Bluegreen Vacations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Bluegreen Vacations Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
Bluegreen Vacations President and CEO Alan Levan (no image)
Alan Levan
0 Rating
  1. "Love this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Marketing Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time

    Pros

    Great team environment! Great compensation, LOTS of room for growth, and excellent management. Bluegreen makes it a point to go the extra mile to take care of their employees. Excellent 401k plan and good benefits as well.

    Cons

    The nature of this work makes working weekends required but there's nothing about the company itself I don't like.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-09-16
  2. "Interesting, complex environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, interesting product, great people, no shame cast for work/life balance

    Cons

    Lacking infrastructure and systems to support moving up internally, culturally resistant to change, disorganized benefits team, excessively sales centric at the expense of the customer

    Advice to Management

    When you engage employees regarding change, listen, respond and act. Both new and tenured employees have value to add. Encourage positive cultural change from top down not just associate contributing to new behaviors.

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Energy of employees is good in the short term

    Cons

    Push sales no matter what

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-07-21
  4. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resort Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, travel opportunities, corporate support

    Cons

    Staffing shortages, long hours, work/life balance difficult

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-07-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance in some departments is good. But, not all!

    Cons

    no room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    None. Wouldn't make a difference.

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-05-10
  6. "Share Happiness is a company culture, not just a tag line. Not to mention 4 weeks paid vacation right from the start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    From the top down, engaged leaders and promising career pathing

    Cons

    Could use more vendor discounts/perks.

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-04-04
  7. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, corporate support, travel perks, competitive pay structure, paid time off. Ability to grow with the company!

    Cons

    Limited growth in my specific area means I have to travel lots or relocate.

    Advice to Management

    More availability for associate leisure use.

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-04-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Revolving door for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Bolingbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The product itself is not bad For the right location, can be lucrative Upper Management and Company as a whole are nice people

    Cons

    Weak Training Budget set prior to your arrival and with no consideration of your current team Unrealistic Expectations Archaic sales method Very hard to hire people at my location

    Advice to Management

    I came in during a management switch. The gentleman who hired me decided to walk away from the company after having a long career for them in sales standards. That said, I met some folks who assured me that they saw my vision and believed I could usher us back into success at my location. I did, but not to the standard that was given to me. I was expected to hit "budget" however, my staff and I were untrained. They expect you to approach every customer in Bass Pro and pitch vacation sales. On paper, this can work... the only problem is that depending on your area (mine was surrounded by million dollar homes) folks are not that receptive to a $199 getaway while having to sit through a 2+ hour timeshare presentation. On top of it, the company has been in Bass Pro's for YEARS and BP customers are regulars. During my tenure, I approached the same person several times. That said, my team slowly improved month after month. Yet, because it wasn't to the speed my regional wanted, I was written up month after month...while also writing my staff up for everything. After my second write up, I started looking elsewhere and landed another job. After I left, the location was gutted and all new people are there. So as you can see, you have a short leash, with little to no time to change.

    Show More
    Bluegreen Vacations2019-02-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Breath of Fresh Air, Finally!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Revitalized Leadership! Revitalized Organization! Out with archaic practices of former leader. Out with Gilbert pratices

    Cons

    Kept fear driven leadership for too long and lost many good people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the positive energy flowing! Compensating people fairly. New open line of communication where people feel appreciated. Everyone is happy again! Advice is to not let a bad seed infect the organization for such a long time again.

    Bluegreen Vacations2018-10-21
  10. "Retail Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Marketing Manager in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bluegreen Vacations is a fun company to work for! We have great leadership throughout the company. The opportunity for upward mobility is great! The benefits and hours are unmatched in the sales environment today.

    Cons

    As a retail Manager the only concern I have observed is that we have a higher turnover rate, but that has been remedied.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to our employees at every level.

    Bluegreen Vacations2018-10-01
Found 57 reviews