Bluemercury Reviews | Glassdoor

Bluemercury Reviews

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
37%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Bluemercury Co-Founders Marla & Barry Beck (no image)
Marla & Barry Beck
164 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is very shady, unprofessional(in 38 reviews)

  • "I had 2 previous district managers both good experiences prior to the 3rd and unfortunately all the DMs have different management styles(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work Hard, Enjoy Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Expert 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluemercury full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay and Rewards for Consistent Performance

    Cons

    Slightly below average pay rate

    Bluemercury2019-11-14
  2. "Pretty easy/ laid back job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluemercury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, team work, stress free

    Cons

    Schedule, pay and store management

    Bluemercury2019-12-05
  3. "Negatives override the positives here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluemercury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training on the lines, good discount.

    Cons

    No holidays, hardly any paid time off, just lack of good employment benefits

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as you would like to be treated. We are there to help you, not to be in competition with you.

    Bluemercury2020-01-05
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Terrible Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluemercury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only benefits of this company are this gratis, co-workers that are like family, and great clients. And none of these are worth the struggle. The gratis is also only ok, and for every great co-worker you’ll have 5 shady, and the same goes for clients.

    Cons

    They will suck out your soul, and make you feel completely worthless and insane. The VP or whatever she is now, actually talks about the reviews, and says.. people who can’t handle it write bad reviews, not true, that woman is actually evil. You will have a skeleton staff, which will force you to do work at home and then they will tell you, it’s the same thing as stealing hours. While all this is going on, you are forced to purchase balloons and cookies with your own money, and it’s such a pain in the butt to get paid back, that you end up just forgetting about it because you are so busy working 14 hour days, every single day for a sale, after all your employees quit because they cut their hours and took their benefits. This company is horrible! They will brainwash you into thinking you should fire people because you are too tired to see straight. People are not machines. Also the company is still in the dark ages, and the small amount of technology they have constantly breaks. As a store manager you no credibility, and are basically just a high paid babysitter. You can’t even order supplies without asking your DM, yet you can purchase cookies. They also will yell at you if you can’t create a chalk board sign, because that’s how you make money in cosmetics. Macy’s really needs to open their eyes and get rid of all of upper management with the exception of one woman in that has been there forever and somehow still has a soul. Although she doesn’t stick up for her people, that really put their all into the company only to be stabbed in the back, if they stick up for themselves. And I left on my own. The location I was at can barely keep a store manager for a year, and has been through more managers than years the store has been open. You can only last in this company if you don’t know how to think for yourself, and are fine with spending all your time working... you do make hourly. And you can eat all the cookies you’ll have to purchase, and you’ll look great with your loads of free cosmetics. Just don’t get sick, you’ll end up in the hospital. I should have listened to everyone when they told me how bad this company was. I will never make up for the time I lost with my family and the memories, your health is not worth it!!! And it’s true, any good review on here is written by freelancers or the same people. They really do talk about these reviews in calls. I’ve been wanting to write this for so long. Don’t take this job, you’ll find something else. And if you do, get a few checks and some gratis.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop writing fake reviews. Get rid of the VP. Give maternity leave, and sick days. Step into the 21st century with technology. Let your store managers do their jobs. Give people hours and benefits. Stop making people buy cookies. Toss the chalk boards. Train your people! Get rid of that horrible bitter woman and her horrible bitter sidekicks. Let people have their vacation time. Close on Easter! Hire cleaning people or at send your stores cleaning supplies.

    Show More
    Bluemercury2019-12-07
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Believe all the negative reviews, this is the most toxic horrific work environment ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluemercury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hourly wage and gratis if you actually get it!

    Cons

    You will have your gratis stolen, you will be required to do store manager work with no store manager pay. The District managers have no problems with deplorable "managers" with no integrity,because they have none either as long as the store is making proprietary brand goals so they can get a bonus. Inside theft is allowed and allowed to flourish.

    Advice to Management

    Now that Macy's owns the whole company they need to clean house and get rid of all the District and Regional managers and start fresh. Human Resources actually needs to function as Human Resources and do their job. No manager should be above the law when it comes to theft.

    Bluemercury2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (10)

    "For the love of God, run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluemercury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Somehow, they seem to hire amazing mid-level employees. So your coworkers are lovely people who are really good at their jobs. Since I left the Cofounders also left, which were one of the main sources of the horrible working environment. The CEO would literally throw things across the room when she didn't like them and the COO was a total creep who said the most inappropriate things to female employees and would do things like pet their hair and touch their shoulders. Can you say sexual harassment? So it's a huge win that they won't be there.

    Show More

    Cons

    - the benefits and pay are fine, not amazing. - this company is so cheap they won't even provide coffee. They act like it's a gift for you to even breathe the air in their office. - Culture - run away

    Advice to Management

    - Realize the potential in the employees you hire. - Clean your disgusting office up - no one likes working in a fort made of cardboard boxes and garbage. - Stop being so horrible

    Bluemercury2019-11-19
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Sad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluemercury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The customers and a few of the vendors

    Cons

    Bullied for a year straight until I eventually quit. Found out my inventory was being adjusted by corporate to throw me under the bus

    Bluemercury2019-11-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Luxury all in one place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluemercury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, good gratis

    Cons

    Not a lot of room to grow, needs better bonus structure

    Bluemercury2019-10-11
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Esthetician in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bluemercury full-time

    Pros

    Supportive owners and was bought by Macy’s a lot of product knowledge info

    Cons

    Micromanaging monster from hell at the tribeca location

    Bluemercury2019-10-12
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Make-Up Artist in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluemercury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gratis , good people to work with

    Cons

    Upper management acts like their in high school

    Advice to Management

    The company is very petty and cut throat ; please do not apply

    Bluemercury2019-10-12
Found 245 reviews