Bluewolf Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Bluewolf CEO Eric Berridge
Eric Berridge
253 Ratings
Pros
  • "And my biggest pro: the company culture(in 20 reviews)

  • "My comp increased by a third in my first year because I put in the effort plus my work/life balance improved(in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company in a fast growing market"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company is the leader in a really fast growing market (Salesforce consulting) - If you're smart and work hard, you'll rise really fast through the ranks - most of the mid-level and senior managers are relatively young - Company invests a lot in your professional success (i.e. talent management) - Great employee base - most are friends and hang out together after work

    Cons

    - Fast growing company means rapid change and not a lot of structure. If you're uncomfortable with this, you won't be happy

    Continue reading
    Bluewolf2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office has a good sense of camaraderie when it comes to helping each other to come up with a solution,

    Cons

    Not enough on-boarding for newer folks who aren't ramped on Salesforce

    Bluewolf2020-04-07
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Sr. Consultant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluewolf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Within the IBM system, you can learn and explore new technologies and get in depth industry knowledge and develop a great sense of business acumen. If you are a self starter at IBM, with a lot of drive, and with a little self promotion, then others within the organization will recognize you an want to promote your talents. If you have a entrepreneurial spirit and a little technical know how, then apply to another IBM department, this one is still finding it's way.

    Cons

    The Bluewolf culture is dead and we let it die. Managers have lost their vision and leadership abilities. Their is no guidance or mentorship when it comes to professional growth. This has lead to a lot of the senior technical resources and senior team members to leave for similar roles at competing companies. i.e. the only way up is out. The value and communication chain is broken, leaving everyone to feel isolated and helpless to improve their situation or their teams situation. After losing some quality middle management they either: 1.did not back fill(because they want to wait to replace a more senior position), 2. Brought in an external manager that is more of the same, or 3. Just gave it to someone who happened to be there. One red flags: we are bringing in more contractors to serve in technical roles, meaning they will work with us and not for us. The scale is tipping, so there is still hope.

    Continue reading
    Bluewolf2020-03-25
  4. "Talented Staff"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Surounded by bright individuals. Giving the opportunity to grow and excel in personal career

    Cons

    Very busy, can lead to being thrown into the fire on your own often

    Bluewolf2020-02-21
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Nobody left to lead"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bluewolf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Often interesting projects and still many good people

    Cons

    As the experienced folks have left, people less than a year out of college are becoming managers and leading projects. They are talented but lack the experience and guidance to succeed. It is unfair to them and the clients to staff people several levels above their ability. The old Bluewolf value of work/life balance is gone as heavy travel on your own time is the norm and you have to find your next project without any help. There is no communication on the criteria used to measure performance which is okay because there are no raises or bonuses given for you unmeasured performance.

    Continue reading
    Bluewolf2020-03-12
  6. Helpful (9)

    "You deserve more. Go somewhere else."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since IBM took over, literally the only two pros are that you can still work remotely and (because it's IBM), you can now hide amongst the masses and get paid to apply for other jobs without fear of discovery.

