Bluegreen Vacations "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bluegreen Vacations Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Bluegreen Vacations President and CEO Shawn Pearson
Shawn Pearson
152 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great group of co workers, career pathing(in 31 reviews)

  • "The resorts and employee perks are really great(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not having random drug testing especially in the upper management down(in 27 reviews)

  • "Most resorts in the industry NQ a tour during the first 10 minutes of arrival during discovery before podium(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "AWESOME COMPANY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Saint Petersburg, FL

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great group of co workers, career pathing

    Cons

    Some managers play favorites.

    Bluegreen Vacations2019-10-11
  2. "set schedule, good balance work/home life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telesales in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    set schedule, great benefits, good people

    Cons

    cancellations, charge backs, lots of rejection

    Bluegreen Vacations2018-10-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. The value proposition was there in the beginning-great pitch from the recruiters. Not sure I see that anymore.

    Cons

    Diversity thought non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe there should be some conscious thought about whether or not there is bias in selecting talented people, especially at the top. This is supported by no gender diversity at the board of directors and then the CEO replaces all women on Executive Committee with men. No women. None. I guess there are no women with talent in the Boca Raton area? None across the United States? The last I checked there is a lot of... talent to choose from. Soon you will all look and sound the same, have the same hobbies and provide the same perspective to the population at large. What a shame. What a miss in terms of providing diverse perspectives. Half the people you are leading are women, have women’s issues and need women leaders to curb the “good ole boys club” as that does not represent the population at large. Not impressed so far with the leadership changes.

    Show More
    Bluegreen Vacations2018-05-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Hanover, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +Beneficial training +Great work environment +Treated like family +Great Benefits +3 weeks Paid Time Off +Fair base plus commission pay structure +Paid lunch

    Cons

    -Difficult to sell -high turnover rate -On your feet all day -Must work weekends and evenings

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people with actual sales experience to lower the turnover rate

    Bluegreen Vacations2018-03-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with amazing growth potential!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well organized company with great benefits and an employee first approach to business. I have had the opportunity to work at two properties within the company as well as participate in task force at three other properties. I have been blown away by their commitment to make us an industry leader within hospitality. I have worked with several other big name hospitality companies and Bluegreen is by far the most... organized when it comes to standards and polices.

    Show More

    Cons

    I would like to see the company expand its portfolio and start operating properties in the western part of the country. I have heard that we are looking to grow and I am excited to see where the next Bluegreen property is located.

    Bluegreen Vacations2017-11-20
  6. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in Ridgedale, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Team environment ,Career advancement, development!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Bluegreen Vacations2017-11-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Contract Auditor in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very focused on their motto "Share happiness" which pertains to the customers and the employees. There is an award ceremony every 3 months for employees to be recognized for their hard work, there are always fun events going on, they definitely make it a happy place for employees to work. They have GREAT benefits including 4 weeks paid vacation and you can stay at any of the company's resorts. Every 5 years... you get an additional week. The position itself is easy once you get the hang of it, just very deadline oriented.

    Show More

    Cons

    They refrain from taking on temps or interns on full time after they allotted time period for example they told me they would most likely make me permanent after 6 months as a temp right out of college and I've been here for 10 months and they have no intention of making anyone permanent until a new computer system rolls out scheduled 6 months from now. Needless to say I'm seeking other employment. If you're hired... as a permanent employee then no need to worry. Pay isn't that great though.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop stringing along your temps and interns to save money :) you are a rich and successful company. Other than that managers are great.

    Bluegreen Vacations2017-11-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Former Rep and Retail Manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Marketing Manager in Wrentham, MA

    I worked at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sales training and product. Overall, a great company. Challenges change daily. Great benefits and decent culture. Enjoyed visiting the resorts. My fiancee is an owner.

    Cons

    While I learned a lot, as both a rep and manager, the expectations are often too high. I was given the opportunity to run a brand new location. While I hit my budget, even had 0 refunds in an entire month ( extremely rare ) - the District/regional managers set goals that are not simply not in line with foot traffic. The trickle down effect is too much in this company. Unreal expectations are carried down, thus... hurting morale in crucial times. Another detrimental issue in this company are the lies told to owners and potential owners. You often have to undo someone else's misinformation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Higher commission structures. Streamline company core values through "internal secret shoppers" to hold timeshare sales, managers, rep accountable. Ease up on missed "quotas", especially when it's known they may not be attainable. Setting the bar high is excellent, pushing and slandering those that aren't meeting it, is not. I would have made a career here if values were in line and district managers weren't pushed... into corners for performance. Great company, too many inconsistencies.

    Show More
    Bluegreen Vacations2017-09-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management running In -House Dept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company as a whole is excellent. Great Benefits including 401K. You have the opportunity to make a great living,

    Cons

    The company as a whole is excellent. The In House sales dept. is another story. While you have the opportunity to make a great living, the work conditions are bad. Moral is very low in this dept as it's a "good old boys club." If your not part of the "club" the odds of success in this dept are low. Recently the CEO of Bluegreen resigned so there is hope that there will be a change in upper management here at the... Fountains in Orlando.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If any upper management from Bluegreen see this review, please consider management changes at the resort. As the In-House Dept makes a great deal of money, moral is low as is proven in the poor customer service reviews that keep coming in. It's easy to point the finger at the Sales Rep but the problem stems from the dept head and resort director. The pressure to sell is relentless therefore leading to high pressure... sales tactics and lies to our guests. Help! I am a current In House Sales Rep who would like to continue to work here.

    Show More
    Bluegreen Vacations2017-08-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Management needs to practice what they preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in North Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Bluegreen Vacations full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bluegreen offers a great benefits package including employer match 401k, PTO, medical and dental with vision and some life insurance as well. The call center in Indianapolis also offers wellness time to exercise during work hours with a personal trainer.

    Cons

    The company is in crisis. Not financially, but when it comes to customer and employee satisfaction. The corporation surveys everyone but doesn't do anything that would change the dissatisfaction of both customers and employees. As a long time employee, I don't feel valued by my direct managers. They expect the middle management to be adaptable but the Director level and above are not. They talk about being... family but they treat most of their "family" like the unwanted stepchild or distant relatives for whom they feel disdain.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach and listen to your employees who have tenure. They can leave and are leaving. If you want to keep employees, listen and respect them. Adjusting compensation should be across the board. It does not benefit new agents to get promoted to other essential functions because their pay does not increase. Once your tenured employees leave, you will not be able to replace them because you do not... compensate accordingly.

    Show More
    Bluegreen Vacations2016-09-27
Found 31 reviews