Bob's Discount Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

Bob's Discount Furniture Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Bob's Discount Furniture CEO Michael Skirvin
Michael Skirvin
182 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Nope nope nope! A whole lota Nope."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Office Associate in Orange, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being able to see a business like Bob's from the inside out. Benefits. Leaving.

    Cons

    The work environment was hostile, and unprofessional. Name calling, yelling, personal attacks, favoritism, staff reporting each other to management multiple times a day was the norm. The office was disorganized. The office manual was a joke. Personal items had to be kept unsecured. My store level trainer did not want to train me. By the time I got training through corporate I was fed up. Hands down one of the worst... job experiences I have ever had.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't announce your visits. Bob's culture and values are not reflected at some of your stores. Important polices are not maintained at some of your stores.

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-11-25
  2. "Been at Bob’s Discount for over 14yrs and every year has been great, looking forward to the next 14..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working at a company that cares for their employees as much as they care about every customer that walks through those doors is amazing.

    Cons

    It’s retail, we choose to be here!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hold on to all of Bob’s Core Values and you will have future employees celebrating 14yrs as well.

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-14
  3. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Attleboro, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Bob's has been a wonderful company to work for a variety of reasons. The number one reason? Their absolutely genuine interest in the success of everyone in the company regardless of position or title. Every day Bob's strives to be better and improve in every facet of our business. Bob's is always seeking better ways to service our customers whether it be through technology or obtaining the thoughts and opinions from... our teams in the stores. I'm proud to work for Bob's

    Show More

    Cons

    None. The fact that nothing comes to mind is why I'm proud to work for Bob's.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward and never settle.

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-14
  4. "Great company to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top down honesty and integrity

    Cons

    Wish I had joined sooner.

    Advice to Management

    Keep caring about culture and associates

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-13
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Stoughton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people made Bob’s the success it is today. Great compensation potential

    Cons

    Retail work hours not always the best for family

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-13
  6. "The Best Company I’ve Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bob’s is a fast growing company, with incredible opportunity for professional growth and advancement, that stays true to its culture and core values and rewards hard work and performance.

    Cons

    Retail hours Communication between showroom and shipping sides of the business

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-13
  7. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Manager in Baldwin Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun company with excellent core values. Great pay and benefits. Extensive training. Opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    No cons. Two years. So far so good

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-08
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great competitive pay. Lost of support from managers. Company has a great culture. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Must work weekends. The training process would be better to ensure that new hires have a smoother transition but once you get a hang of it its great.

    Advice to Management

    Better Computer training.

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "It could be a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can be financially rewarding at times. That’s about it.

    Cons

    Long hours. Stores open until 10pm. Work life balance is not there. Made to work all holidays, with no incentive for customers to come in during. Computer systems are not user friendly, behind the times with technology. We over promise and under deliver on our services and products. Culture continues to suffer.

    Advice to Management

    It’s a “good olde boys club”with upper management. It’s all about who you know.

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-10-09
  10. "Returns Q.c Inspector D.c5"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inspector in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bob's Discount Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hard word to earn ur future, Great place to learn self worth. Good benefits match % in 401k . You eearn ur keep and a strong hr team plus the best G.m who actually knows ur name and cares about his Co worker's.

    Cons

    Nun that aren't currently being taken care of . Strong H.R team and Ops

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking care of those who go %100 for you

    Bob's Discount Furniture2019-09-25
Found 401 reviews