Bob's Discount Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

Bob's Discount Furniture Reviews

Updated June 22, 2018
280 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Bob's Discount Furniture President and CEO Michael Skirvin
Michael Skirvin
112 Ratings

280 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Good people to work with, fair pay, good benefits" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and feel accomplished" (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "work weekends, and upper management doesn't not communicate with lower management" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is a bit tough, but that's normal in retail" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (11)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Cockeysville, MD
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Cockeysville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company has great core values that align with my personal values - integrity and transparency being the most important to me. The mattresses are such excellent quality product that I can feel really good about representing and I enjoy this area the most- But really it's about the customers. A lot of foot traffic gives me a chance to get a little glimpse into the lives of all that I speak to - and to me these customers' stories are fascinating. I enjoy the people and Bobs gives me the platform in which to have a connection with them while earning a great living. The product sells itself which allows for very minimal stress on the job. When I go home, I leave my work at work.

    The company has a pretty good paid time off benefit after completing a year of employment. I believe it's like a total of almost 4 weeks off which is nice.

    Bob's promotes from within often so there are lots of opportunities for advancement - especially is you are available to relocate.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging due to retail hours.
    There aren't any cons past the demands of the retail schedule.

    Advice to Management

    For a sales associate position consider implementing a rotating weekend off per month (if the employee wants it) as so many other companies do. I truly believe this would give the employee a refreshed outlook and also bring in a larger quantity of qualified candidates seeking employment with the company.

    Bob's Discount Furniture Response

    Nov 10, 2017 – Regional HR Director

    We wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for the comment you posted on Glassdoor. We’ve worked hard to create this atmosphere, and if it changes, please let us know. We know the managers and... More


  2. "Great environment to be honest sales person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Falls Church, VA
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    no pressure, due to foot traffic can easily achieve personal goal

    Cons

    delivery drivers can ruin all relationship that was built with customers

    Bob's Discount Furniture Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Zone Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to share your Bob's experience with us. We are happy to see that you are having a good experience with us and that your achieving your goals! Considering the number of... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Huntington Beach, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The store management, the culture and the great working conditions make me look forward to going to work each day.

    Cons

    The POS system is clunky and slow. The tablets we carry are heavy, bulky, slow and unreliable. Not sure if it's the internet connection or slow servers.

    Advice to Management

    I advise that corporate use the Huntington Beach management team, Cameo, Eileen and Xavier be used as an example of how a solid management team can run a smooth retail operation while at the same time creating a fun and challenging workplace environment.


  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great place to work and feel accomplished

    Cons

    The hours are a little long for the pay

    Bob's Discount Furniture Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Zone Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed working with us and found it rewarding. We are always looking for ways to make working at Bob's Fun, exciting and rewarding. Thank... More


  5. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bridgeport, CT
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommends

    I worked at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Positive atmosphere, great employee morale, awesome incentives and opportunities for growth with the company.

    Cons

    None that I could think. I left because I was pursuing my MBA. Thanks for the opportunity

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, Bob’s way is the right way!

    Bob's Discount Furniture Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Zone Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback! We wish you the best in your pursuit of your MBA and hope you consider our other career opportunities when you are ready to come back to the workforce.


  6. "Swag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bob's Discount Furniture part-time

    Pros

    this place is dope if you can work here

    Cons

    literally none if im being honest

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Bob's Discount Furniture Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Zone Vice President

    Having swag is important in this day and age. We're happy to see that you are having a great Bob's experience and want to thank you for the words of encouragement!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere and no pressure envirement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are no pressure on customers and no pressure from managment. It is more of challenges that makes you want be better in what you do. You dont have to lie or make it look better than what it is to the customer. Delivery time frame is quick, so you get your commissions really fast . Some cases sales associates make more than managers.

    Cons

    If you are not people person, it is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Managment gets hired from outside and there are so many associates that been with business and understand floor policy and so on.

    Bob's Discount Furniture Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Zone Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time out to express your thoughts, and for being a valued member of our Team! At Bob’s we strive to create a fun, low-pressure sales environment where our customers are... More

  8. "Company is growing and has a great business plan for the future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Amazing People, Great atmosphere, Beautiful stores, Fun environment, Excellent training!

    Cons

    Computer system will take a bit to master.

    Bob's Discount Furniture Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Zone Vice President

    We are so happy to hear that you are having a great experience working at Bob's! We are investing in technology to make both our customer and associate experience a lot easier, so please stay... More


  9. "Retail sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Money to be made

    Cons

    retail, dealing with general public

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within


  10. "Someone who used to love his job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very lucrative job if you happen to be blessed with a low budget or if you had a miserable LY. Everything is measured against your LY performance therefore bad LY= Decent bonus TY. Managers have zero control over results. One year you are an underperformer the next you are a super star! This will be a great job as long as you like roller coasters!

    Cons

    Bob’s has lost control of the direction of their business. The private equity firm is actively involved and that can be a good thing. But it can also means losing control of basic elements of the business like setting strategy, lowering the quality of their products, losing the trust and the partnership of different manufacturers to appease stock holders, etc. Bob’s doesn’t value diversity furthermore, their shortsighted vision can be very dangerous to the overall health of the organization.

    Advice to Management

    By design, your growth plan use significant amounts of debt to perform deals in financial markets. This can be damaging not only to the company but also to the stake holders. Stop saddling debt, while draining the business of all its cash before selling in a couple of years or sending Bob’s into bankruptcy protection. Also, as you continue to grow watch carefully who you hire to be your leaders. There’s a huge disconnect between your leaders and your “core” values.


Showing 280 of 289 reviews
Reset Filters