Bob Evans Restaurants Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

Bob Evans Restaurants Hostess Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Bob Evans Restaurants CEO Saed Mohseni (no image)
Saed Mohseni
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hostess 

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work at

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-06-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked, Unorganzied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hostess 

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Free food at the end of a shift

    Cons

    No lunch breaks and overworked as an 18 year old hostess

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-11-04
  3. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hostess 

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment Nice team work Interact with lots of different people

    Cons

    Not consistent on weekly schedule

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-09-11
  4. "I recently started working at Bob Evans and for the most parts its a really great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Washington, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    people that come in are really nice small so the sections are easy or work with break is long enough for the most part, some of the servers and cooks are really nice

    Cons

    almost all of the servers though are kind of serious and not open to anyone who is new can be stressful at times but it's ok because it all dies down quickly

    Advice to Management

    pick better trainers. The one trainer I had taught me everything wrong

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-09-03
  5. "Great first job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Friendly co-workers -Opportunity to gain people skills, as well as cashiering skills -Discounts on delicious food!

    Cons

    -Frequent turnover among servers and back of house employees -Management with quickly changing personality. Very hot/cold.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-07-15
  6. "Strangest Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Server in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked part time. They were always on me to "smile all the time." I'm friendly and smiled plenty yet i was constantly hounded to smile. Got the feeling people were mean mainly because I was there for a summer college job and they were there to earn a serious living. Small town mentality, Ocala, FL has much of that.

    Cons

    Low pay, While they gave employee discounts for food, they don't pay you enough to actually purchase said food. They keep your hours low so they won't have to benefit.

    Advice to Management

    Hire some management with education, and I don't mean the kind you get from an online "university" by sending in cereal box tops or that local community college.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-07-20
  7. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Medina, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    tips on carryout, hourly pay

    Cons

    long shifts, making the hostesses clean the whole front of the house with little to no help

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-06-09
  8. "Hearing impaired Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people I worked with except one great guests lots of fun with them

    Cons

    Told by co worker that because I could not hear on the phone that would never do. Had lots of hours at first then 3 a week now none for about a month. no explanation at all. If I wanted to be a janitor I would have gotten a job somewhere else

    Advice to Management

    Do not hire a hearing impaired person knowingly and expect her to hear on the shoddy telephone service you have. Also favoritism is a no no. Please also do not say things to the person which are not true to cover your mistakes and do not tell them to come to work when not on schedule and then humiliate them when they get there and act like they are wrong being there. I suggest sending a certain acting Manager... back where she came. To me she is vindictive.

    Show More
    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-06-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not awful, but corporate is annoying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Howell, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job is pretty basic and straight forward as a host. You have a lot of interesting people to take care of, and it can be fun. The community at my location was pretty great. We had a few odd balls come through but overall we had a good team. Good job for flexible hours, picking up shifts, and younger people looking for a first job or two. It builds costumer service skills, phone skills, problem solving, and general... teamwork.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of communication between management can be annoying. Work policies from corporate change every couple months so just when you think you know it all they have to go and mess with it. Menu changes every quarter so guests often get annoyed when their favorite thing is gone. We just had a big managerial shift so I’m not sure how things are going to be under the new people.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to spend some time hosting, waiting tables, and cooking using all of their little rules and policies. It doesn’t work very well in the real world- I’m sorry. Get out of your office and give us all a raise while you’re at it. Keep your GM’s from working more than they should on their set salary. Please. Thanks.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-05-21
  10. "Terrible management and did a lot more than under the job description"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hostess/Cashier in Newark, DE

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No issues with taking sick days

    Cons

    Hired any employee - some were horrible Micromanaging was my reason for quitting

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-04-26
Found 70 reviews