KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Bluetarp Financial

Is this your company?

Bluetarp Financial

Add a Review

Bluetarp Financial Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 15 reviews

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Bluetarp Financial President and Chief Executive Officer Scott Simpson (no image)
Scott Simpson
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "hard working people who care about producing quality work.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Do We Work at the Same Company?!?!

    Aug 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having read the reviews on this site, I’m wondering if I work at the same place as some of these other people?! I have been working at BlueTarp for more than 2 years and I continue to have a positive experience daily. BT has a great work space with amazing views; they pay for parking in downtown Portland; they have fun activities that help balance the hard work that’s required to work here; they offer regular community outreach/local volunteer opportunities; you can wear shorts to work; they have stand up desks; they communicate openly with employees and hold quarterly town hall meetings where the CEO is transparent about how the business is doing…Contrary to other reviewers, I think they do a fine job with their culture. Can you please everyone? Never. But if people are as miserable as some of their reviews seem to show, I wonder why they don’t get another job and give the opportunity to work at BT to someone else who might actually appreciate it. Perhaps they might modify their reviews if they experienced a few other work environments, as I’m not certain my co-workers know a good company when they’re working at one. Has BT experienced a lot of recent change/growing pains? Absolutely. Are they putting effort towards addressing issues which stem from that? I don’t know what happens behind closed doors, but I believe they are. These things can’t always be addressed simply to satisfy people’s need for instant gratification. I can’t speak for others, but I know that I’d much rather be employed at a place that’s growing and adapting along the way (bumps and all) where my job is secure, rather than work at a place that’s stagnant and “same old” where I have to worry if I’ll have a job next month. Change can be difficult, but nothing that’s worthwhile is ever easy. Personally, I truly enjoy working here. It's mostly full of great people who I enjoy on a personal level, which makes it easy to work with them even when the going can get a little tough. I'm happy here and feel confident recommending it to anyone who is motivated, professional, adaptable and willing to contribute.

    Cons

    Low 401k match; limited holiday schedule; no parental leave (only for Moms)

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    good company

    Apr 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    smart people who were kind & worked hard

    Cons

    too many bugs in processes, too many workarounds

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Betrayal. Worst Places To Work In Maine

    Jul 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Portland, ME
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Once was a good company. Management greed for a healthy payday not only destroyed this company, but proved that Corporate America only cares about the bottom line.

    Cons

    The corporate transparency was to "Make Bluetarp Grow". That obviously was not the goal. They "grew" in an effort to make the company attractive to potential buyers. I feel so betrayed that they sold us out so senior management can have a profitable payday. Shame on you for misleading your employees into thinking we were building something great! All the sacrifices, hard work, and dedication each employee made, only to have you pull the rug right out from under us. Don't want to hear your smoke screen lies about our jobs being secure with Capital One. There are no guarantees, and there is talk about department elimination. I understand Corporate America, but shame on you for portraying Bluetarp Financial as a "family". And HR requesting we complete the "Best Places To Work Survey? UNBELIEVABLE! Senior Management, hope you sleep well tonight, while I lay awake wondering about my job security.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    growing Maine company with really awesome people

    Aug 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People listen when you speak up. If you're not heard by your supervisor, there is another one. Or your manager. Or your veep. Or HR. Or a coworker even if in a different department. We’re big enough to have a chain of command and small enough to have open doors. I have been able to grow my career with great support from my managers. It has taken time, energy and patience but I definitely reap what I sow. I love working downtown in our Big-Little City, I appreciate the benefits even more so knowing what other companies are offering and I especially love the people. I love knowing that if one of us is facing something scary like illness, we band together and do whatever we can - because it's personal. I think sometimes that gets lost in the daily hubub, especially when we're all focusing on supporting our customers, but when it really comes down to it, people listen and we have each other's backs. I take fostering a positive work environment VERY personally because I want to keep my mind happy and healthy. It’s no secret to anyone I work with that is a calculated, personal ambition that I continue to work towards. I add this as a disclaimer in case anything I say comes across as Pollyanna-ish.

