Bluestem Brands Reviews | Glassdoor

Bluestem Brands Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Bluestem Brands CEO Bruce Cazenave (no image)
Bruce Cazenave
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual setting, fun place to work, great pay/benefits and leadership that respects the employees, regardless of title.

    Cons

    None that I've found come to mind.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2019-04-11
  2. "Great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time

    Pros

    Company has caring and compassionate employees and a positive future potential

    Cons

    Past sins are still haunting performance but the company is almost through them.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2019-10-16
  3. "Keep Looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people with good intentions. Summer hours (half day Fridays if you put in the time earlier in the week).

    Cons

    Poor to no bonus payouts in the past two years. This is more than just a bad year. Constantly understaffed due to high turnover and desire to find the next perfect fit. Learning curve is high. Significant dependence on long term contractors. No clear vision. Always moving to the next shiny ball.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2019-10-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Controller 

    I worked at Bluestem Brands full-time

    Pros

    Atmosphere, friendly environment, great co-workers

    Cons

    do more with less, make money

    Bluestem Brands2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "More "cons" than "pros""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work at home options (though not in all departments) Some people actively trying to make things better

    Cons

    Shifting priorities and very poor communication from above Infighting between departments make it harder to reach the common goals Pay could be better Some technology could be more up-to-date

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2019-08-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great, now it's average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Person in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people. Pay was good. Work from home opportunity.

    Cons

    Staffing Lack of cohesive upper management which causes conflicting priorities.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2019-08-10
  7. Helpful (5)

    "It had it’s ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Middleton, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits for full time employees

    Cons

    Upper management lacks any organization.

    Bluestem Brands2019-05-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 

    I worked at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    laid back atmosphere, I like it.

    Cons

    A little bit lack of management

    Bluestem Brands2019-04-25
  9. "Bluestem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst 

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, great pto snd benefits

    Cons

    Too much change in upper management

    Bluestem Brands2019-04-08
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Very Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Causal atmosphere Summer hours Decent PTO

    Cons

    Terrible management Employees are consistently being disrespected by managers No work/life balance

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2019-04-21
Found 213 reviews