Bluestem Brands "growing company" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bluestem Brands Employee Reviews about "growing company"

Updated Sep 6, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
36%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Bluestem Brands CEO   Bruce Cazenave (no image)
Bruce Cazenave
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands

    Pros

    Bluestem is a fantastic place to build a career - the have a great work/life balance, generous PTO, competitive pay and good upper management. The company is growing and very innovative in what they do.

    Cons

    Constant space issues due to huge growth of the company, hopefully fixed soon with a new building

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2016-01-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Saint Cloud, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bluestem is a wonderful place IF you put in the effort and are willing to work. They will take a successful employee and promote them as soon as they are able. They equip you to do your job. They set number based goals WITH YOU and then expect you to control your efforts to reach those goals. That means they expect you to try. Benefits are amazing. The PTO is through the roof, even for the industry. The health insurance is decent. 401K matching is adequate. They responded to complaints about offshore staffing growth with a shift to a larger number of on-shore employees- it cost them more, but they recognized the desire for it. Bluestem is a growing company in a growing market. They will continue to grow faster than their current market share. Management follows through with their promises and communicates things up the chain of command. Suggestions are heard and the individual voice is taken very seriously. An annual survey is sent to all employees anonymously that allows them to provide feedback. This feedback plays directly into the MBO goals of the company's departments.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Recent growth and acquisitions have shifted some of the dynamics of the company to a more corporate feel. That is necessary for growth, but a little painful to immediate morale as agents shift from a mindset of talking to the board members on a regular basis to talking to the local management on a regular basis. Higher wages would attract more competitive employees, resulting in a better customer experience, and greater company attractiveness.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2017-09-06
  3. "Merchandising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bluestem Brands

    Pros

    Growing company and great culture

    Cons

    Too many org changes and updates to roles

    Bluestem Brands2016-09-12
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Senior Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time

    Pros

    This company is always busy and there's always something to do, I can only speak to what departments I've witnessed (almost all), but it's always busy. I take home tons of work to do every day and I love it. For the reviewers who can't seem to find things to do, I think that has a lot more to do with your work ethic as an individual. :| Working from home and flexible work schedule=amazing. This company is growing very fast and has unbelievably smart people working for them, can't wait to see where it goes!

    Cons

    The building is crowded, but currently are in the process of relocating. The food sucks, also in process of improving, but these are all superficial things.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2015-11-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time

    Pros

    Growing company with a lot of really smart people. Fun to come into work each day. Love the challenge and all of the opportunities.

    Cons

    With growth comes change so if change is not your thing, Bluestem Brands could be a challenge for you. If you like change and growth though, this is the place to be.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2015-11-11
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Wants to be something it is not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You'll work with super smart people in certain departments. Great parties. Growing company with decent benefits. Great PTO policy for folks that work in EP.

    Cons

    Thinks it's an ecommerce company, but is the same old direct marketing company. Wants to be the cool new company on the block, but does not have the leadership to complete with other ecommerce companies. An ice cream truck and company picnic, where kickball is the main event does not make an ecommerce company.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2015-11-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not without it's lumps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands

    Pros

    Rapidly growing company with many opportunities.

    Cons

    Many growing pains with a management team that may not be suited for leading in this rapidly changing environment

    Bluestem Brands2015-10-04
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Merchandising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - fast growing company with lots of challenges - you are recognized as an individual not as a number - benefits are good - work life balance is decent but can be overwhelmingly by area

    Cons

    - a lot of ex-Target employees which brings a lot of expectations that bluestem should mirror Target - incredible amount of politics involved with every staffing decision, it's not on meritocracy at all. You can have stellar performance reviews every year but don't expect that to come into the decision making in regards to promotions which instead will be based on how much the hiring manager and their cronies like you and they'll rarely consult your reviews or former manager. It's high school - the Minneapolis retail market is flooded with laid off, very experienced, desperate professionals and Bluestem will overwhelmingly favor these people over internal candidates. Don't expect upward mobility here - bluestem does not negotiate salary so if you get a better paying job elsewhere be prepared to be told to "take it or leave it." - despite assurance that pay is competitive it's not hard to find better in the market - senior management in Merchandising is gossipy, backstabbing and dramatic. They cannot lead cohesively and you'll be witness to VP X complaining about VP Y over and over.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2015-08-30
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Bluestem Brands - IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time

    Pros

    - Retail industry is always changing and challenges companies to innovate - This company is growing every year. This creates allot of new opportunities. - New technology is easily adopted by the development organization

    Cons

    - Growing pains are causing some needless bureaucracy - There appears to be allot of confusion on the purpose of roles in IT - Lack of adoption in cloud technologies

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2015-08-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Cloud, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluestem Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I know what's going on within the company - we have all employee meetings, a newsletter, and daily emails to keep us informed. The company is growing, which is always exciting. I feel valued by my boss. I like working here.

    Cons

    Sitting at a desk all day long isn't easy, but it's part of being a call center representative - so I get it. Sometimes customers can be frustrated.

    Continue reading
    Bluestem Brands2015-06-17
Found 16 reviews