Bluemercury Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
31%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Bluemercury Co-Founders Marla & Barry Beck (no image)
Marla & Barry Beck
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "good hrs - pay is good - good gratis(in 13 reviews)

  • "Lots of gratis and decent benefits(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is very shady, unprofessional(in 38 reviews)

  • "Lack of support from district manager and not very understanding(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Encouraging & Exciting Environment

      May 12, 2020 - Retail Sales Associate in Naperville, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Growth opportunities - Owner welcomes all feedback and considers employees greatly - Room for growth in position and $$

      Cons

      - On feet 24/7 - High traffic on weekends

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It was fun, but not a fair employer.

      Apr 8, 2021 - Sales Associate/Key Holder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great selection of high end products. Unique items that are not sold everywhere. Comparable employee discount to other retailers. Beautifully merchandised , a nice bright working environment. Spa services.

      Cons

      Customers still do not know about Bluemercury or what it is. They are confused by the name. The company expects you to sell their proprietors brand to every client however they do not give you a regular gratis from them so it makes it very hard to fall in love with the lines and recommend it. Not enough employees on staff. Having to work alone a lot. District managers are overworked and have too many stores and not enough assistants to help them. The company does not pay holiday pay. Which surprises me because they are owned by Macy's and Macy's pays their store employees holiday pay. They are open on Easter Sunday and you don't make extra money for working that day either. Managers are expected to work every day of their main events which is like 10 days in a row. Is that legal?

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Vacation

      Apr 27, 2021 - Area Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth, Gratis, Health Benefits, 401k, Vacation Time I have been with the company for well over 10 years and had many different positions. With those positions and titles your vacation allotment changes, however if you are at store level and not on salary vacation time was capped after 5years.... This year was a HUGE LEAP for everyone in the field that does not make a salary! Vacation time is now based on how long you have been with company not your Title! This is huge especially for people who have been loyal like myself! Made me so happy knowing that senior management and Corp heard the concerns and did something to benefit us!

      Cons

      No job is perfect, Cons are minimal

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not Worth It

      Feb 24, 2021 - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free Gratis. Good Products. Decent hours

      Cons

      The training was lackluster and uneven. Holiday season was the worst because you were expected to call 20 pages a day to cold call customers throughout the day. In some cases we were calling the same customer. And if you didn’t call 20 pages worth of customers your store would be called out via company email. The store manager was constantly rude and disrespectful to employees. Would bend the rules for people that they favored. The manager was always watched the cameras and she was the only manager who had access to the cameras. Anyone that could out sell the manager had a target on their backs. We weren’t allowed to take Saturdays off but upper management could. The store was constantly dirty with dead bugs, rats and rat traps in their basement where they kept the rest of the products. The company isn’t doing very well but they keep up this façade because it’s the first store opened in the company. Unrealistic store and personal goals for the store. If management doesn’t like you, it’s only a matter of time until they force that person out. Management was constantly bad mouthing other employees to other managers from different stores. Underpaid people who had more experience than the store manager. HR is not taken seriously. The company has high turn over. At one store, they went through 4 different managers within a short period of time. There’s no room for growth even though they claim it through the interview process. It’s no surprise that managers for the company tend to leave after a short period of time.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The truth about working at Bluemercury

      Mar 17, 2021 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy my job. Overall it is a beautiful Retailer to buy cosmetics and hair products. I love my District Manager. She is very fair and consistent and works really hard along side us. She leads by example which is something that I find refreshing. I’m sure this varies greatly by who you have though and I’ve read the other reviews and feel very lucky!. I had many DM’s who were not like her. We get great gratis from some top beauty companies. Right now due to COVID our hours are only 10-6 and 12-6 on Sundays which is great. Since Macy’s purchased the company our health benefits are much more affordable and we have good options. The pay is decent contrary to what people on here are saying. The company pays based on a grid that is based on experience. It could be anywhere from $16 to $19 based on location and experience. They are also very generous, even in COVID times, and offer a SPIFF for selling certain items from the in house skincare and makeup brands. You can make a lot of extra money this way. Typically they have a bonus structure, but with Covid they justifiably couldn’t pay it, but the SPIFF is generous.

      Cons

      The company really doesn’t support work life balance, similar to what has been stated in a lot of the reviews on here. “They” as is Regional Directors and the head of sales, don’t believe in giving associates or their District Managers any Saturdays off, however the Regional Directors are off. We have to use the little PTO we get to take a Saturday off. Every retailer I’ve every worked for gives people a weekend off a month. The company has a micromanaging vibe. It starts at the top. I watch my District Manager have to text her Regional every time she walks into my store in the morning. I’ve never seen anything like it! Overall the benefits are horrible. We do not get paid holidays which is not normal in my experience. We are open on Easter which is also odd. We respect religious holidays, but if you are Christian and have to work Easter, it doesn’t seem to be respected. The vacation accrual is terrible. You basically have to work here one hundred years to get decent vacation and only Full timers can accrue. Part timers cannot.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mismanaged

      Mar 31, 2021 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customers are the only highlight of this establishment

      Cons

      Salary is terrible No paid holidays Open on Easter Sunday ??!! Really No paid snow days not even allowed to make up days when they close the store

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The worst company I’ve ever worked for

      Feb 5, 2021 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None Zero nothing the absolute worst

      Cons

      No communication for DM, lack of innovation. Still using pencil and paper on a spread sheet to track daily sales and % of decrease. No paid company holidays, no sick days. Managers accrue 10 days a year and Full time 5. These are the only paid days you will receive. Bereavement is 2 days if your spouse or parent dies. Mangers have to request cleaning supplies from the DM, usually no budget. As a store manager you do not have access to a staples account or P-card for expenses. Everything goes through the DM. No business cards no email, but you are expected to build client relations with no tools. Events the team is expected to call clients, again we do not have email or a company provided phone to text our clients. Many time the staff used their personal phone to text clients for events. Very classy with the plastic bowl for client beverages and balloons. Image party city hosting an event. Many times we ran out of ink for our printer and had to request another store to print a shipping label and fax, yes fax in 2020 to our store in order to fulfill a client send. (Needed the ups shipping label) The absolute worst experience!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mismanaged and Mean

      Apr 1, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, multiple locations, discount

      Cons

      Bluemercury used to be a company about uplifting our customers and building relationships with them. Now the company is so financially driven, they don't care about the clientele anymore. Everything is about building a sale and selling clients some products they don't need. It's sad because you can also see the customers are discontent with the way in which the company is going. They're hiring outside leadership from sales driven companies to drive Bluemercury into the ground. We were a high end customer focused company now we might as well be Sephora.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      They treated me like I didn't know anything

      Apr 1, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gratis, nice coworkers, relatively laid back work day

      Cons

      Not given enough hours, poor communication amongst management

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Beauty expert

      Apr 9, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I Love working at Bluemercury!

      Cons

      No cons come to mind

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 302 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bluemercury Job Seekers

    Makeup Artist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Associate/Makeup Artist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Bluemercury? Share Your Experiences

    Bluemercury logo
    or