Cover image for Blum
Logo

Blum

Is this your company?

Blum

Add a Review

Blum Stanley Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 16 of over 79 reviews
3.7
96% Recommend to a Friend
Blum President and CEO Shannon Lafferty
100% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 79 reviews

3.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Blum President and CEO Shannon Lafferty
Shannon Lafferty
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent place to work

    Jan 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, room to grow

    Cons

    Can be slow to change.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    It is what it is.

    Aug 14, 2022 - Operator in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, bonuses twice a year.

    Cons

    Can be stuck in a role for years, given responsibility without the recognition, poor management, short breaks, excessive overtime

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Blum team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good pay

    Jun 2, 2022 - Machine Operator in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome benefits package earned vacation and sick time

    Cons

    Dwindling work/life balance due to excessive overtime

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good Place to work. Could have been a great place.

    Oct 5, 2021 - Specialist in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, hours, challenges. Mostly Friendly co-workers... "mostly"

    Cons

    Either no management or micromanagement. Told that they trust your judgment and then criticize your decisions. Do not show your supervisor to be incorrect, but do not make a mistake. Grudges are held and you suffer retaliation if you answer a question honestly when it contradicts the Blum Way. (The way I understand the Blum way is that management/engineering gets all the credit and glory, you get the blame.)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Blum is good job with good people

    Oct 27, 2017 - Team Leader in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family owned not beholding to share holders. I always get my raises and always get my bonus. Insurance cost for employees is fair and has only went up a few dollars ONE of 4+ years there. My supervisor is awesome and very fair. Greets EACH and EVERY employee on the floor daily at beginning of shift. I work with 20+ people daily and all are Courteous and respectful. Many people have been there for 10, 20 or 30 years. Vacation and personal time accumulate fairly. Some people have said not enough is given because you have to save some for shutdowns but I believe that is why they give you 3 weeks after a year which to me is very fair. Many of these things I have written you will have a very difficult time finding elsewhere. If you keep you're nose clean show up on time and do the job you can be there a long time and I hope to get 20+ and retire from there.

    Cons

    Breaks are to short. Raises are tied to production even if the machine is not running. Machines are old and run 24/7 which makes for many breakdowns.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Desktop Publisher/Graphic Designer

    Jul 7, 2015 - Desktop Publisher in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the people are very nice. The building is state-of-the-art beautiful. Three weeks vacation after 1 year (but you are strongly advised to take your vacation time during the plant shutdown which coincides with the two busiest and most expensive weeks of the year for vacation).

    Cons

    This is the saddest and weirdest place I have ever worked in my entire life. The marketing department has a notoriously high turnover rate and rightly so. While I worked in this department I received very little training and work was withheld from me for the first 18 months. I was bullied, lied to repeatedly, built up only to be knocked down, humiliated and manipulated by management and co-workers having affairs. There is virtually no praise, only criticism (the CEO is particularly fond of humiliating people in meetings). The place is like a morgue; filled with countless rules, red tape and endless meetings to schedule more meetings. You can survive as long as you fit it and keep your head down. DO NOT be original or creative or think outside of the box. There is only the Blum way, the Blum path. Think Stepford Wives meets Jerry Springer meets the BORG - resistance is futile, you will be assimilated. It is a Graphic Designer's worst nightmare...

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    Blum Response

    Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you felt your experience was that big of a problem for you. We would like to add the following points for consideration; A good part of our workforce is made up of employees with 15, 20 even 30 years with the company. Our turnover rates are found to be below recommended industry standards. We have an open-door policy that is available to all employees and can be used without fear of retribution. Work environment is very informal and when you walk around the facility you see people joking, laughing and interactions are relaxed and informal. We have identified some issues within that team and they have been addressed. New team members were added over the last couple of years as a response to increased demand on the team. Anyone walking thru the Marketing department or our break areas will see that this group exhibits a high level of comradery. They hold frequent informal meetings or discussions on a variety of work related topics where information is exchanged and decisions are often made by consensus. Additionally, on most days this group can be seen eating lunch together. We admit that we have well established work processes that allow us to maintain continuity with corporate practices. They can seem different to new hires but few experience long term struggles fitting in and contributing.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Technology advanced company and great place to work

    Mar 20, 2019 - Administrative in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked here less than a year and what I have found is that the company is very employee driven, meaning it cares about its employees at all levels. It provides a good cultural mix, being an international company. Employees are respected and appreciated. Salary employees have the opportunity to get OT and have flexibility with schedules.

    Cons

    Due to the OT opportunity, salary employees have to clock in/out and it has been an adjustment period but also offers the opportunity for flex time which is very helpful for someone with a family.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Organization that believes that success is only possible with motivated employees

    Jun 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employee is seen and valued. The company focus is on a long-term relationships. It is a family business and therefore, does not need to strive for short-term shareholder value. Everyone can talk to each other on eye level. It is an international business and therefore, collaboration with people from other countries can be part of your job.

    Cons

    There is only one location in the US. So unless you are a sales rep, you can only work in Stanley, NC

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Job

    Feb 11, 2019 - Mechanic in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pays good, Benefits are decent, Clean work place.

    Cons

    Don't agree with some of there policies. They like to micromanage sometimes. The culture there is a lot different than I was use too. They give you plenty of vacation time but you had to use some of them when they wanted you too. You might get a week or so when you want to use them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice atmosphere, open door policy

    Aug 30, 2017 - Line Attendant in Stanley, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has good pay, opportunity for advancement and offer great benefits, hosts events for employees and their families as well

    Cons

    One thing that should change is the way they delegate your vacation time most of it is allotted for plant shut down during major holidays...

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

Blum Reviews FAQs

Employees in Stanley have rated Blum with 3.7 out of 5 stars in 16 anonymous Glassdoor reviews. To compare, worldwide Blum employees have given a rating of 4.1 out of 5. Search open jobs at Blum in Stanley and find out about the interview experience in Stanley or explore more of the top rated companies in Stanley.

Blum employees working in Stanley rate their compensation and benefits with 3.9 out of 5 stars based on anonymously submitted employee reviews on Glassdoor. This is equal to the company average rating of all Blum employees. Browse Blum salaries in Stanley to find out how much you could get paid.

Employees in Stanley have rated Blum with 3.5 out of 5 for work-life-balance (8.2% lower than company-wide rating), 4.8 out of 5 for diversity and inclusion (25.9% higher than company-wide rating), 3.2 out of 5 for culture and values (19.7% lower than company-wide rating) and 3.4 out of 5 for career opportunities (9.2% higher than company-wide rating).

96% of employees in Stanley would recommend working at Blum to a friend, compared to 82% of Blum employees worldwide. This is based on 16 anonymous reviews submitted on Glassdoor.

Popular Careers with Blum Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Blum? Share Your Experiences

Blum logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Blum Photos

+ Add Photo
Blum photo of: HQ in Canada
Blum photo of: Blum

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 79 Blum reviews submitted anonymously by Blum employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Blum is right for you.