offered. Evaluate employer match for 401K.

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-10-02

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    October 2, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  4. "Okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Working with Specialty Medicine * Working with small animals. *Nothing really was positive...

    Cons

    Management does not efficiency manage. No room to grow No work/life balance

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-09-29

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    October 1, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  5. "Not a healthy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The doctors, techs, and front desk are there for the right reasons.

    Cons

    Very abusive atmosphere Management is awful and cover for each other Pay is not a livable wage I would not take my own animals there

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-10-14

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    October 15, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  6. "Fast pace professional hospital with an emphasis on continued education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Continued education opportunities Lots of opportunities for OT

    Cons

    Poor PTO and Employee Benefits

    Advice to Management

    Greater emphasis on employee benefits and work/life balance for all.

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-09-09

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    September 17, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here at BluePearl. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  7. "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician, RVT 

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time

    Pros

    Pay, clean hospital, good equipment, good teams

    Cons

    Needs a bit more organization

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-08-30

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    September 4, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here at BluePearl. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Medicine =\= Retail,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Care Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The front line care providers - clinicians, techs, assistants and client care staff are fantastic. They are dedicated, heart and soul to providing remarkable care for pets, and continually strive to improve, teach and support each other and our primary vet community while doing it. I have seen the financial compensation and amenities/equipment improve as part of BP, albeit slowly, and not without having to fight... for it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Support center is slow on responses, change and support for daily business needs, which could be understandable if there weren't constant updates on how many new hospitals BP has acquired month to month. Upper regional management pushes retail-based business practices that are inappropriate and harmful to staff, patients and referring veterinary community, obfuscates progress and clinically-sound recommendations... and grossly undervalues and disrespects the input and education of front-line caregivers who have dedicated their lives, career and considerable personal financial investment into ethical care for animals and supporting the human animal bond.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the needs of the front line care providers - they are the revenue generators, and your disregard of their input risks their licenses and livelihood. Top heavy leadership structures of administrators and directors with no knowledge or respect of medicine have created an incredibly dysfunctional atmosphere that intentionally takes advantage of the oaths of vets and techs alike. Retention of talented staff is... crucial - we are in a national LVT shortage and brain drain drastically hurts patient care and outcomes.

    Show More
    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-08-23

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  9. "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Terrific management team and recruitment efforts. A lot of development opportunities.

    Cons

    Too many new ideas and programs to keep up with to ensure each one is terrific.

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-08-22

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here at BluePearl. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate Corporate Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BluePearl Veterinary Partners full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you truly work hard, you get

    Cons

    The leadership team sucks. What does the HA even do? How about some support so people don’t keep quitting. How about instead of listening, actually take action. This company used to be great (EAC) everyone used to want to work here. Now everyone wants to avoid the place. Literally not one person I know who works there likes working there. There are ALWAYS requests for shifts to be filled. ALWAYS! No matter what... location you work at they are short staffed, simply because no one wants to work at Bluepearl anymore. It stresses people out so bad that they go home and it ruins their life. There is no work/life balance. And let’s not get started with the staff they do hire...they will hire just about anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with what you say your going to do. Don’t just smile, listen, and say things are changing for the better because they obviously are not. Your loosing ALL your good employees. Don’t just care about your doctors, care about the other staff, the techs, front office, etc. Stop cutting hours!!!!

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners2019-09-06

    BluePearl Veterinary Partners Response

    September 9, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruiting@bluepearlvet.com

Found 171 reviews