    Cons

    Bluewolf is Dead. The Bluewolf that I joined- the one that consisted of kind, smart, bold, interesting, caring people, of PRIME trips to fun destinations, of work/life balance, of women in half of all leadership positions, of profit sharing and sabbaticals, is dead. The ‘Don’t Break Bluewolf’ chants have finally subsided, and only about 5 of 40 key community leaders/managers/executives across the company remain. (And they’re on their way out as well, I know because we've talked openly about it on calls.) IBM took away literally everything that made Bluewolf great and then seemed genuinely surprised at the collapse of the company. In one week of September 2019, 6/7 of our executive team quit, including Eric, our CEO. Three of them were literally the first three employees of Bluewolf- people who spent the past 19 YEARS building this company. If that doesn’t give you confidence about IBM, I don’t know what will. Since their departure, the company has been in utter freefall. One would think that IBM, a company that has acquired hundreds of companies in its time, would know to do succession planning. Did they? No. Instead they pulled what seems like random execs from across IBM to fill the holes. Unfortunately none of these execs speak to each other and wouldn’t dream of actually pulling their heads out of the clouds to speak to the front line (nor do they know Salesforce…). With a lack of direction, communication, respect, and empathy from leadership, our best Bluewolfers started jumping ship. The people that made the culture at Bluewolf so inclusive and wonderful, the people that our clients loved, went to companies that wouldn’t force them to fly down to Argentina for 2 week, 60hr/week sprints for months when they have three toddlers in Louisville. As key talent left, those that remained had to take on more work. They were shuffled from red project to red project in an attempt to bandage the gaping wounds. Quality dropped. Deadlines were missed. Entire project teams quit and had to be replaced..by other project teams..that also quit. And throughout this max exodus, hiring remained frozen by IBM. Everyone who remains at the company is drowning. It’s a full month into 2020 and no company goals have been set/communicated for the year. The first All Hands Call isn’t until the end of February. There are literally not enough people remaining to properly staff projects. The sky is still falling. I watched the best place I've ever worked turn into the worst in 2 years. It honestly has been one of the saddest and most frustrating experiences I’ve ever gone through. Please do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. You deserve more.

    Continue reading
    Bluewolf2020-03-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "IBM chased away Bluewolf's stellar culture and smart people"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good health benefits with IBM - Job security? I guess...? It wouldn't be hard to coast for 20 years under management like IBM - Literally nothing else

    Cons

    - Broken promises by IBM! Transparency was non-existent. IBM representatives came in after acquisition and said they wouldn't change anything - that they bought Bluewolf for it's culture. It would function as it's own business unit within IBM and everything would stay as it has been, they said. Lies! Starting January 1st, 2018, we were forced to use all IBM software and processes, which Bluewolf management themselves weren't properly trained on how to use. Pay raises, promotions, and new hires were frozen for over a year, while employees were kept in the dark as to why and when the freeze would be lifted, and just told to be patient. With no raises and no information to go on, they began to lose their top talent, and due to the IBM's imposed hiring freeze, had no chance to replace them. When they did work out the compensation issues and start hiring, IBM offered salaries much lower than Bluewolf had. The culture went with the talent and those that were left scrambled to hold together the projects that the attrition left unstaffed. A lot of times this ended being a junior consultant without the experience necessary, so quality slipped drastically and they began losing a lot of their long time clients. But IBM didn't care, they were only interested in big name, multi-million dollar contracts. My last 6 months at the company, I was flying to Dallas weekly, as one of their huge contracts for a certain national potato chip company was in desperate need for developers. The project was extremely high stress and the work was not rewarding, causing me to finally start looking for other consultancies. IBM also got rid of: the annual trip for top performers, the 20% annual bonus, the badges/employee engagement program, the annual office holiday party, and any sort of social events the offices had once put on, such as lunch & learn sessions and happy hours. - 3 months after leaving the company, I am still dealing with IBM's HR who claims they overpaid me for vacation and I owe $500. I have also been contacted by American Express saying that my IBM Corporate credit card is overdue with an open balance. I've been trying to clear these up since I found out about them with little progress. Worst breakup ever, and frankly embarrassing for a company as big as IBM.

    Continue reading
    Bluewolf2020-01-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking Ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It used to be a good company

    Cons

    -Pass the buck mentality with bureaucracy at every corner -Cratered collaboration -Lack of emotional intelligence from IBM managers -No commitment to executive initiatives -Incomplete career progression -Unrealistic sales goals -Low salaries with no incentive path to quickly increase

    Continue reading
    Bluewolf2020-01-01
  9. "Many things right, some important things wrong"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Stellar commitment to delivery quality - Unique employee engagement programs (annual trip for top performers, employee badging program, etc) - Lots of smart people

    Cons

    - Way below market rate salary - Unclear/nonexistent promotion paths

    Continue reading
    Bluewolf2019-08-27
  10. "Disorganized management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY

    I worked at Bluewolf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were some quality people.

    Cons

    I worked there in the time that Bluewolf was being acquired by IBM. It was all a bit disorganized and communication was lacking. Overall OK experience.

    Bluewolf2019-06-18
Found 406 reviews