    Cons

    We are growing and adapting so quickly that communication of new procedures, particularly between departments, gets lost. Right now we're bursting with new growth, new hires, new teams, just everything. It’s too easy to get lost in the blur between calls, projects, deadlines, metrics... I have certainly butted heads with supervisors in the 5+ years I’ve been here, but these negative interactions have reminded me to treat myself the same way I would treat one of our customers – don’t stop until that issue is resolved even when that means pulling in multiple resources across teams.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Twilight zone

    Aug 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people; my team is great and I genuinely like seeing them and checking in with them everyday. The company has a lot free stuff too, coffee, fruit days, yoga, smothies, games with prizes, Christmas party with free food and drinks and prizes including TV's, cameras, bose speakers. They listen if you speak up and fix what's broken when possible. They help me develop my career, even though it's not in this industry. If you have to spend most of your time at work, I wouldn't want to spend it anywhere else.

    Cons

    The company is going through change. Some people can handle it and are patient as we all try to get through it together; others aren't so patient and don't seem to be part of the solutions based on other reviews.

    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Management? Do they really understand what that term means?

    Aug 8, 2018 - Accounting in Portland, ME
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good location, and nice view of central downtown Portland

    Cons

    Their mission statement is "Our mission is to help suppliers grow and protect their business through passion, integrity and innovation." This is slightly hypocritical, because some of our manager(s) can't say that about their actions on the inside. There are several managers whose integrity I would question because of direct orders that were told to me that are morally wrong. Much of it has to do with the acquisition of a very large account, but BT doesn't have enough staff to take care of it. A good analogy would be if a Boa Constrictor caught a much larger creature for a meal--possibly and alligator or large land mammal--it would have attained its goal, but has no idea how to utilize this catch to their best advantage. It's prey is too big to swallow, but still tries to anyway. The snake went to this much trouble to catch it, and it wants to hold onto this meal, without the slightest clue on how to do it. Management is the same--they scramble around to keep this "meal ticket" but they don't seem to realize that those people who work under them are have been given instruction that goes against their own mission statement. These particular employees (some managers--not everyone) lack integrity (by telling staff about work arounds to avoid letting this large account know) and are not forward thinking (they are not innovative when it comes to instructions given to different departments from different management--left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing) I see interoffice emails where one memo contradicts another from management, but neither is said to be correct or incorrect. This part is not new (with the recent account). This has been happening since I first started 3+ years ago. Another issue is that management seems to play favorites. What is acceptable with one employee is not for another. That also needs a thorough rewrite, so nothing is misunderstood.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work...still growing

    Jun 11, 2018 - Regional Manager in Portland, ME
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leadership, setting is accommodating, vast opportunity

    Cons

    Growing pains, shuffling talent to get right people in the right seats

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Customer Service

    May 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Spectacular top down management support. All management levels truly LISTEN to the feedback of those on the front line (i.e. closest to the external customer), and continually improve on supplying the best tools of empowerment for all. Communication channels are always open. Health benefit programs take effect quickly, and are very adequate.

    Cons

    First level supervisors (in all depts) need to spend more quality time to coach/spend with the team members they support.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Customer Service RepII

    Apr 24, 2018 - Customer Service Representative II in Portland, ME
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is helpful. Every person remembers what is like to be the 'newbie' and everyone wants to see you and the company succeed. I have never had a manager/supervisor before who was thereto help advance my career and encouraged me to do so. The office is downtown Portland and the company pays for your parking. You can negotiate for either a /2 or whole hour for lunch You start earning PTO right away and can use it after 90 days. You earn at a rate of 3.33 hours per week or 4 weeks a year.

    Cons

    There are 24 pay periods in a calendar year, roughly every 2 weeks. If you are not used to budgeting, that can be taxing the first few pay checks

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Regional Manager

    Jan 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, great service concept.

    Cons

    Difficult service to sell, notoriious for letting people go after 12-14 months

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Popular Careers with Bluetarp Financial Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bluetarp Financial? Share Your Experiences

or