Bob Evans Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Bob Evans Restaurants Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Bob Evans Restaurants CEO Saed Mohseni (no image)
Saed Mohseni
59 Ratings
  1. "nice job for high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    food and customer interaction, along with discount

    Cons

    poor upper management style and lack of full training

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-09-02
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a good group of people, the pay was mediocre.

    Cons

    The pay wasn’t the best, not a lot of traffic during the night shift.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-08-08
  3. "Good College Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server in Cuyahoga Falls, OH

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good work life balance -Great opportunity to make money if you're good at your job

    Cons

    -Management picks favorites and if you aren't one of their favorites you will get screwed over

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-08-03
  4. "Potentially Great (if you're a Server!)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Cashier in Sebring, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Fast-paced depending on the season, so the time goes by quickly. -Get to learn how to work as a team. -Very fulfilling when you're able to make a guest's visit memorable. Can't tell you how many times I received personal thanks (and sometimes even a tip separate from the server's). -If you're a student, management will do their best to schedule around your schooling.

    Cons

    -Long hours standing, can be physically exhausting at times. -You don't make SQUAT as a host. The money, like in any other restaurant, is in Servers or Management. *This can vary from situation to situation, but there were times where we had to do Server tasks due to the fast-paced nature of the job. Afterwards, the SERVER is the one who got the tip. (I understand server wages are low and tips are the main... chunk of their income). This just didn't feel right at times.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Hire adults ONLY (18+)! The whole mandatory break-times for non-adults really hurt how the whole operation ran at times, and often times resulted in a toxic work environment as the adults had to pick up the slack for the non-adults. This likely varies state to state, but hiring kids is doing more harm than good (even if they can pay them less). -Continue to help students schedule around school. It's greatly... appreciated. -Continue to be involved with the community and especially during high-traffic dates, such as Thanksgiving and Christmas. -Create an easily accessible feedback system for patrons. Maybe there is one, but I didn't see it or experience it at my Bob Evans!

    Show More
    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-08-15
  5. "Needs better training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Newark, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good wage, flexibility with schedule

    Cons

    Needs more time to train employees properly.

    Advice to Management

    Take more time out to train

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-08-14
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere good people great service

    Cons

    Lots of messes people leave.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-07-26
  7. "I went through 15 managers & GM’s, in the 1 1/2 years I worked there. hated it when managers treated me like trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants

    Pros

    Meet new people Good first job

    Cons

    Bad management Bad customer service

    Advice to Management

    Hire better managers and general managers that love their job!

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Use to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food at great prices. Paid vacation and benefits.

    Cons

    Poor employee relations, want the most work done with the least amount of help. Stingy with money, will not let Managers fill spots to make job less stressful. For example one person to run prep/dish.. or one person to run prep on weekends. Unhappy employees.

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-08-02
  9. "Love the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Massillon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob Evans Restaurants part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with your schedule

    Cons

    You are on your feet

    Advice to Management

    Learn to trust your long term employees

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-07-18
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaning Lady 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bob Evans Restaurants full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The food is great and doesn't give you the poops.

    Cons

    It smells in the bathroom

    Advice to Management

    make the bathroom not smell

    Bob Evans Restaurants2019-07-17
Found 1308 reviews