Bob Evans Restaurants Assistant General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Bob Evans Restaurants Assistant General Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
46%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Bob Evans Restaurants CEO Saed Mohseni (no image)
Saed Mohseni
2 Ratings
  1. "Server to Asssistant General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company has great advancement opportunities - i moved my way up to AGM in 6 years. Also this company is a great first job, the training programs are good to help you when you want to leave and go somewhere else. The employees become your family as your are always working together.

    Cons

    They use to have great benefits to offer better incentives to their employees, for example, time and a half pay on holidays, christmas bonuses, overtime if wanted, now they have nothing besides a vacation check if you've worked there at least a year, and work about 35-38 hours a week.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees. Most of the time you lose the best employees but not by the direct management, normally by the corporate level people because they have forgotten what it's like to work in a restaurant. Stop changing policies and demanding so much out of your employees when you dont do their job.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-04-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Use to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food at great prices. Paid vacation and benefits.

    Cons

    Poor employee relations, want the most work done with the least amount of help. Stingy with money, will not let Managers fill spots to make job less stressful. For example one person to run prep/dish.. or one person to run prep on weekends. Unhappy employees.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-08-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bon Evan's has a culture that does not embrace the human mind but could be a great spot for carefree on-crital thinkers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zero accountability so you can pretty much do as you please and make any kind of mistake. You're forgiven because there is a lack of willingness for people who want to work there. Many of the staff are ex-management who are good, but bitter and should have left the company due to their unrecognized potential.

    Cons

    There is zero accountability so that means your co-managers and even your boss doesnt have to be intelligent or even good at their job. It's insane but I guess it works for people who aren't aware they are lesser than their competition. Adversely, if you are intelligent, you are shunned and put down like you're insane. There is no changing this company. I know.

    Advice to Management

    The corporate business "leaders" aren't involved, partially, because I think they know they are dealing with a less intelligent management team. However, you miss out on seeing some amazing talent that could have a huge impact. It's such a shame.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-06-06
  4. "Good but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money and good benefits

    Cons

    People dont want to come in.. you have you pick up the slack as manager.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-02-28
  5. "Come for the biscuits, stay for the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Lima, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, Close-knit and supportive management teams, great opportunities for hard workers

    Cons

    Manager salaries favor new hires, company slow to keep up with inflated pay rates for existing management

    Bob Evans Restaurants2018-11-22
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Assistant General Manager (AGM)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free meals each shift. Decent benefits and 401K. Close at 9pm. Bonuses (but not a lot of money, usually just a few hundred dollars per quarter IF you bonus). Opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Impossible standards to live up to. The company has been making cuts to labor continuously for years and now expect management to close the store basically alone. You are not given enough staff to properly handle busy shifts so you will be on the grill line trying to help kitchen keep up. Then you will be yelled at because you are not “on the floor” talking to guests. HR will never side with a manager in any... altercation with employees thus giving them all of the power in tough situations. Doesn’t pay staff a competitive rate so turnover is high, another thing you’ll be fussed at for. My personal favorite is that your inventory levels are required to be low even though you’re on a catering program where people can order at 7 pm the day before for hundreds of people. If you don’t have the product upper management calls wanting to know why, you tell them because they told you your inventory is too high, and they tell you to “figure it out”. I have had situations with managers stealing money and proof and the DO told me “we need more women in the workplace and we should get along”. It was not about being a woman, it was that she was a thief.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t have such impossible standards. It seems as if you’ve never worked inside a restaurant a day in your life. You cannot give good service without proper staffing levels.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2018-09-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "General assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I guess the pros are CUSTOMERS. I love my guest they are awesome and understanding. I really had a problem with guest which im happy about.

    Cons

    Dealing with managers not wanting to do their jobs. (ALL LEVELS) you have to treat it like politics not solely based of what you know. Employees abuse power when given direction to do their jobs. I mean this happens every where. Linger to bad employees

    Advice to Management

    Everyone team needs to be on the same page.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2018-09-07
  8. "Agm bob"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They pay you for your hard work when you are there for sure. People can be terrible but the team atmosphere is nice

    Cons

    No down time ever even if you are off. I have spent many days off on phone calls or on location to help

    Advice to Management

    Sincerity goes a long way

    Bob Evans Restaurants2018-02-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced never boring meet lots of interesting people

    Cons

    Long hours, no respect from DM's. Below average pay.

    Advice to Management

    Show respect for workers and store management. Understand that they are who makes the money.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2017-10-20
  10. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Logan, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits/ free food was nice

    Cons

    Never enough help and too much was expected

    Bob Evans Restaurants2017-08-22
Found 57 reviews