Boar's Head Reviews | Glassdoor

Boar's Head Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Robert S. Martin
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, quality product, nothing else(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and opportunity for advancement(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "It like a high school environment, nosey coworkers, bad management, no paid lunch, hours getting cut, unprofessional leads(in 3 reviews)

  • "Senior Management is basically a "good ol' boys club"(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best college job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in Cranston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boar's Head part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    amazing coworkers flexibility good pay you get to talk to people all day

    Cons

    some stores we go to have creeps

    Boar's Head2019-04-25
  2. "Good pay and growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boar's Head full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good growth opportunities Good benefits Company Culture

    Cons

    It’s hard to get a hold of HR when you can only see them during your break

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees and ask for their feedback on what can be improved or added for increased employee satisfaction.

    Boar's Head2019-03-25
  3. "Good Job, Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Box Off Worker in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boar's Head full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    competitive pay, friendly co workers

    Cons

    work often on Saturdays, lifting can get very repetitive, boxing machines fail

    Boar's Head2019-03-29
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boar's Head part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Friendly and caring co workers and management

    Cons

    Part time only need more hours

    Boar's Head2019-03-05
  5. "Line worker/SANITATION SPECIALIST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sanitation Worker in New Castle, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boar's Head full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay and the benefits

    Cons

    Ppl snitching on other ppl instead of worrying about themselves. You can work your butt off , come in early and stay late, you can volunteer , you can do all of that. But if your not part of the " in crowd" that ish don't matter.. If you stay to yourself . they don't like it. But if you talk to someone. They go tell on you.. My advise don't give a 100 %. If you out work other ppl and your a loner . Ppl will gun for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let ppl be themselves.. If they do their job that's what should matter not all the lil trivial ish.. And take away the right for other ppl to ruin another person life . I loved my job. But a person can only take so much before they snap..It a job not a high school

    Boar's Head2019-03-07
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boar's Head full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Senior Management tends to stall development and career advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to concerns of identified high performers.

    Boar's Head2019-02-21
  7. "Compromise Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boar's Head part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a good work environment if that’s what you’re there to do: work. Pay is commensurate with your effort. Personable management.

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of heavy lifting.

    Boar's Head2019-02-09
  8. "Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Boar's Head part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - meet new people

    Cons

    - poor management - lack of staff - poor communication between Boars Head managers and deli managers

    Advice to Management

    -Don't talk down to employees

    Boar's Head2019-02-13
  9. "Not the best place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Chinquapin, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boar's Head part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, quality product, nothing else

    Cons

    The head management throws you under the bus and doesn't have your back, or gets the full story of adverse situations.

    Advice to Management

    Get a back bone

    Boar's Head2019-02-19
  10. "Good people, lackluster management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boar's Head full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, fun atmosphere, family friendly

    Cons

    Promotions based on who knows who, not on who is qualified.

    Advice to Management

    Hold your managers accountable to the standard.

    Boar's Head2019-01-23
Found 97 reviews