Boart Longyear Reviews | Glassdoor

Boart Longyear Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Boart Longyear CEO Richard O'Brien (no image)
Richard O'Brien
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "7 on 7 off, lots of time off, good people, loved working with everyone(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good pay, coworkers, interesting work, good benefits, management tries to keep employees informed of company business(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Risky business decisions by prior executives coupled with a severe downturn in the mining industry have decimated the business(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear full-time

    Pros

    Engaging, interesting work. You will be in great shape.

    Cons

    Definitely hard work, and has it's rough days.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being awesome

    Boart Longyear2015-12-10
  2. "Good to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Driller in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear

    Pros

    Good work easy money hard

    Cons

    Long hours working in the elements

    Advice to Management

    Good

    Boart Longyear2019-03-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Grass is Greener Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very IT focused company. Invest in employees. Many employees are awesome individuals. Agile leader/director is great. New buildings and work environment/comforts are great. Hiring process is quick.

    Cons

    Political. Lots of technical debt. Lack of IT leadership and IT strategy for the long haul. Lots of money being spent to fix bad IT decisions and eliminate IT technical debt. Pay for many positions is on the lower end of the pay scale for a booming job market... to get a decent pay raise leave the company. Unlimited PTO really does work out as one may think.

    Advice to Management

    Understand IT spend.

    Boart Longyear2019-03-22
  4. "Brutal truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driller in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    First off let me say when this was just Longyear name this company was great . Years ago some suits wanted the Boart advertised after all these years. The company felt that they needed big money rigs for help and production but time an time again I and few other proved them wrong, hell i would cut 100 meter shifts all day any day in south america even with a old long 44 why other driller had the new equipment so... again goes back to skill. Spending all the $$$ has ruin this company period. I noticed they did a debt restructure yet again so you know what that says and fyi that was not long after record revenue years . So so sad being I and my family had been driller with LONGYEAR from the 1920 time frame.

    Show More

    Cons

    The bonus is crap compared to other companies period.

    Advice to Management

    fire them all and put some true old school drillers in charge

    Boart Longyear2019-01-27
  5. "Inventory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boart Longyear full-time

    Pros

    lots of growth, people are friendly

    Cons

    Industry is going through rough time, the atmosphere is not really good.

    Boart Longyear2018-10-05
  6. "Great company until re-capitalization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great history. Global company with opportunities to travel and work internationally.

    Cons

    Re-capitalized by private equity. We all know how that ends.

    Boart Longyear2018-09-25
  7. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big supportive company, plenty of backing

    Cons

    No true direction or strategy

    Boart Longyear2018-09-25
  8. "Great company overwhelmed by debt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People and a long history in the industry.

    Cons

    Due to the financial situation of the company, there is always a focus on cost cutting and head count reductions.

    Boart Longyear2018-05-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fast & furious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boart Longyear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for fast growth and promotion within the company. They are very out of the box thinking with what positions you can move into to gain different experience that what you may have had in the past.

    Cons

    Fast pace & high stress. In office face-time oriented. Constant change is the norm. High burnout and employee turnover rates.

    Boart Longyear2018-02-02
  10. "Good company, bad industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fixed Asset Accountant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boart Longyear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great salary with lots of benefits

    Cons

    Low work-life balance. Some managers can be micro-managers

    Advice to Management

    Share the workload and salary evenly from top to bottom

    Boart Longyear2018-01-18
Found 134 reviews